We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room clean but area not realy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Connect Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Connect Guesthouse
Ranked #282 of 400 Patong B&B and Inns
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“room clean but area not realy”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

to stay inside the room are nice and safety because they safety box and also nice room. owner also nice wellcoming the guest... but if you want some thing more for view and atmospher.. this place are not recomended.. to noisy from people surrounded and becarefull with people you meet outside.... the staff are very friendly specially the black guy he is so nice... tour better book outside travel agence are cheaper and good.. many small travel agence outside so no worry you can book eveything there...

to hook up and fun this place are recomended.... but to stay and atmosphere not at all

Room Tip: better to choose room near the owner room... 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
5
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

friendly service, real good food (a la cart, bbq- and thai-buffet,...), fair prices, good location.
were here with friends very often in our holidays and will come again to connect in my next thailand-holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank markuskraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Had a five night stay at the Connect Guesthouse January 14th - 19th. The room had a balcony looking down onto all of the action along the main strip of the Paradise Complex. It was small but comfortable however the noise level was, for me anyway, quite unbearable. Soundproof glass really doesn't help much when the building is practically throbbing from the music at Kiss Club. Then when the street starts to wake up around 7am the noise from the steel roller doors going up at the shops had me awake.

The location was good for those who want to party all night, every night. The staff were all very friendly and the food at the cafe was excellent. The only thing that would keep me from staying there again was the noise. They do have rooms towards the back which may be quieter so if noise is a problem consider one of those.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickN6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed 16 nights on my first visit to Thailand. The room felt like 1960's Cuba and the restaurant was brilliant. Fantastic staff and tremendous pricing! Nothing beats it for value, people watching potential and ambience ! It's close to all the action, and really gay in its culture. Loved it! One word of warning! ... all the nightclubs - and there are lots ramp up competing music from 10 pm to 3 am. I booked a top of the range room with double glass glazing and doors. However, the boom boom noice of the bass only in music got through ! Impossible to sleep! Hard work until I just slept from 6-10 pm ... Enjoyed people watching in restaurant 10-3 am and then back to bed 3 am to 11.30 am! Well worth changing your routine to stay at Connect! Location and restaurant can't be beaten.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottster914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hi All,

Having booked the Connect Guesthouse for a stay after the Christmas period.. we couldn't argue at the reasonable price of £200 (GBP) for an 8 night stay..

Having booked the holiday in the June of 2011 i had lost my original email confirmation of the room booking/details (as anyone could do..) I emailed the Guesthouse to re-confirm my booking/price/room etc before our arrival date... and i swear it took me about 2 weeks of constant emailing to finally get any sort of response.. which was quite worrying as i thought they might not have our booking and we would arrive in Phuket with no room to stay in.
I understand the language barrier and also the time difference, so i just put it down to that?

We arrived.. They had arranged a fab transfer from the airport to the guesthouse directly..saving us the hassle of bartering a taxi price (not knowing the currency properly)
The taxi driver was there with a sign waiting for us when we had collected our baggage from the airport.. so far so good...

nice and easy taxi ride..

When the taxi driver had dropped us off at the guesthouse... they seemed to have a problem finding our reservation (considering i had booked in June and asked for a confirmation email..) this worried me on the spot as again i thought "what do we do now if we have no room over the bust new year period"

After some arguments between staff they produced a room key and took us to our room...
Now i am sure (although i lost the original booking) that i had booked one of the main rooms at the guesthouse, one of the newly refurbished rooms (again all excited to drop the cases off and get out to explore the Patong area)

So it was quite a surprise to say the least..when the receptionist walked us out the guesthouse.. round a back side street and walked us completely round the corner to a laundry...
We were then ushered through the laundry to a wooden door.. opening the wooden door led us to a flight of stairs and (3 levels high) with around 5 rooms off the3 floors.
It seemed that we were to stay in what they call the "annex"....

now i know what an annex is.. and this was not connected to the main guesthouse at all.. we were in a completely different street above a laundry

We laughed a little but thought "we're here now.. just go with it.."

The view from the room was awful, we looked directly on to another hotel/sauna/guesthouse and with the lights on could see all the goings on of the hotel...we had no balcony, the window was 1 pane thick so we heard every noise imaginable, the constant shouting of
"massage.. you want a massage"
from the sauna's below (until 5am every morning)

Now i know we we're staying in the gay area, with all the bars etc.. but OMG the noise was unreal.. boom boom boom for hours and hours... PLUS we we're above the laundry (24hrs i might add) so every time a washing machine was in use (a lot..) the water pipes were whistling, the machines were vibrating when on spin.. it was as if we were staying in faulty towers (British Comedy Programme for you non-UK readers)

HERE"S THE PLUS SIDE

The room was cleaned everyday, fresh towels etc
breakfast was free every morning (not a massive breakfast but enough..)
and it was a FAB location for the bars/clubs/bangala road and Patong Beach only 5mins away

we never seen any french/swedish owners.. always a Thai working the computer or bar area?

but as previous guests have commented.. a 3 night stay maybe.. but no longer than that..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leewoods83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

After nearly fourteen years this 'Swedish owned and managed guesthouse' has been sold; it is now a 'French owned and managed guesthouse'.

I've been a frequent guest of the place for years, often as much as three visits a year, and have watched it grow to more than just a place to rest my head. It became a place to meet and spend time over drinks or a meal with friends from all over the world, and to often meet new friends.

Have things changed? It is too soon to tell, but on a recent stay over the end of November it is decidedly more empty.

Perhaps this might have been due to the flooding in Bangkok which gave visitors pause on whether they could get to Phuket; however Phuket has an international airport with direct flights from both Europe, Australasia, and Asia. Or perhaps the continuing uptick on reported violence or crimes against tourists has winter sunseekers looking for friendlier receptions in Bali or other sunshine destinations. Or perhaps in general international travel is taking a hit from the downswing in the economies worldwide.

I don't know, but for what should have been the beginning of the 'high season', Connect was empty. No guests in the rooms, and few if any folks in its usually bustling café; no host roaming the restaurant stopping to welcome those who stopped by for a drink or meal.

The staff remains their usual gracious and helpful selves. The meals were still of good quality and great value. I did note new bed linens in the rooms, though the heavier duvets did make me want to turn the aircon to 16°C rather than the energy-saving 22°C. The free internet connection has been boosted to fibre, which is incredibly good for such a remote location.

Patong has changed. The quality of the beach at Patong continues to spiral downward with its murky brown water, and plethora of touts onshore. If you have some transport, the beaches south of Patong, such as Karon or Kata, are still blazingly white and the waters crystal clear. However public transportation continues to be a problem, especially compared to Bangkok.

Patong's nightlife is increasingly loud, and the louts and sex tourists continue to wash ashore unabated. So if peace and quiet is difficult if that is what you're looking for. Violence against visitors is more reported.

But let's give Connect a chance. Let us see if the new management can make a go of what has been a reliably excellent yet economical independent guesthouse. Only time will tell.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back of the house, or in one it the adjacent buildings, if you want to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malo-ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.0 mi away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#228 of 319 in Patong
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Boutique Hotel
Islanda Boutique Hotel
#216 of 400 in Patong
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patong Budget Rooms
Patong Budget Rooms
#139 of 285 in Kathu
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Guesthouse
Star Guesthouse
#44 of 222 in Patong
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bird Cage
The Bird Cage
#111 of 400 in Patong
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connect Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connect Guesthouse

Property: Connect Guesthouse
Address: 125/8-9 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Connect Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect is a guesthouse located in the heart of the famous Patong beach, the most attracted place to be on Phuket island "The pearl of Andaman". Right in the middle of Paradise Complex area, with the night life entertainment, Connect welcome everybody in a 17 rooms place simply decorate. You can enjoy in our bar and restaurant, drinks from 8 am. To 2 am. And food from 8am to 0pm everyday, and our team try to do its best to help you during your stay at Connect. With only 5 min walk to Patong beach, 5 min walk to the fabulous Jungceylon shopping mall center, and many markets around, our place is the perfect location for not spending extra money in taxi, tuk tuk, or motorbike. During many years, we are proud to have many return guests, who become friends by now, and we hope that you gonna be the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Connect Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Connect Guesthouse Hotel Patong
Connect Guesthouse Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing