We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paradise in the hustle of Patong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deevana Patong Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A paradise in the hustle of Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was my second stay at the Deevana and I was really looking forward to it. The hotel fully lived up my expectations - it is beautifully laid out, with 2 different wings. Previously I had stayed in the garden wing (clusters of bungalows over a large area set in a tropical garden), but this time we were in the spa wing (3 storey buildings in a U arrangement around a sparkling pool). Both wings are amazing and not much to choose between then - I enjoyed both!

The hotel is very well located, even though it is not on the beach. It is down a small road, just back from the second road from the Patong Beach. It is about a 10 min walk to the beach and about 15 min to the BangLa Road nightlife area. This makes both of these easily accessible, but the hotel itself is tranquil and quite and away from the frantic pace of Patong.

The hotel staff were incredible - so friendly and helpful, never without a smile! And this went for all staff we met, reception, bar, restaurant and even housekeeping. Though we have to mention the reception staff especially as they were really friendly. Checkin was a breeze and whatever you asked, they helped. There was a minor language barrier at times, but nothing a smile couldn't overcome and this never presented itself as an issue at all.

The hotel was 2 pools, one in each wing. Staying in the spa wing, we used that pool and used it quite a bit. Sadly I had brought a bit of food poisoning with me from Bangkok, so we spent the first 2 days in the hotel just in case and spending these days pool side was so relaxing that we didn't mind that we couldn't leave the hotel - you feel like you are in a tropical oasis. This pool has a bar in the pool! Cocktails were really good and cheap during happy hour.

The room itself was spacious and very comfortable - not the biggest that we have stayed in, but well laid out so that it was never cramped. And it had a proper sized shower! The cleanliness was without exception.

The Deevana is well geared to guests who have late flights (as all SA flights are!). We had to checkout by midday, but could use all facilities for the rest of the day and they provided a shower and toilet to freshen up before we left for the airport - again so well done. We used hotel transport back to the airport - not the cheapest option, but really efficient and comfortable.

The breakfast was tasty, but there wasn't much variety and after a week, it became a bit repetitive as the food was very similar each day. The range included Western, Thai and Indian food, but only 2 dishes of each. One thing they have improved on since my last stay was the coffee - now its really good! The breakfast is served in a restaurant that overlooks the pool and is an amazing setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Kevin S,

Greetings from Deevana Patong Resort & Spa.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed a second stay at our resort and that you thoroughly enjoyed staying at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa. Thank you also for giving us an “excellent” score which is always appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we have shared your comments with all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    1,310
    352
    111
    83
See reviews for
671
1,296
167
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kauniainen, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had two rooms with a door between, so it formed a large apartment for our group. Rooms were nice and clean and had tile floors, so it was easy to dry up wet floor or clean up the sand when coming back from Patong beach. Room view was fantastic, second floor directly to the beautiful swimming pool area. Location of the hotel was excellent, as it was close to the city life, but still at a peaceful area. Banana pancake lady was one of the best part of our trip as it was nice to have a delicious dessert after coming from the city in the evening. Would visit again this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Matti K,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Deevana Patong Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Phuket and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Deevana Patong Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first ten days of January 2014...
The resort is really good near the beach and the Bangla road, breakfast is perfect and the room always clean...
Thanx to all the staff see you in April!
Giorgio and Paulinha

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guz43,

Greetings from Deevana Patong Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to meet all your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments, we have shared them with the entire team which continually motivates us to provide the best service we can.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I Stayed there at my honeymoon...It was very pleasant saty there. By luck my wife birth day is also fall in between the stay. they arranged for fruit basket and Cake for me without any cost. it was very pleasent surprise from them...

Ine lady just oudsite the hotel perpare the banana pan cake was also remembarable for us as she provide the very nice smile and become freindly with us without any conversation

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shashi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Shashi85,

Greetings from Deevana Patong Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to meet all your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments, we have shared them with the entire team which continually motivates us to provide the best service we can.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Deevana for about a week in 2013 in the in the Spa wing room. The resort exterior was beautiful, the lobby and breakfast buffet room was all open like a jungle oasis theme. Although the rooms were not great.

Our first night was not the best experience as our rooms had been mixed up (resolved the 2nd day) and the night staff weren't very helpful and rude.
The first night we were put into a superior room with a balcony which was a room that cost less than a spa room. The room didn't have much, the beds were rock hard and the TV was very old with no channels working at all.
The spa wing room was not much different to the superior room (even though you'd expect so when paying extra), the tv was working and we had our personal spa and direct pool access. However, the spa jets had not did not work properly, but after the first night, we didn't bother to complain. Furthermore, the main pool had been under construction and not usable at the time. We understand that the pool had to under go construction, however this was disappointing as we'd paid extra for this bonus for this access from spa wing room.

There are no curtains to leave sunlight in the room and have some privacy, only thick curtains to darken the room, and the lamps in the room were very dim.
I also felt very uncomfortable when id realized housekeeping had took a clean towel that was sitting in my open luggage under a few clothes just chucked in. Regardless whether they took this to clean, i don't appreciate having my luggage gone through, open or not.

Although there are instructions for towels regarding whether you would like fresh towels, we were pretty sure one day these were only folded and put back.
We were also charged a fee on on our stay due to some stains made to the bed sheets from a Henna tattoo that had come off. Although we defiantly understand and are happy to pay the fee, it was very annoying to come back to our serviced rooms day after day and not have the sheets changed!

We were quite annoyed at times with amenities as things such as toilet paper, water and towels were either forgotten or short supplied.

We had some friends staying in the Garden room for less, however the interior of the room seemed a little nicer than the spa wing rooms.

The breakfast buffet was good and the majority of day staff and security were nice and helpful.

The location of Deevana was great, only a 10-15 min walk to jungceylon mall, bangla road and the beach, right next door was also a laundry service which was helpful.

Overall, we would recommend this resort for a family stay who aren't exactly worried about the types of rooms they'll stay in. We wouldn't personally stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkatick91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Mkatick91,

Greetings from Deevana Patong Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent feedback we do appreciate all guests comments and continually strive to provide the best service we can.

The experience you describe through online causes us deep concern. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any frustration and anxiety that you may have caused you on your arrival.

Our aim and intent is to ensure all staff are totally customer-focus and all guest concerns and requests are handled quickly and efficiently.

I can only reiterate our regret that we did not handle the situation in the proper manner. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid the recurrence of such incidents in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of overall services that were not up to your expectations and the main pool was undergo renovation.

Kindly be informed that the main pool is now completed at all and ready for guests to experience since 1 October 2013.

Meanwhile, we are glad that you compliment us about the hotel exterior, lobby, breakfast, staff and security during day time and hotel location which is our advantage.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our hotel, we have shared all your feedback with the team and will continue to look for ways to improve our services.

We look forward to be of your service again the future.

Kind regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed previously here in 2011 and were so happy with the staff, they remembered our room number, gave my wife a birthday cake and were always quick to respond to our needs. Because of this satisfaction we decided to stay here in 2013 for the new years period. Unfortunately this time we didn't get a chance to do anything in phuket as my wife got injured at the resort and of course Deevana delivered their excellence yet again with their customer service. We thought about cutting our trip short but as we were treated like we were the only 2 at the resort we couldn't possibly. A special thank you to the gentleman and lady managers that helped us with the hospital,transportation, free fruit plate :), bell boys Ex, Kowit and a third who i failed to remember and of course all the staff in Deevana. I honestly cannot express my gratitude and satisfaction enough. Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Vlad A,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Deevana Patong Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Phuket and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to exceed all your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent comments, we have shared them with the entire team which continually motivates us to provide the best service we can.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams particularly to Management and Staff (Bellboy - Ex and Kowit) who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Again, we wish you a speedy recovery and all of us look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Phuket.

Sincerely yours,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is tucked away in the quiet part of the main street and is walking distance to the beach and all the shops.

We were given a ground floor garden view room. It was a grubby room which needs refurbishing and a deep clean. The walls are dirty and the bathroom had mould. There aren't any blinds or net curtains so the curtains have to be left closed for privacy. These rooms are small and a bit dark too and there are not very many plug points and the AC is so loud it will keep you awake all night. The walls are very thin so you will be able to hear the neighbours conversions. The room faces the pool which is nice if you like loud music blaring out all day. Beware of mosquito's in the room.

Even though we left the towels to be replaced, these were folded back up and put back in their original place. And even though there are instructions on what to do with towels I'm not sure housekeeping pay much attention to this.

There is a wide variety of food to choose from in the breakfast buffet. However there were insects on the cut fruit so we did not touch this.

On two occasions we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi for us. The first time was for one of our trips and the second to the airport. On the first occasion we were told they do not book taxis in advance so we just went down the street and got a taxi from there. The second time they did book it for us however it seems they only use one company/driver who was running 30 minutes late. You are better off getting a cab from down the street as the hotel staff are not particularly helpful with sorting this out.

The spa prices are expensive so it's worth walking down the street as there are so many competitively priced massage places. There is a launderette (not associated with the hotel) nearby and the prices are reasonable and the service is great.

Overall I was disappointed with the hotel therefore will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deevana_Patong, Executive Assistant Manager at Deevana Patong Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear 2jjai,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed experience on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us in December 2013. I was very much disturbed to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our overall services were not up to your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you had encountered, we have shared your feedback with respective departments and look for ways to improve.

I do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore, giving us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you, when you next visit to Phuket. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Kind regards,

Thipwimon Chatchavansilachai (Ms.)
Executive Assistant Manager

"Reward Your Journey"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Patong Resort & Spa

Property: Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Address: 43/2 Raj-U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Spa Hotel in Patong
#20 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deevana Patong Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa locates 200 metre from Patong Beach whilst has never been effected by tsunami and has been operating as usual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Deevana Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa
Deevana Patong Hotel Patong
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing