We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK but not spectacular”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed at the Banthai Beach Resort for 7 nights during my third trip to Phuket having previously stayed at the Holiday Inn. At check-in staff made it clear I had booked a room for one person and that guests needed to be checked-in with an additional fee payable, not that I had any intention of bringing back “guests”.

The hotel is situated right in the centre of Patong Beach, but set back enough so as to shield the property from any noise. Security guards were always positioned at the gate and the entrance. The pools and gardens are very nice and there were always plenty of un-reserved sun lounges.

I had a Deluxe pool access room on the ground floor. It was the first room as you enter the hotel, so I didn’t have far to walk, and had some privacy as it didn’t overlook the pool bar. The room was fairly ordinary. The furniture, fittings and tiling were cheap and made the room resemble a motel rather than a resort. The sink area is in the room rather than in the tiny bathroom, which only had the toilet and bath/shower. The screen in the bath was poorly designed so that the water from the shower always pooled and then dripped onto the floor. The room had an LCD TV with a good variety of cable channels. Complimentary thongs, WI-FI and a beach bag were provided. I found the room always had mosquitoes flying around after the air-conditioning had been off so I invested in a can of spray from the 7-11.

Breakfast was included and served the standard fare, although somewhat limited. With plenty of other options available, there were never more than 4 or 5 people in the hotel restaurant having dinner.

The resort is in a fantastic location and has a good pool area for those that want to spend time sunning themselves. The rooms however let the resort down and make it less than luxurious.

Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    739
    243
    85
    85
See reviews for
403
972
68
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I loved this property. It had everything we were expecting - Decent rooms, great pools and very well priced (internet, meals, drinks ). Well set out and in a great location.

The pool access rooms looked great but I really wouldn’t have liked strangers being able to look in as there isn’t heaps of space between the pool and your room. If anything I’d request the rooms in the far corner (away from the pool bar’s) – just a little more private!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Everyhting obout the hotel is so relaxing. from lobby with water ruuning down erected stone. and with natural light flowing into the lobby i knew i was in the right place. the staff was also very courteous.all the rooms over look the swimming pool which is lined with geen plants around . rooms are also very airy and lots of natural light sweeps in. the bathroom is a little small but thats okay. location excellent in fact the best right across the beach though you wont get view of the beach. i think the most i liked about the hotel is that it incorporates the feel of a a tropical island. FANTASTIC RESORT

  • Liked — its tropical feel
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Banthai has its good and bad points as do most properties.

Location-
The Banthai is undoubtedly location if you are looking for on the spot shopping and nightlife. The location of this property takes you far enough away from noise, hustle and bustle without presenting prolonged periods of walking to reach shops, cafes and the renowned Bangla Road. The beach is a stones throw away and although some of indicated the beach as 'not so nice' my rating of the beach is alot higher and not too far behind Karon beach which presents with the same sea of beach chairs - the difference being Patong has the shops directly across the road, otherwise still a beach to enjoy.

Rooms-
We had a deluxe room which is definitely the choice in terms of privacy and access to the pool. The pool deluxe rooms appear to have minimal privacy and the upstairs rooms do not have direct access to the pool which I guess is dependent on personal preferences. The down-side to the rooms on the ground floor is we received the excess water from rooms above us (usually from squeezing togs and towels) which left puddles outside our room for most of the time. Additionally, smoke ashes and beer cans were not too pleasant given this was 24/7.

There was a little mould on a couple of bathroom tiles but nothing to grosse me out. They are small and dark but nonetheless did the trick.

The bed I would liken to a haybale without any over/under statement and actually suffered a sore back on some days - a first for me. On arrival staff had decorated our bed romantically which was definitely a lovely touch.

The staff are pleasant enough. On reading previous negative reviews re. staff my guess is alot of these experiences are possibly related to the limited english most staff seem to possess. Generally speaking staff endeavoured to offer up efficient and welcoming hospitality.

Pool-
I am of average woman's height - 5'4" and I found the pool a little shallow for my liking as did my husband of 6'1". There are varying depths but overall a shallow pool that doesn't always accommodate especially in humid temperatures. The positioning of the pool didn't make for pleasant surroundings given all rooms on the upper floors gaze right down onto pool-goers. I enjoy an open-scenic type pool surrounding as opposed to a high-rise look with a rather closed-in feel. The pool bar was open for 7 hours daily 11a-6p which I though was rather generous given people didn't frequent the bar for long stints.

Breakfast-
Based on breakfast rave reviews we were...disappointed -unfortunately. Although breakfast appears to be wide range, this may be on an appearance basis, i.e. spread on over 2 food islands and 4 cadenzas, the actuality of choice was limited. It wasn't a breakfast I looked forward to each morning unlike those had at other establishments.

Port Restaurant and Entertainment-
The Menu is one you peruse and peruse with difficulty on deciding and it wasn't due to having too many yummy's...Courses are over-priced and food elsewhere located down nearby lanes was nicer and cheaper.

The 2 resident bands are good and played a good range of music I thought. We didn't experience an overdose of reggae like others have commented. Many holiday-makers who weren't staying at the Hotel were coming in just to hear the band. They played every night and up to 11:30p - 12:00p. If crowd-goers were into raging the band played along and definitely assisted in heightening the party! - wahoo!!

Finally-
At the end of the day everyone has different preferences and priorities. After staying in a relatively big establishment (270 rooms) 3-storeyed , we would definitely opt for a smaller more boutique restaurant offering a more quality personal touch.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tappz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon. Bed was very hard to sleep on and mosquitos everywhere in the room. Very damp outside bedroom sliding door. Nice swimming pool but shame about the spa jets not working properly. Bad intenet access in rooms. You can check emails but that's about it. Bathroom had mould on the walls and i don't think it had been cleaned for a while. Needed to be scrubbed. Good location for the beach and shopping. Watch out for people on scooters trying to get you to scratch a game card and then tell you that you've won a prize. Ignore them and keep walking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mezza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed fo 6 nights last September at the Banthai Beach Resort. Loved it . Great service, great location especially if you like to shop. Have booked to go back September 2009 with friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grif5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, AUS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We struggled to find a hotel on Patong Beach that had a swim-up pool bar, until we came across the Banthai Beach Resort & Spa. With 3 pools all with swim-up pool bars, it was just what we were looking for. The service was brilliant. We were checked in fast and efficiently, given cool towels and a drink on arrival then shown to our rooms with a complete run-through of everything in our rooms (eg: electronic switchboard control of lights, air-con, alarm etc. We were very impressed from the moment we arrived.
The pool bar staff were very friendly and fed us free snacks and played Jenga and Connect 4 with us to keep us entertained. The cocktails didn't go astray either :) (recommend the Bananrama) The hotel was very quiet considering we were on the main street.
The location was absolutely perfect as were wanting to be in the heart of things without having to catch a Tuk Tuk everywhere we went. With Starbucks, a Tailor, Pizza & Pasta restaurant and a cocktail bar at the entrance of the hotel, what more could you want? Hungry Jacks, Subway and McDonalds plus many roadside food stalls are all within 2 mins of the hotel if you're wanting a snack.
I highly recommend a restaurant called Sweet which is in a small shopping mall 2 streets to the right when you leave the hotel. The thai food was amazing! Thai Green Curry was our favourite - but other meals we had were also very, very nice - not to mention CHEAP!! The Curry cost us about AUD$3 (75 baht)!!!!!
We did miss the lagoon style pool that resorts usually have, however the pools were nice and there weren't too many people around as they were spread over the 3 different wings with individual pools - which was great.
Overall this was a great hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#7 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.2 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing