We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Surrounding tour advice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We found the staff very friendly and room, although a little dated certainly good value for money. WiFi connection certainly needed some work. We thought we could have had a bit more guidance on the facilites available, eg Computer Room, Pool & Library. We found that the best option for booking tours was in the laneway that divides the two parts of the hotel. The lady there, named Bew at Sukij Tours, was absolutely fantastic. We found it easy to communicate with her and she went out of her way to make suggestions for the tours best suited to us at a very competitive price. We definitely recommend visiting her prior to making bookings through the hotel. If you want a quiet room it would be best to book a room at the rear part (pool side) of the hotel. We stayed beach side and although a little noisy at times, the sunsets were lovely and it was great to enjoy the roadside vendors at night cooking and selling their food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. The previous wifi router often down after we provided free wifi to every guests. Now we have installed the new router for many users already. Wifi works smoothly on this moment.

Best Regards,
Worapol Ungtrakul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We could not fault the service, very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with everything you could think of. Beautiful cool and clean room. The pool was exquisite. The staff especially Soe who went out of her way to help my partner and I. Considering some of the other tourists were so arrogant and rude. I think the staff are angels for what they put up with!! Thanks Sunset

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of 2011. It was recommended to me by a travel agent at Flight Centre and as someone who has travelled to Thailand various times I can definitley reccomend not to stay here. Although the hotel has a free shuttle during the day to the centre of patong, it is positioned a very large walk away from patong. If you miss the shuttle back or the shuttle is full on arrival you have to walk for around 30 minutes to get to town. The beach across the road from the hotel is just rocks for the most part of the year and when there is sand its full of worms and crabs. This was highly disappointing. There is also a main road the runs through the middle of the hotel. Reception and some rooms are at the front, then a road splits you from the rest of the hotel and pool etc. Highly unusual and not mentioned anywhere at the time of booking. The pool, although extremely clean with a nice bar, is also extremely covered by shade so not great for people wanting to sunbake (like me). All in all i'd just recommend going elsewhere. Not necessarily because the customer service is bad or the place is unclean, but because there are better places for the same amount of money right in town and on a nice beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
Our beachfront location brings with it possible noise from beach road. Please inform us in advance before your next visit so that we can offer you one of our quiet rooms with pool view.
Our free shuttle departs every 30 mins to the centre of patong with first come first serve. We recommend to avoid high demand period on 5PM-7PM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Please avoid! Staying at a hotel nearby and walked past this place. It looked really nice and quite busy. Ordered Traditional Thai dishes and they tasted good. Unfortunately few hours later, my boyfriend and I felt extremely ill. Both of us have food poisoning. We know it was this restaurant as we hadn't really eaten much the whole day. Please do not be deceived by this place. I have read other reviews and a lot of other customers have experienced food poisoning here too. This restaurant has ruined a part of our trip.Would not recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank D88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

As the General Manager of the hotel, I would like to apologise for the incident described. Please be assured that our restaurant places high value on uncompromising cleaniness and hygiene. We get regular and unannounced inspections by the food inspector from Bangkok.

I would like to contact you to arrange an investigation of the causes for your bad experience. Please contact us by email to info@sunsetphuket.com

Thank you very much in advance.

Sincerely yours
Worapol Ungtrakul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at The Sunset Beach Resort. The room was comfortable with a great view of the beach. The pool is amazing. Friendly staff made us feel welcome and the buffet breakfast was delicious. The free transfers to and from Bungla Road made our stay even better. We will return to this great resort in April 2014 and simply cannot wait!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good little hotel and value for money, staff where a bit serious at times which came across as rudeness but we don't believe they where. Rooms ok can't complain. Breakfast wasn't extensive but was fresh and tasted nice. They have a shuttle service which always was late.wifi can be hit and miss but give it 8/10. The very best thing that came out of this stay here was the lady in the lane way between the two parts of the hotel, her name is Bew and her little shop is called Sukij tours. She will go out of her way to make sure you have a fantastic time, she goes well beyond what is expected and her prices are very realistic. I would travel from other parts of patong just to have her organise our tours. Besides she is probably be the nicest lady you will find in phuket.
Pleasant stay Darren Wilton

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiltond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is out of the hassle of town wich is nice. The pool is great. The rooms smell old, the bedding is not fresh and the towels had holes in them. Breakfast weren't great either as half of the food were always finished for long times and they were always short on cutlery and crockery. The pool towels were old and washed out. Cheap hotel and you don't get what you paid for. I will definitely not recommend it.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 69Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear 69Ria,

Thank you that you so honestly told us your perceptions. We are constantly working on the highest quality of service. The breakfast served is new and fresh. All of the bedding and towels have been changed to the new one already.

Sincerely yours
Worapol Ungtrakul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 329 in Patong
1,773 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#43 of 329 in Patong
521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#107 of 329 in Patong
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 329 in Patong
755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#27 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £28 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing