We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #199 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was very disappointed with this run down resort. As I had arrived first and was sharing a twin room was escorted to the deluxe balcony room. The room has to be the worst. Musty smell greeted me with a king bed and tucked away in pokey corner looking at no view just the wall. I went back to reception and told them we had booked a twin. They had received no request and no twin balcony available but they could put a rollaway in. Kidding me? We had booked 6 months in advance especially for a friends 40th at the resort. Amazing how suddenly English becomes limited when faced with a problem. Finally got out of them that city view twin available so had a look and was reasonable, no smell, dated though. The reception staff are the worst and we noticed that they smiled to your face and complained about you in Thai when yr backs turned. The resort is a timeshare property so salesmen trying to sell people every day. The location is fantastic, the food good but let down by lack of maintenance, poor service with fake smiles or none. The final straw was being told no refund for downgrade by the rudest Manager ever, who wrote rude notes, and to take it up with travel agent back in Australia. We will be!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FeliciaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

For a first timer to Patong, this was the perfect location to base ourselves! Right near the buzzing nightlife of Bangla Rd & right on the beach.

We stayed at Patong Bay Garden from 26th December - 4th January in a city view superior room. Our room was great, spacious enough and with a small balcony that looked over onto Beach Rd (you could not hear the noise of the road when the big sliding doors were closed). The bathroom was a little dated but nothing I hadn't expected in a place like Thailand. The turn down service was great (we left a small tip every few days to say thanks). We had one issue with the air conditioner leaking and they fixed it straight away.

We had breakfast included which was great as my partner & I were travelling with a group and this was a place to meet every morning. There was an egg station (you could have scrambled, poached, fried, omelette - you name it!), there was the other normal stuff (bacon etc) as well as a selection of thai food, toast, and pastries.

On New Years eve there was a big party at the other end of Patong Beach which cost roughly $80AUD for a ticket.. But lucky enough for us there was a free party on the beach behind the resort! It was fantastic, there was a big stage with live DJ's and drink stations on beach. LOTS of fun!

The resort pool was great! We spent a few afternoons drinking & swimming after our day trips. Great place to relax. There were a few cute little Thai kids running around (I think their Mum works at the resort) who were so excited if anyone would play with them. I think FUN translates through any language barriers!

On the last night of our trip we went to Savoey Seafood resatuarant (just across the road and towards bangla) where my partner proposed! A fantastic end to an amazing trip.

I cannot fault the Patong Bay Garden at all - lovely people, great service, perfect location especially if you have never been to Phuket before.

Room Tip: If travelling at New Years - don't get a room overlooking the pool! The party on the beach which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Location: Right on the beach. Enjoyed my breakfast by the sea every morning. Going to the beach and back to the hotel was a breeze seeing as they are steps away fr each other. Drug store, eateries, souvenir shops surround the entrance of the hotel.

The rooms: We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were fine. I would recommend the one with the balcony so you can have a pool view. It may get a little noisy at night as there is a bar right outside, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Service: No complaints!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel three years ago and really enjoyed it the staff were friendly, the location great and the room (right on the beach) was clean well equipped. Our stay this time could not have been more different. We'd booked an LeMeridien as last time but were shown to a different room, we asked to be moved...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We booked the deluxe poolview room and upgraded to Andaman seaview suite. We loved that room bcos it could b probably the best seaview room in patong which is located closest fr the beach. Hotel breakfast is ok and enough for us and we enjoyed happy hour drinks during our entire stay fr hotel bar. In fact the furnitures are outdated and hotel seems old and not so clean, we enjoyed our stay due to best location and our seaview room. only few mins away from bangla road, 10 mins walk fr JCL shopping mall. few mins walk fr all restaurants along the beach road. Price is considered quite high even though 3 stars due to their location. Housekeeping lady is so helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xcrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on recommendation and so glad we did! This hotel is literally on the beach unlike many hotels in Patong. We enjoyed breakfast and cocktails with our toes in the sand. Not only do you have minimal walking distance to the bech, the hotel is a minutes walk from Bangla Road, the main party area of Patong.

Food and service were fantastic, rooms basic but clean. Word of advice, don't go around new years eve if you plan on sleeping. We arrived on Dec 30 to a DJ on a stage on the beach right outside our window and a large each party in progress. People were letting off fireworks all night! Same for NYE which we enjoyed as we were there to party, but perhaps choose one further away if that's not really your thing.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

No customer service
furit flys and moskitos threw the hole place
Rooms are old and smelly
I did not learn the 1st time
I found a better cheaper cleaner place not far . Called the galley top place i am a regular to potong and know what's good

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kosta269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 331 in Patong
751 reviews
0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#167 of 331 in Patong
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#15 of 331 in Patong
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#65 of 331 in Patong
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#66 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £844 - £935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing