We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #176 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I will try to be as fair as possible. I booked the superior room and requested high floor. The superior room at 1st floor are correct but really in front of the pool so it can be a bit noisy and not so private. They brought me to a 1st floor superior room that doesnt look like the pictures at all. It was terrible and had view on... the stairs!!! there were noway I would stay in that bedroom for a week. I went to the reception to complain and they offered me to upgrade me to the deluxe city. it was bigger but as terrible and with cockroach. the worse was the noise! they sell it as a better value than superior room, DO NOT TAKE THE CITY VIEW ROOM. Then I complained again to have the deluxe balcony but they wanted me to top up. I dont find it very commercial but let's admit this is their policy. What I would call a scam, is that there were discount on their website that brought the deluxe balcony at the same price that I paid for the superior. They did exactly the same with 2 tourists that I bumped in the lobby...
The deluxe balcony room is quite nice, the bathroom is very basic but acceptable. The last day I had late flight so they offer late checkin but guess what? you stiil have to pay. And it's never the same price according to who you ask to. Moreover, when I left the hotel was empty..... I understand they have to make money, but they never do any single commercial gesture especially for long stay customers, in low season, in empty hotel. This is really too bad because the hotel by itself is quite nice, the restaurant is beachfront and quite good. A little bit overpriced for thailand but still OK.

As a conclusion, if you decide to go to the hotel, dont take rooms below deluxe balcony.

Room Tip: dont go below deluxe balcony. Superior are too random and city view is a scam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 137alexch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    167
    84
    47
    53
See reviews for
60
163
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 4 times in the past 3 years and always loved it for its great location but this time I was very disappointed.
Don't know what's going on there but the staff were boardering on downright rude after always being smiling and friendly in the past.
The general condition of the hotel was awful....quite grubby, tiles missing in the pool and numerous cockroaches.
Still the best position in patong and the setting on the beach is glorious, all the other guests I spoke to were disappointed as well. Such a shame to see.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked this hotel on recommendation from my cousin and her husband who had stayed there a couple of years ago. In fact they came with me on this trip and we had adjoining rooms (deluxe balcony suits). I had previously read many comments on this resort and was apprehensive due to the many negative comments. Upon reception I could not fault them. Being Australian I had no communication problems and they did every thing to help me. i was taken to my room and yes they are in need of a major update. Tiles etc are retro and reminded me of the 60's and 70's but everything was pristinely clean. View to the pool and the beach was great. The room had everything I wanted and needed. My Thai girlfriend and I spent many nights there and the house keeping lady (I can't recall her name) put flowers on our pillows and next morning after breakfast put the petals in a heart shape on my bed.I will accept responsibility for that!!!!!!!! But she was so an angel we tipped her 1000 baht. She nearly cried and gave us a hug and kiss
I will be back next year.By the way the meals at both restaurants are great.
The only draw back is there is a time share office there and can be noisy. Let them know you are staying there and they will leave you alone.
Thank you all to Patong Bay Garden Resort

Room Tip: keep an open mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjs699696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before and were aware of the outdated furnishings and tired look of the resort. However, the hospitality and restaurant were previously outstanding - this is no longer the case. Reception staff are rude, don't make eye contact and ignore guests, likewise in the restaurant - there is a definite don't care attitude accompanied by the varying levels of service one has to attribute this to a management issue. There is noticeably a higher number of loud expat "managers" about and the focus is almost entirely on the holiday club that they are endeavouring to peddle; leaving hotel guests ignored and feeling like second class citizens.

The only redeeming feature and if it was not for this I would have rated the hotel a 1 out of 5, is the location - right on Patong Beach. Unfortunately, the negatives of this trip even out-way this and we will not be staying at this resort again in the future.

Room Tip: Whatever you choose you are bound to be disappointed. Suggest selecting another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

NKY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As mentioned previously (and the reason I booked this hotel) the only major positive about this hotel is the location. Now that I've been to this city, however, I would recommend another hotel on the beach as the city is very walkable.

My room (Andaman Studio) was not even close to what was pictured. In speaking with another guest who had the exact same issue I had it's the luck of the draw if you get one of the 3 studios that actually have a beach view, beach access, and remodeled interiors. The other "Studios" are much smaller (no seating area), no view (because of a mass of trees), skimpy furnishings, and no direct access to the beach because they are on the 2nd floor.

In other news... the pool area was clean, the staff was OK, and the breakfast was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viper22FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Positive:
1.Right on the beach, 200m from Bangla Road, 500m from Jungceylon

Negative:
1. Reception area got no aircon, only one fan and that also spoiled.
2. While we waited for check in, we had to pay 10 baht to deposit the luggage, which seems ridiculous for me, i paid almost a hundred dollar for a day and need to pay them 10 baht to look after my luggage for one hour.
3. I booked superior room but no bathtub, although bathtub was shown in picture and in amenities list.
4. I requested for early check in around 12pm, upon arrival the said i can check in by 1pm but after lunch i came back 1:45pm, till then room not ready. Finally checked in 2:10, that means upon request of early, we got let check in!!
5. Rooms are not new, actually need renovation badly. Toilet was so small that even hard to move for shower, did not expect such a small toilet after spending 95$ per night.
6. Water given two bottles free but the quality of water is terrible (alkaline test). There is a mini bar in the fridge and water there is good, that means they purposely gives bad quality free water so consumption from minibar vamps up.
7. Swimming pool is very small. Tiles peeled off. need urgent renovation.
8 Breakfast is not suitable for vegetarian
9. Finally i would say, the money i paid is not worth the service i got.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debarnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawang, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel have best location, really near to the beach. When you having breakfast, you can get the sea view. And it also near to the nightlife center, Bangla Road.

But if you have problem with hygiene, I believe you won't be comfortable with this hotel, we have 2 time plumbing problems. And at the first night, some small cockroach is flying to my wife. For us it is not a big problem because our day is spend outside the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor will be good. And the seaview are the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanHidajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#151 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#129 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#39 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#97 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Property: Patong Bay Garden Resort
Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#62 Spa Hotel in Patong
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing