We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're on a budget, it's a really nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #52 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you're on a budget, it's a really nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. Was a comfortable stay.

Positives : FREE shuttle bus to Bangla Road; Air conditioning; Friendly staff; Nice comfortable bed to sleep in; Good breakfast

Negatives : Cleaning service is not so great - they can really do better, like making sure that rubbish from the bin is taken out; The hotel is a bit dated and it is starting to show...

All in all, I was happy. Would go back but might just try other hotels when I'm back in Patong.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool facing room but away from the waterfalls :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPTpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    396
    178
    46
    45
See reviews for
216
413
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel was sold as a quiet paradise away from the hustle and bustle of Patong... This was a lie!

This hotel which looks more like a motel is located right next to an open field with vagrants just outside.

5 minutes after checking in I was bit by something whilst lying in bed!

The hotel is outdated, dirty and not maintained. The staff battled communicating in English.

We decided to head to the bar where prostitutes were sitting at the bar and plaiting their hair.

45 minutes at this sham of a hotel was enough before we transferred to another hotel!!

Perfect place to ruin a holiday! Only positive was the gorgeous sunset from the bar...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lungi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spend 4 nights here and we had a lovely stay. This hotel is out of the hustle and bustle of Patong but also close enough to enjoy the night life of Patong. A BIG plus is the free shuttle service from 9am to 9pm from the hotel to Bangla Road every 30 min.

The pool area was lovely to just relax at after a long day out. Room was clean and spacious.

The breakfast buffet was good. This is a nice budget hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sunset Beach resort is a great place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, across the road from the beach. The staff are friendly, free shuttle service, just one thing I was disappointed in was the Gym, machines are out of order only one air conditioner is working, the exercise bike is rusted and dangerous. Would highly recommend the rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethelife77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

my friend and I spent 6 nights at this hotel 22-28 Sep 2013. We did not have a great experience at this hotel at all. Most of the staff cant communicate in English and as a result were irritable with us from the day we checked in. We complain about the staff and their attitude but nothing was done about it. Because we had already made so many plans in Phuket we stayed at the hotel just to sleep and return as late as possible.
Our room was facing the pool-which does tend to get noisy. The room itself was not bad it had its own kitchen & balcony (but the views are not that great)
Breakfast-we hardly ate breakfast we managed on toast, jam and tea-the rest of the food is greasy, and not that well prepared.

wouldn't return to this place ever.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroonstad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just come back from a wonderful 10 day stay at Sunset Beach. Excellent budget hotel with all the facilities required for a comfortable and enjoyable holiday.

Nice: Close to Patong but not in the crowds. Free shuttle service every 30 minutes. Sea views. Friendly staff, especially Mea in the breakfast area. Excellent facilities. Internet. Nice spacious rooms with direct pool access. Evening entertainment. (Even Afrikaans songs!)

Not so nice: Daily cleaning service not up to standard

Verdict: Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms - 2011 to 2014 with direct pool access and no sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
261 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We took each other over for our birthdays. The hotel is enough as you hardly spend time there, it has a lovely pool, great staff and service, but the gym is a no, no! All in all we had great food & experiences. Thank you

Room Tip: Sea facing as the one room that faces the mountain has generators underneath it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackyDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 322 in Patong
1,606 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#54 of 322 in Patong
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#30 of 322 in Patong
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#77 of 322 in Patong
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing