We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Ghastly Patong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Ghastly Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at Banthai for 4 nights on my back to Australia from Cambodia. I chose a pool access room which, apart from the musty smell, was well appointed with free wi-fi access and all the inclusions you might expect. The breakfast is good. I found some of the reception staff to be not particularly helpful. The checkout procedure seems to take forever.

You could be very unlucky with your choice of room. The whole of Patong Beach is crawling with young, loud Aussies and Brits looking to get wasted. My room, 2117 was quiet but you could score a room near the pool bars which would be fatal. Ask for a room in one of the blocks away from what seems to be the main pool area to the right of reception.

Patong Beach is unbelievably ghastly with fat middle-aged male sex tourists trawling through the streets with young Thai girls by heir side. The beach is not that great and the shopping is focused on t-shirts, fake Calvin Klein underwear and sarongs.

I would still recommend the hotel as it seems one of the best ones in Patong but would urge discerning visitors to Phuket to consider an alternative area in which to stay. I certainly don't recommend Patong for families. Each to their own - Phuket is just not for me I discovered; others may find it differently.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    720
    240
    85
    84
See reviews for
391
956
64
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Location excellent. Right in the centre of Patong yet you feel as if you are miles away once you walk down the access lane to the hotel. Right opposite the beach, easy walk to markets, Jungceylon and Bangla Rd. Loved the pool access rooms (you don't need to pay extra for the direct access rooms, these are practically direct access anyway and much more private. Swim up bar is great and found the staff and service excellent. As for the chef who cooks the eggs at breakfast.....yum!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdg5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

This is a beautiful resort, central to Patong Beach but they are the only positive points. We stayed in two connecting superior rooms for 10nights. On arrival we had to wait over two hours for our rooms. The reception staff are not very helpful and need further communication/hospitality training. The walls,doors and floors in the rooms were dirty, though the beds/linens were clean! The first night we woke to guests swearing and fighting at 4am. Several times in the pool, we had to leave or go to another pool, because of drunk guests swearing loudly from 10am onwards...so beware if you have children. Breakfast were decent, room service was good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Excellent location opp Patong Beach and amongst everything. There is Maccas, Starbucks and a chemist out the front to name a few convenient places.
We had a superior room which was clean. The bathroom vanity is in the bedroom just outside the bathroom which was strange. There is not a lot of privacy and people can see in your room if you don't close the blinds, so you can't walk out from the bathroom to the bedroom after a shower with the blinds open. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. If you are willing to pay for it, the pool access rooms look like the way to go, and would be better for people travelling with a group although not much privacy there either. The swim up bar is great, although expensive. The staff are entertaining at the pool bar, and they ensure that a good time is had. The buffet breakfast had a huge variety of food, although it is pricey. There are plenty of food choices around the hotel so you are not restricted. Overall this place has impressive pools, and is in a top location. We were not there in peak season, so I think it would be noisey in the busy season. The higher up the better and a room out the back would be recommended....oh and the airconditioning works like a dream!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac-star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks in a superior room. We met family there and the rooms were clean but linen was a bit past it's used by date.
Breakfast was great and the staff were helpful and friendly.
The only downside was the "Port" restaurant and the kiddy pool. At the "port" Staff were rude and slow and even when tried to approach the bar ourselves as they were obviously busy (we had been waiting a while ) they made us go back to our table to wait for a waiter....so we waited and waited......even the manager was rude. I ordered a cocktail and told the waiter that it was sour and did not taste nice......he said "no - it's suppose to taste like that. When I told him that I order that drink every day at the bar and that it didn't taste right. He tasted my drink and told me again that it was suppose to taste like that and then he walked off. I was thinking he was going to replace it but I never saw him again...ha ha Now that's customer service.
We wouldn't have gone back but our kids loved the band. So we endured bad service 3 out of the 6 times we drank or ate at the Port. Which is really strange for Thai people, as they were lovely everywhere else we went.
The kiddy pool or the pool with the slides needed a decent clean. Water was cloudy and kids all got a tummy bug. I'm not sure there is enough chlorine for the amount of people that use the pool.

We didn't get a drink or fruit basket on arrival as promised
The great thing about the hotel is the location.....

I

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just back from ten nights at the hotel. It was a second visit to Phuket and we wanted to be in central Patong. The reviews were all favourable and we have absolutely no regrets.

The hotel is in a very good location to Bangla Road and Jung Ceylon but it offers a lot more than location. The hotel is set out in 3 different buildings with three attractive pools. Having burnt badly the first day on the beach - I had to keep out of the sun for much of the remainder of our visit and was able to - easily - at the hotel pools. Each of which offers different shaded areas at any time of day.

I must just add tho - whilst kids had a ball in the pools - there did not seem to be a kiddies pool as such or anything very shallow. Instead there were the 'swim up rooms' with direct pool access - and with individual jacuzzi/jet areas. Pictures would tell a better story but I am afraid I did not take all the right pictures.

We stayed in a suite and loved it but am sure the rooms were as comfortable. The decor is modern and smartly simple.

The staff were always helpful from the front desk, to the rooms and the porter desk. The breakfasts were very good, access to different food and entertainment is pretty much on site if you dont want to venture out, and all told - we had a great time and would happily return to the hotel. We certainly recommend it.

Will gladly help with any questions.

Gillian
South Africa

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Rooms; very comfortable with all mods & cons.
Food; include breakfast in your package, think of what you could have for breakfast...they have it. Omelettes the best. Lunch and dinner; at front gate of the resort is main drag of Patong Beach, hundreds of eateries and bars
Pools; with bars - just perfect after a day tour.
Overall; Good value, comfortable, reception staff excellent.
Tour guide; His help was exceptional due to our friends sudden departed home due to sad family news.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old-Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing