We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 4 May 2014

my friend and I spent 6 nights at this hotel 22-28 Sep 2013. We did not have a great experience at this hotel at all. Most of the staff cant communicate in English and as a result were irritable with us from the day we checked in. We complain about the staff and their attitude but nothing was done about it. Because we had already made so many plans in Phuket we stayed at the hotel just to sleep and return as late as possible.
Our room was facing the pool-which does tend to get noisy. The room itself was not bad it had its own kitchen & balcony (but the views are not that great)
Breakfast-we hardly ate breakfast we managed on toast, jam and tea-the rest of the food is greasy, and not that well prepared.

wouldn't return to this place ever.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just come back from a wonderful 10 day stay at Sunset Beach. Excellent budget hotel with all the facilities required for a comfortable and enjoyable holiday.

Nice: Close to Patong but not in the crowds. Free shuttle service every 30 minutes. Sea views. Friendly staff, especially Mea in the breakfast area. Excellent facilities. Internet. Nice spacious rooms with direct pool access. Evening entertainment. (Even Afrikaans songs!)

Not so nice: Daily cleaning service not up to standard

Verdict: Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms - 2011 to 2014 with direct pool access and no sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We took each other over for our birthdays. The hotel is enough as you hardly spend time there, it has a lovely pool, great staff and service, but the gym is a no, no! All in all we had great food & experiences. Thank you

Room Tip: Sea facing as the one room that faces the mountain has generators underneath it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackyDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose this Hotel as it was just out of town and away from the hustle and bustle, this was also away from most of the kid oriented hotels as well, but was still within walking distance to the shops with Tuk tuks at the door. While there were kids at the resort there was not too many to be off putting. We had a top floor balcony room that over looked the pool it was magical and the view was out over the beach so we got the sunsets, there were two pool bars and a bar out the front, buffet breakfast was ok and a good selection, other meals were had in town. We did get sick but debated where we had got sick from the hotel was great and gave us some potion that settled our tummys. Our mini bar was charged by the housekeepers but the hotel did not question this. A/C worked when you placed the key tag in the slot, so we removed this from the key to keep our A/C going when we weren't there :)We will go back.

Room Tip: Views were best from the end rooms (East), the higher you were the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321Karlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

For what you pay it's a pretty good deal but if you're planning on staying for more than 3 nights and are the type to just relax and not do anything then maybe look somewhere else. The pool was nice and the food was good as well as fair prices but the room we stayed in didn't have dry air conditioning so our bed was damp and the floors were wet so it was pretty uncomfortable. Otherwise, it was ok.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steph_g_a10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Having a lovely stay here, leave on Monday, lovely room, air con works well, pool is awesome, staff are friendly, room service is good. The bad thing about this place is the FOOD! The breakfast buffet is cold, the food from the restaurant is cold! I don't Appreciate getting served cold chicken!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmanager, General Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sophie F,


Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Resort on Tripadvisor.
I would like to apologise for the incident described. My team had discussed to fix this problem ensure the best service to our guests.

Best Regards,
Worapol Ungtrakul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Would come back again was here for 3 weeks. Free wifi. Free breakfast. Staff friendly. Stayed in room 4404 comfortable aircon worked well. Never got sick from food ever.
Ate from food stalls across the road at night and was never sick, a special mention to banana & egg pancake man yummo 40B and the fruit shakes 60B my hubby ate the smoked fish 120B awesome night feeds.
Mr Sam down the alley from the hotel for excellent tour prices half the prices then hotel.
Free bus into town every half hour was great.

Stayed: April 2014
7  Thank MyTwinsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.8 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#9 of 331 in Patong
1,813 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#89 of 331 in Patong
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#30 of 331 in Patong
768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#110 of 331 in Patong
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2, Phrabarami Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £26 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing