We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but chose room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location but chose room carefully”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The hotel itself is a nice thai style vs some of the hotels you see in Patong. The pool area is not great - either people putting down towels to "reserve" sunbeds or in the pool with the pool bar a bit of a club 18-30 mentality during happy hour.

Food is good for breakfast did not use restaurant for other meals given the glut of decent other places + poor value even for seafood or more western food.

Garden rooms are good if you want more peace and quite the pool side rooms have to put up with club 18-30 in the afternoon and the rooms by the pool with hot tubs had pretty ropey looking hot tubs.

Great location - 10 mins walk to beach and 2 mins from one of the main roads

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    1,395
    374
    118
    84
See reviews for
767
1,458
191
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Manage to stay in both the garden wing and spa wing of the resort.
Friendly welcome. 1st night stayed in the garden wing standard room cos we check in late. Love the little animal towels.
Can be improved. 2nd night onwards stayed in the spa wing deluxe room with private jacuzzi. Clean and spacious. The jacuzzi could be cleaned though. There are dry leaves and dust particles in the water. Overall great for the price paid. Location is good. Walking distance to convenience stores, shopping, food. We rented a bike and a car. Easy to navigate through the phuket crowds though we got lost for an hour looking for the zoo. We also went during songkran period thus manage to join in the fun. We have a great time there and will definitely return soon. :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

As many others have said before, the Garden Wing rooms leave quite a bit to be desired. They are simple rooms with basic necessities (though would be nice to have a clock of some sort in the room despite coming prepared with one) so nothing special but generally comfortable. The hotel as a whole is really quite charming and well-decorated with there being plenty of nature right at your front door predominantly in the Garden Wings. Buffet Breakfast was always good and plenty of options. The only issue with that is 2 of our party went to breakfast, got up to get food only to come back to others sitting at their table.
The two main issues during our stay were having showers and towels. Now, never having stayed in Thailand before, I'm not sure as to whether this is common with other hotels etc, but the water pressure and temperature would never stay constant for more than a minute or so... not a deal breaker, but very frustrating when you're constantly trying to find a comfortable temperature. We also had issues with the towels a couple of times when they were taken by house-keeping and not replaced, with it taking about half an hour to get new ones brought to us the second time this happened.
All-in-all, not a terrible hotel, but you might be able to get better value for money at another location in Patong, at least for what you would pay for a room in the Garden Wing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bythebrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

9 of us travelled here for a family Christmas and New Year the price of the hotel is good but in the end you do get what you pay for.
We stayed in Spa wing rooms, they were a bit basic and lacked storage space but they were ok.
The safety deposit box in one of the rooms was not screwed down so anyone could have picked it up and walked away with when we told reception they advised us it would be fine to put our valubles in...we didnt!!
The hotel is acceptable and like a lot of hotels they have a mix of nice staff and rude staff.
The main issue with this hotel is the food...it is awful, the general menu is not good, basic food at inflated prices, but as we travelled over Christmas they made us take the compulsory gala meals at Christmas and New Year they cost a fortune and were rubbish..the entertainment was the worst ever and the food was awful..there was lots of choice but all of it sub standard food.
The Christmas gala meal was bad and we left early like 99% of the other guests.
We should have known better but as we had to pay for it anyway we went to the New year gala meal hoping it would be better.
We got food for the children first (chicken, rice, noodles) as we were eating our food we realised the chicken was raw inside, we took the food away from the children and spoke to our waiter and pointed out the issue, she showed this to the catering manager while we observed and the catering manager told the waitress to tell us "its a buffet go and get some more and make sure what we get is cooked"...we left!!!!
That evening the 2 children were very ill...vomiting as the new year fireworks went off!!
We advised the management the following morning and they said we could not prove it was the food which had cause the problem...!
They would not take responsibility as they said they get outside caterers for the food!
In the end they offered to take 50% off the gala meal cost..! we didnt care about the money ..our children were sick!
In the end they offered a taxi to the hospital but the children were upset and did not want to go, we had already taken them to the pharmacy and got medication for them anyway.
All in all the hotel is only OK it is a bit far from the beach for a beach holiday the rooms are ok the food is NOT. the management need to take responsibility for something that they make compulsory with their bookings even if they do bring in outside caterers.
I have travelled to Phuket many times and I will travel to phuket a lot more but never again to the Deevana...many hotels can have problems on occassion but the management sould have the appropriate customer service to try to help rectify the problems that a customer is having. The management of this hotel dont!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Rooms were clean and fairly spacious in the garden wing, albeit starting to look a little old.

Breakfast selection was great, and airport transfers were comfortable and on time. Some reception staff had limited English, but with a little patience this is not a major problem.

The biggest problem of our trip was having about 100$ stolen by housekeeping from our rooms whilst at breakfast. The money was taken from 2 wallets inside handbags. We are 100% sure the money was taken by housekeeping as the money had been counted right before leaving for breakfast and again upon returning an hr later from breakfast. We reported this immediately to reception who took the details and passed them to the hotel manager to investigate. Later that day we met with the hotel manager who said the housekeeper denied taking the money but that if we wanted we can have the wallets checked for fingerprints by the police as all employees prints are kept on file. We decided against this as we did not feel comfortable handing the employee to the Thai police. The manager still offered to deduct the amount stolen from our final bill.

Despite the upset caused by this, we would stay here again because we understand that there can be Dodgey staff at any hotel whether in thailand or in australia.

Be sure to get some banana pancakes from the lady right outside the hotel! Delicious!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilpps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The welcome to this hotel was excellent. Beautiful reception and very helpful staff. But the room did not have the same standard.

The rooms are clean but dated. There is everything you would need, powerful shower, aircon, and a clean, comfy bed and pillows. You do get a few extras such as a mini bar, flip flops and local mossy spray (at a small charge). We only stayed for 3 nights and apart from sleeping in the room we did not spend that much time in it.

Beautiful pool areas, serving food and drink and even a pool side bar.

There are a number of PC's for use plus a very help travel desk.

We did not take breakfast at this hotel as there are so many little cafes or stools selling fresh fruit and other tasty snacks.

When you arrive at Phuket airport there are a number of taxi firms and we were charged 600 baht for our journey. We then tried to get to Kata Beach on a tuktuk and they wanted to charge 600baht. we did get this down to 300 but the tuktuk drivers really do try to rip us off. beware!!

Hotel is about 10mins from beach and from main streets for evening entertaining.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin83pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Picking a hotel over the internet is hard and I was apprehensible when choosing Deevana. As soon as we arrived my worries vanished. Because we were staying for a long time, they upgraded us free of charge to a room with our own jacuzzi. The rooms have everything that you need except for cable TV. But we didn't come on holidays to watch TV. We took advantage of the Health and wellness package so we got a airport transfers, thai cooking class and a Phi Phi Island trip for free.
The hotel staff were awesome and the bar man, Mr T, was a real character. We were close to the beach and the world best massage was just 100m down the road.
If I ever come back to Thailand, we are staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 322 in Patong
1,645 reviews
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 322 in Patong
1,580 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 322 in Patong
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Patong Resort & Spa

Property: Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Address: 43/2 Raj-U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Spa Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#20 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deevana Patong Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa locates 200 metre from Patong Beach whilst has never been effected by tsunami and has been operating as usual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deevana Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deevana Patong Hotel Patong
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing