We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be happier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #49 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not be happier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

Where do I start. This trip was to celebrate my younger sister's 40th birthday. There were 5 of us. Mum, 2 sisters, me and my teenage daughters, so we had all age groups covered.

Good things;
Value for money. Our American breakfasts were included in our package but we found that our evening meals in the resort were best value for money and health wise - the safest.
Service; They were repairing the lift while we were there and Mum couldn't do three flights of stairs so they relocated us for the night and comp'd an evening meal for the 5 of us.
Facilities; Internet access reasonably priced (150 baht p/hr); pool with swim up bar was excellent; shuttle bus into Patong regular and despite initial apprehension, very safe. Sitting around the bar at night, chatting with other Aussies was one of the highlights of the trip; Laundry service was cheap, reliable, well worth the cost. Resort was clean in all areas.
Safety; Felt safe and secure. Nothing stolen. Nothing dodgy added to our bill.
Staff; After a couple of days, they knew who we were and whether we had tea or coffee at breakfast. Very personalised. Loved it.
Other Guests; Mainly couples on their 3rd or 4th visit or Aussie families. The repeat business says it all.
The View; Its not called Sunset Beach Resort for nothing. Each evening, we would sit and watch the sun set over the horizon. Outstanding.

Bad things;
the towels in the bathroom. How petty does that sound??? But they were grey, thin and tired.

Overall;
Was a wonderful experience we cant wait to repeat.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Resort is getting tired.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    385
    172
    44
    45
See reviews for
208
406
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant 10 days at Sunset Beach Resort. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite with pool view and the only complaint we could manage was the beds. We like a soft bed and found the beds to be too hard for our liking - which is typical of every hotel we have used throughout Asia.
The pool was great, the staff friendly and eager to help, the free massage excellent, the included breakfast great and the bar and restaurant a very good value.
Mister Sam (travel agent), the corner shop and laundry just around the corner all provided excellent services at prices that could not be bettered any where in town. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the location and the free shuttle to town was reliable and appreciated.

  • Liked — Junior suite provided more functionality than we could use.
  • Disliked — Beds very firm.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

My wife and I with our 10 yo stayed in the Junior suite which has separate bedroom with a kitchen lounge. The room was a bit tired but clean and very comfortable and would rate 3.5 star easily in AUS. The best features of this Hotel are the Restaurant and Bar which are great value and very convenient (Pad Thai 90 bht, beer 55 bht). We had American Breakfast included which was great everyday. The cost to us was 79 AUD per night but I had a look at the deluxe rooms and they are even better value with b'fst only 45 AUD.

The Hotel provides a shuttle to Patong every hour so is very convenient to go for dinner or shopping, even though a tuk tuk is only150 bht for the trip.

Not bad surfing across the road, would suguest taking a board, NSP had a round whilst we stayed so they must have consistantly good surf on Kamila beach.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff, great food and great value
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brad067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We had a group of 6 of us stay, it was an awesome time. Close enough to walk into town or catch the free shuttle. Though when you wanted to relax you were just far enough away from the hussle and bussle. Meals were great we ate at the hotel most nights. Down the back alley to your right is a excellent travel agent called Mister Sam gave us brilliant prices on all our tours and nightly shows, eg. Monday night main muaithai fight VIP pass and pick up and drop off at sunset beach resort 1100 baht. Best prices in town!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and Bar at the pool
  • Disliked — Bed was a little harder than what I am used too
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

we stayed at the sunset beach resort for eight nights as we had stayed there before we thought it would be nice to go back to the same hotel, the hotel is nice the pool is lovely , and that is where it ends we had money stolen from our room, we admit we were stupid to not have put everything in the safe but we only went down to have breakfast and left the backpack with a 50 dollar note and five thousand bht in it ,it wasnt out in full veiw we put it in the back of the wardrobe but when we finished breakfast and went back to the room two thousand bht plus the 50 dollar note had gone, they didnt take all of the money , maybe in the hope we wouldnt notice two thousand bht notes and the 50 from the zip part at the back, and we more than likely wouldnt have exept for the fact we had counted it before we left as we were about to book a trip, so i just wonder how many other people have had money taken and just thought they had spent to much the day before. we did report it to management but they didnt do anything.Well we really learnt a dear lesson, but we will not be staying there again ,its not much money its the trust.

  • Liked — the balconies
  • Disliked — cleaning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank judyandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We booked with plane/hotel group fare.

Their pictures on the internet are not as good as what is really there. However, it was pretty nice! The breeze directly from the ocean during a huge Western breakfast was excellent! The blue water, the unobstructed view....really great. The hotel pool was Ok. The rooms were bigger than I expected, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Don't take anything from the refrigerator, too expensive.

A 2 lane road runs in front of the hotel, you can always grab a taxi. The hotel offers a 3 ring binder for optional tours, they seem to provide a lot, don't know the cost. Hotel is not completely isolated. Away from heavy traffic, but fairly close to shopping areas, restaurants etc. But they are not within walking distance. You can rent a scooter at the hotel, and burn around where ever you want.

Hotel was clean, quiet, and the view was great. Out of 5 stars, it was probably a 3.5 star hotel, not awesome, not a dump. I would go back again.

  • Liked — Quiet but still has a lively amount of traffic to make it accessable to and from destinations
  • Disliked — Refrigerator items, and things from hotel store way over priced. No convenient store to by what you need.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deezChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi - Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

Must stay place...Rooms really amazing..place to rock....Spa...
outclass...hospitality superb...loved the live music everyday..the most delicious coconuts they have...room view to the pool which have Coconut trees in between....

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — The pick and drop VAN
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Khizerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#56 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#47 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#79 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing