We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard 18-30's!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High standard 18-30's!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

Myself and my partner, (who despite the opening comment are not remotely old yet) stayed at the Sunset Beach Hotel in Patong for one night in November.... one night was enough unfortunately.

We had originally booked for 6 nights for our 'lively part' of our Thailand trip after staying 4 nights at the amazing and highly recommended Indigo Pearl at Nai Yang Beach- which was the relaxing part of our trip.

Although it was supposed to be the 'lively part' we did expect some opportunities to enjoy the very nice pool-(as depicted in all the promo pics) and have opportunity to have views of sunset beach? Unfortunately not, as previously mentioned the pool being the main attraction of the hotel was under heavy construction with so little space left to relax by that it was impossible to accomodate a fraction of the guests.

Again as said previously the ocean view rooms were by not even close, even after being ungraded to a suite the view was of other rooms and roof tops. The air conditioning only worked when in the room (key operated) therefore after the long walk through the dirty corridors and stairs to finally reach a roasting hot room trapped in the 70's with a dirty bathroom and rediculously hard bed, we were no longer in a chilled out holiday mood.

Patong itself is over rated, sex, 'ping pong', dirt and drinking..... an eye opening night out but definately not a place to stay... obviously unless thats all you are after and you cannot find a table tennis partner anywhere else. It appears a high end 18-30's venue, yet still quite pricey.

All in all, we felt for the price it was not good value, so we packed up and booked back into the Indigo pearl for our last 5 nights, you really should check it out!!

To be really petty it should be renamed sunset shingle.....

  • Liked — Half hourly shuttle bus- only positive.
  • Disliked — The bed.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    385
    172
    44
    45
See reviews for
208
406
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

We had booked this hotel for 2 weeks starting October 23rd, 2008. Having read the good reviews of the hotel, we we're looking forward to a pleasant stay at Sunset Beach Resort.
Overall it is an ok hotel, but it is "cramped" together and the pool area is very narrow letting in only little fresh air on warm days.

The pool: We were two families travelling with 4 kids, so obviously we were expecting to spend time at the pool. But little did we know - the pool was under construction, and the middle section of the pool was a construction site with approxemately 20 people working on removing tiles. The noise was awful.

The room: We had booked a junior suite and were expecting nice views of the pool or the sea, as described to us beforehand. However, one family was looking directly into the end of one building, and the other family (mine) was overlooking the top of that same building looking at the aircondition boxes on the roof. The noise was horrible. We asked to be moved, and the next day we moved into another junior suite overlooking the pool.... that is, overlooking the construction site in the pool.

The restaurant: Was good. Prices were low and the food very good with a variety of dishes from Thailand and western countries. Breakfast buffet ok.

The staff: Was friendly, but not so "awake" and alert. As we arrived they asked us to wait in the reception area for our rooms to be ready for us. They would bring us a drink, but apparently forgot about it.. In the restaurant they were rather slow to bring you coffee, clear the tables and be present and visible.

The location: Nice to be away from Patong, which is not really a nice area if you are travelling with kids. Too much noise, smell, sex, drugs and rock'n roll. But there weren't really any places to go around the hotel. You need a tuktuk to go anywhere.

After 4 days we asked our travel agent to be moved to another hotel. They moved us to Duangjitt Resort in South Patong. Amazing place - with 36 acres of land - 3 beautiful pools, extremely friendly staff, wonderful clean rooms, a very luxurious Spa area, and flowers, birds singing and quiet and only 300 m to the beach. ... Go there instead !

  • Liked — Spacious junior suite. Restaurant was good.
  • Disliked — Pool under construction! Slow staff. Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

I dunno what Resort the previous people were reviewing but they musn't have stayed at Sunset when we did.
- Our room was an Ocean View room and lucky for us it was. They were doing renovations to the pool and according to other guests they were chipping away from 9am-9pm, tap tap tap! Instead of using jack hammers cos apparently the jack hammers would be too loud. I don't think they could have been worse than the annoying tapping that would've driven me nuts if we had a pool room. It ruined many peoples hols.
- The "Ocean View" was blocked by a tree and we were on the 3rd floor.
- The Bathroom was very nice and the shower was big but it was ruined by the mould all over the shower floor.
- The bed was 2 singles pushed together. It was extremely hard and uncomfortable as you had the part down the middle of the bed. So my partner and I slept on opposite sides of the bed. Ok if you don't want to snuggle!
- Our room was not made up on a couple of occasions. We had left about 8 or 9am and returned by 3 or 4pm and the room was still not made up despite having the 'Please Make My room' sign on.
- The floor in the hallway was absolutely disgusting and looks as though it has never been mopped. The same marks were on the floor when we arrived and were still there when we left after our 7 night stay.
- The staff were friendly but some of the wait staff in the restaurant don't write your order down and insist on trying to remember your order. So no surprise when we didn't get what we ordered.
- The food while lovely at the time gave both my partner and I food poisoning at seperate times. After I got sick I wasn't sure if it was the hotel food but when my partner got sick a couple of days later we were reassured it was the hotel food and then it was confirmed as we spoke to other hotel guests who also got sick. I think it was the NZ beef that made me sick. Other guests were sick after finding out their poached eggs were being cooked in the same water as they were boiling eggs in.
- I don't recommend using the tour desk in the hotel as you can pay less than half the price they offer if you book in Patong somewhere.
- The Sauna was broken and didn't work.
- The towels were all old, frayed and discoloured. Way overdue for new ones.
- The day spa was overpriced as you would expect in a resort. I had a Manicure and Pedicure at the Resort day spa when I first arrived and it cost 350bht and it was worse than amateur. They used cold water only to soak my hands and feet. They rushed through it and didn't even shape my nails properly or use a base or top coat. I was there for about 15mins.
But there was a little place down the back lane called Kalim Beach Massage. I had a Thai Massage, Manacure & Pedicure for 500bht. I was there for over 2 hours. At Kalim Beach massage they did an awesome job and the lady that did my nails was very good and spent time getting it right.
-There was no information in the room on the resort or its facilities as you would expect to find. We didn't know about the laundry room, day spa, gym or towel hire till we spoke to other guests or found it while exploring ourselves.
The only good thing was the shuttle into town ever half hour. It was very convenient.
Overall we didn't enjoy our stay and I regret not going with another resort instead. I wouldn't stay here again!

  • Liked — Free Shuttle Bus
  • Disliked — Disgustingly unclean and noisy.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

I have just returned from 17 nights at the Sunset Beach Resort with 5 members of my family. We were given rooms in the front building, (the main building being set back further from the beach, surrounding the huge pool). 2 rooms were sea view and one faced the rear and overlooked the alley. Oh, well. We were not there to spend our time in the room anyway so the view was not that important. The ocean front rooms had their view spoiled by the vast number of communication cables strung from every pole in Thailand. (If you have been there you would know what i mean)The 2nd and 3rd floors would not be as bad as they are above the level of these wires. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but i would have preferred a softer pillow. It was probably mine for the asking but i didn't want to seem like a spoiled westerner. The buffet breakfast (supplied in our package) was fantastic. Great choice of cooked and uncooked foods including omelets made on the spot with your choice of filling. The menu for lunch/dinner was in my view, fairly comprehensive. A choice of both Thai and Western food/wine at reasonable prices. A bar at the very front of the resort was staffed by very friendly locals and the prices were on par with most places we "refreshed" at during our stay. Bars were also available in and beside the pool.Internet facilities were available, although the service was not especially reliable, and prone to drop-outs. The resort laundry was poor. Only one front load washer and one dryer available. I think this was probably due to the fact that a couple of laundries were next to the resort and were cheaper than the washing machines in the resort anyway. Use these Laundries. Your clothes will be properly dried which cannot be guaranteed even after leaving them outside on a rack for several days. (the humidity) The gym was ok, and in house massage service good. A free transport service that runs to/from Bangla Rd every 30mins till 9pm is very handy. If you miss this ute dont worry as the ever present Tuk Tuk is always out front of the resort for a fair price. You can even negotiate with them for an all day tour selected from a "menu" they always carry.

I would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Great staff. Good food.
  • Disliked — View spoiled by communication cables.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DingShepparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed here for 10 nights and found it to be lovely. The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff friendly and the pool wonderful. We had a room that overlooked the pool and it was in a good position to get the breeze in the evening.
The breakfast wa faultless and we couldnt ask for anything more.
The fact that the hotel was at the top end of Patong was actually a bonus for us, central but just a bit out so it was quieter.
Everything was easily accessible, there are always tuk tuks outside to take you where ever you want to go. There was also a small 7 Eleven shop a couple of doors down to get bits and pieces.
Only issue was they ran out of pool towels and we had to get in quick in the morning otherwise we had to use out bath towels.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — running out of pool towels
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank convict79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

My partner and I stayed for 6 nights @ Sunset Beach in July this year and had a lovely stay.

The room was spacious and neat, cleaned daily, the bed comfy and the bathroom was also roomy. The pool area was quite nice although the photos on the website and brochures were a little deceiving as to the size of the pool! It was still a nice area to relax in, with the bar, swim up bar & restaurant area close to hand. The food at the restaurant was lovely, buffet breakfast was great and even the mini bar prices were reasonable.

The shuttle into Bang La Road was very handy, although at the peak times 6-7pm we did have to catch a tuk tuk into town as the shuttle was full. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

It was a nice, quiet place to stay for a very reasonable rate.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KJB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

Where do I start. This trip was to celebrate my younger sister's 40th birthday. There were 5 of us. Mum, 2 sisters, me and my teenage daughters, so we had all age groups covered.

Good things;
Value for money. Our American breakfasts were included in our package but we found that our evening meals in the resort were best value for money and health wise - the safest.
Service; They were repairing the lift while we were there and Mum couldn't do three flights of stairs so they relocated us for the night and comp'd an evening meal for the 5 of us.
Facilities; Internet access reasonably priced (150 baht p/hr); pool with swim up bar was excellent; shuttle bus into Patong regular and despite initial apprehension, very safe. Sitting around the bar at night, chatting with other Aussies was one of the highlights of the trip; Laundry service was cheap, reliable, well worth the cost. Resort was clean in all areas.
Safety; Felt safe and secure. Nothing stolen. Nothing dodgy added to our bill.
Staff; After a couple of days, they knew who we were and whether we had tea or coffee at breakfast. Very personalised. Loved it.
Other Guests; Mainly couples on their 3rd or 4th visit or Aussie families. The repeat business says it all.
The View; Its not called Sunset Beach Resort for nothing. Each evening, we would sit and watch the sun set over the horizon. Outstanding.

Bad things;
the towels in the bathroom. How petty does that sound??? But they were grey, thin and tired.

Overall;
Was a wonderful experience we cant wait to repeat.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Resort is getting tired.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#50 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#76 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#29 Spa Hotel in Patong
#35 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing