We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tony Resort(Patong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lamai Hotel(Patong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Black Pearl(Patong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,375)
Filter reviews
2,375 results
Traveller rating
1,119
802
273
92
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
802
273
92
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr eggdeluxe pool roompool barport restaurantban thaibangla roadacross the roadnon smokingpool accesspool staffthe ground floorfantastic locationbeach bagbuffet breakfasttravel agentegg stationpool side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,854 - 1,859 of 2,375 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Didnt have the WOW factor, location is perfect with beach, restaurants & shopping at your door step & bars/clubs just around the corner, hotel is nice but didnt feel 4 star, beautiful pool but very cold, breakfast was great & the main chef that cooks the eggs would always make you smile, stayed in a superior room for 2 weeks nice room but nothing fantastic, the outside noise can be very frustrating epect to hear fire works every night until about 12:30am, TV was poor with limited decent channels to watch when you want to relax after a long day, hire a DVD player & the crooks want "300baht a night" for something that should really be included in the room, the TV also has a feature to pay to watch movies I was shocked they also wanted 300baht per movie to watch especially when most movies they were offering where very old, internet at the hotel is very expensive just go around the corner & you will find little internet cafes charging 1baht a minute, most staff were very friendly but some bar staff very rude, most staff at banthai really need to learn english to communicate with there guests better considering it is a hotel for international guests.

If you want location its defnately the place to stay but if you want to really feel like your staying at a 4 star+ resort may be wise to look at other hotels near by.

Alot of people go phuket for the thai ladies they can hire for sex (not the smartest thing to do), but if thats what your after & plan to stay at the banthai you may want to reconsider, few guys I spoke to had to pay 1500baht to the banthai each time they bring a lady back, in thailand everyone gets a cut I guess lol.

Overall phuket is fun place to go nice people & good night life when its busy, becoming a little expensive from what it used to be & the tourist theme is in your face 24/7, some bargaining tips, dont pay more then 60baht for DVD's, singlets 150baht for average ones & 350 baht for known brands swimming shorts the same, every day shorts 300 for average up to 500baht for know brands, jeans 600baht to 1000baht, sum it up bargain hard walk away if they wont budge & 95% will chase you with a better price.

Enjoy your trip :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogueTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The Banthai has become the hotel of choice for my girlfriends and I for our annual trip. We will be going again in July/August 2009 for the third time. The hotel has a contemporary look and a range of room options to choose from. It appeals and caters to families, couples, groups and singles. We opt for the Deluxe Pool room which is on the ground floor running alongside the pool - some of these rooms even have their own private swimming pool access however can only be accessed through their main hotel door although they still have their own lounge and sliding glass door. The rooms are light, bright and clean. I noticed a seemingly negative comment regarding the bathroom sink being located in the room rather than the bathroom - we have only ever found this fabulous as one person can be showering while the other is getting ready.

The staff are friendly and helpful and it pays to get to know them - even just a name! There are so many things you can learn just from stopping and having a quick chat - not to mention being particularly well looked after with food and drinks. Breakfast is included and has a range of local and typical western cuisine.

As for the other negative comments regarding poor internet access in the rooms and the mugginess outside - 1) there are a myriad of inexpensive internet cafes nearby and 2) Phuket is a tropical destination!!

The BanThai is extremely well located close to the main street just a short walk from Bangla Road however it is set back from the street so you aren't able to hear the hustle and bustle from the hotel.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I have been to Phuket a few times and found the Banthai to be a bit sterile. It was okay but not worth what we paid. I would stay at the Patong Merlin beach resort if I went back. the Banthai is in a good location and if your not sure about Thai food there is a pizza restaurant and a macdonalds right outside. The basin is outside the bathroom which I found a bit odd. The noise travels, no matter what room you are in you will here everything. If your a light sleeper this would not be for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

When booking this hotel I had no idea the location would be so perfect. We were right across the road from Patong beach and in the centre of the shopping and restaurant area. The rooms were clean and the staff were extremely friendly. The pool was beautiful and because we were on the ground floor our back door opened right up onto the pool. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

It was really a great place - we arrived at phuket airport, and we directly went to do the bungee jumping, followed by the elephant ride! So by the time we checked in, we were really tired. It felt out of the world to be taken into an air-conditioned room where all the formalities were taken care of by the staff! while we sat enjoying the pool view and the yummy welcome drink!
The staff were good, no complaints. Though it is bang in the middle of Patong, there is no madness as it manages to maintain its exclusivity. The rooms were well-appointed, room service was good. As we are lovers of thai cuisine, we completely loved their food too! Oh ya, and forgot to add - though spanakaran (their in home spa) is expensive, it is definetely worth the money! It was the best we had in Phuket (we went to a couple of spas)!
Overall a great stay in a place which is not commercialized as many other people assume it to be!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews