We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, close to Bangla road and Patong beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #97 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at Thara Patong for the first time with my wife. Booked through my company’s travel agent, It was reviewed and categorized as almost a 5star hotel but upon reaching there we came to know it was not. It would be near to 4star category only.
The plus point of this hotel is, it is located very close to the local market, the Patong beach and the party street Bangla Road.
We were late when we reached hotel as there was some goofup at the airport pickup and some accident happened at entry road of Phuket. However the taxi driver was nice and polite and made us comfortable. Thara Patong’s staff was good and receptive, not very classy or so, it offers simple living with comfortable rooms. We had our room closer to the back gate which opened to beach and the Bangla road.(closes down by midnight)

The balcony opens up to the pool area, but not a view which you would expect. We were not in the room for evenings and were outside so not much idea if there were some dance or music during dinner time. And forgot to mention, they charge 75THB for ice to be served in the room.
The breakfast was pretty average, not the type we had on our whole trip. The service staff was below average and once during breakfast when one of the guests asked for spoon, the waiter took it from our table and gave it away while my wife was at the table and I was waiting at omelets counter.
The only good thing about the hotel is proximity to the market, which made almost every item accessible. Most of our refreshments and occasional drinks came from seven-eleven. Its an average hotel and I would recommend if you are looking for a decent hotel with closeness to major attractions esp Patong area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alok_HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Alok

Thank you for sharing you holiday experience and it is our pleasure to have you with us.

Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is 4 stars hotel located by Patong Beach and close to shopping and nightlife areas.

All your comments were shared to our management in order to improve our facilities and service. However our resort is on renovation now and we will perform better for you next visit
And also we have reminded our staffs at the restaurant and provide more training for improvement.

Once again, thank you for recommending us. We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at thara resort in patong for 7 nights and as soon as we got there we were offered an upgrade to a premier room, but got to the room and it was dated and old not what we originally booked which looked way better in comparison. The beds were hard as hell. Went down to ask for the king bed sized room we originally booked turns out they didn't even have those rooms available. Throughout the week the air conditioning broke which made a very uncomfortable sleep! The mini bar was never restocked. We had breakfast included but my golly definitely not the quality which was described in the reviews. Overall the pictures on the hotel sites are not accurate it is old and needs renovations. Was not happy. :(

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Poppy B

Greeting from Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa and thank you for taking time to review our resort. I am sorry to read your comments that you have been disappointed your stay.

Our breakfast has been praised by almost every guest who stay with us. However we do take your feedback and look at wrong of improving.

As past of our continued effort in maintaining our facilities, you may travel part of our room and lobby are now under renovation. A new design lobby will open in August.

We have shared all you comments with the management team and will look at addressing all we can make improvement.

Best regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms were nice, clean and air conditioned. The pools are nice. The hotel is in walking distance from (party) Bangla Road. There was no elevator. Although they promote that they have a concierge, they do not,and when we asked if they could give us an average price of a bus trip to a certain destination we were told the best they could do was to call us a taxi which will take us to the bus terminal where we can find out ourselves. We also watched the bartender take the used pineapple from someone else's cocktail, rinse it and reuse it. If you purchase food or drink on the property it is 3 times the price of anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horton777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Horton777

Thank you for your review. We feel sorry to your experience you mentioned during the stay.

We don’t have hotel concierge only I-Max Tour which is located at our resort lobby.

Your comment on bartender, we appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention for further improvement. Our F&B Manager has spoken to the person involved and collects the process.

Once again, thank you to stay with us. We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Thara Patong was exactly what I was searching for in my stay in Phuket. It is perfect location for getting around Phuket's busy area, Bangla Road, and right near the beach. The room was spacious and clean, and also had a great shower. The hotel staff is very pleasant, and the WIFI worked great. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst.Manager. at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Trish

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay with us.

It is really wonderful to be recognized as a perfect location. We are happy to note that we could live up to your expectation. Your comments on our team and wifi working great are much appreciated.

We are looking forward to sever you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at Thara Patong twice and there was a great reason for a repeat choice. It is located perfectly close to the market, the beach and the infamous Bangla Road. It is definately not one of those VERY MODERN kind of hotels you would probably find in cities such as bangkok, but it is what it is supposed to be, a relaxing, serene resort kinda place you would want in Phuket. The hotel is pretty big with two swimming pools, which are equally great. The SPA is something everyone who stays here should try. They are great professionals and this is where you would experiene good thai massage.

The staff is very good. You can actually sit with them and have a chit chat and they they will be all cool..

As for the rooms, the balcony opens up to the pool area, but some of the room, has a restaurant and a live music session playing on the other side hence gets a little noisy from late evenings.
Incase you dont like this noise, make sure you ask for the room which is on your LEFT while entering from the front enterance (the back enterance opens up towards the beach, but closes down at night)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alimemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Alimemon

Thank you for your review for great value in a great location and choosing to spend your holiday with us.

We are glad that you stay was relaxing one and enjoyed many of our offering.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comment. We are looking forward to have you with us again in the nearest future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need any assistance with the booking for your next visit.

Warmest Regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a reunion trip with my friends here and the place is close to beach. The room were spacious overall will recommend this hotel if you want to be close to night life & beach.

The breakfast included was good as well :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartik003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Kartik

Thank you for your recommending and sharing positive feedback with your experienced.

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Our resort is located in the heart of Patong Beach. The beach is across the road in 2-3 minutes walking distance. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Paid for S$130 for an extra bed & breakfast for 4. Hotel also gave 500 baht meal voucher. Believe upgrade to Premier was given due to hotel renovation, low season and Thai coup period.

Pros : Premier Room is huge : it can house 1kingsize, 1 single and 1 rollaway bed and has shower and tub. Comfortable beds and flat screen TV comes with DVD player, HDMI and has HBO, Cinemax and Nat Geo (good for tired or rainy nights).Great housekeeping as they remember to provide bathrobes, beach towels, bed room slippers for 4. Hotel tweaks breakfast menu daily (we stayed 4 nights) - chipolata, toasted croissants and pancakes are good. Free daily shuttle to Central Festival (1 dep from hotel 1230, 1 pick up from mall 4pm)but should increase frequency. There is a makeshift stall opposite main entrance that cooks pad thai, fried rice, wanton noodles at 50 baht(cheaper than Banzaan night market). We bargained 700 baht with taxi stationed outside hotel for airport return journey.
Cons: the room is old but well maintained. Toilet can't flush first night (maintenance came and fixed it), shower screen can't roll smoothly 'cos there is no lower track, shower drainage tends to clog (due to sand?) - maybe housekeeping can clean floor twice as kids tends to bring back beach sand @ end of everyday.
I would stay in this hotel if promotion is still ongoing.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd or 4th floor for full view of Patong Beach fireworks and the occasional sky lanterns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyfourSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst.Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear FamilyfourSG

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read the wonderful things you mentioned including, room and our location.

We appreciate the great comments you describe our hotel. Please stay in touch when you are planning you next holiday and let us know how we can assist.

We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 337 in Patong
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#65 of 337 in Patong
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.3 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 337 in Patong
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#75 of 337 in Patong
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#34 Family Hotel in Patong
#46 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £63 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing