We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #52 of 322 Hotels in Patong
victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very helpful”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Had a Great stay with 2 Daughters Booked sea view but when we arrived asked if we could be moved to pool area much better. The staff where very helpful with this and manged to give us 2 rooms beside each other. Had a great stay with no problems not luxurious but very comfortable

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    402
    179
    47
    46
See reviews for
219
419
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We are a family with teenagers and stayed 4 nights. Pool was tops, room was average, breakfast was good and location was fine (free shuttle to patong).

We had been in country over 2 weeks and the staff were not as friendly and helpful as what we had encountered. (There is one girl at breakfast who just could not smile.)

The downer was that my wife broke a bone in her foot as a result of a fall in the pool area. (Yeah she was sober). Patong hospital and a plaster cast with crutchers. I reported the incident to reception and they didn't wont a bar of it. I asked was there any OH&S paperwork to fill out. Not. No care factor at all. On check out they even tried to sting us an extra 500baht for a missing directory from our room.

Please don't judge Patong with the rest of Thailand. Thailand is a hassel free, friendly country. Patong is full on and in your face.

Sunset is a big turn over, low care factor resort that fits well with travel agents in Aust. If you would like something special and more Thai check out others.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyoffore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We staed at the Sunset Resort for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and the service was very good. Apart from the manu which offers a good selection of meals at a great price. each afternoon I had magnificent oysters which cost 45 THB. Combine this with excellent value beverages and the day was complete. We stayed in the main building and althoughh the view was obstucted by a multitude of power lines, the entertainment of locals, dogs and tourists on the rocky beachfront was enjoyable. Daily bottled water and the transport down to the town every 30 minutes added to the charm of the hotel. Although the bathroom was clean it was not cleaned fastiduosly. 10 minutes with hot soapy water fixed that and at the price it was great value.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and quality and value of the meals
  • Disliked — The view of the beach through the multitude of power lines
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crackles008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort for our honeymoon in nov after reading many good reviews about this hotel.
We stayed in a junior suite which on second thoughts really wasnt worth it,a superior room would of been fine.The room itself was quiet ok ,it took a bit of getting to with a lift and an extra flight of stairs.It had quiet a large balcony which had no roof ,so it was impossible to sit out there during the day due to the heat.The room had only a few pots and pans,no knives or forks,1 plate,2 cups which is a bit poor for a self contained unit.The room serviced never replaced things either .We had to constantly call up for new toilet paper,towels,straws etc etc

The breakfast was a hot buffet type which was nothing flash but ok,the thai meals in the restaurant where as good as anything we tasted anywhere else and the set menu meals each night are great value!

THE POOL was undergoing re-tiling at one end ,they were people working on it everyday tap -tapping away but in all honesty it never really bothered us (maybe due to our room being so high up?)We spend all our time at the beach anyway !

The bad points#####

For 2 or 3 nights young (teenagers) were drinking screaming and carrying on till all hours of the night in the pool .I am not a wowser (im only 32) but it was a bit over the top at 3am when people were trying to sleep .I rang hotel reception (as im sure many people did before i did) to complain and they said they would sort it out but nothing happened.I had to go down and tell them myself!!

Be careful of the lady that hires out the bikes through the hotel!!!
On our 2nd day with the bike i noticed a buckle in the rim and a lump in the tyre .The next morning i brought it to her attention and explained i am honest but i didnt do it but it needed to be fixed.she said ok and took it to get fixed.that evening she returned with the bike and said i owed her 500baht for the damage.i told her again i didnt do it and refused to pay it and asked for my money back for the following 8 days.she refunded me my money.It wasnt the money it was the point of it !! i went behind the hotel to another place and hired the same bike for a cheaper price and didnt have to leave a passport.

MR SAM
i would say shop around for your tours etc etc.We booked james bond island through mister sam and although the tour and guides where excellent the boat left a lot to be desired
We also booked our transfer to phi phi through mister sam .We later got quoted Half the price mr sam gave us for the exact same boat and transfer!! I didnt even bother to ask them what james bond island tour would of cost me due to fear of the realisation i had been ripped off by mr sam !!

I think this hotel is ok but i would shop around next time.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balmainboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2008

I stayed at Sunset Beach Resort from 29 Nov to 5 Dec. No construction site. I guess the pool renovation is finished. The water is crystal clear. The swimming pool is very lovely. The restaurant has nice view. Good food at reasonable price. Lots of facilities. The quiet place to stay away from noises in Patong while they provide free shuttle bus service to center of Patong.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MeliSa345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I am just back from a 3 day stay in this resort and frankly saying I opted for this resort going by the reviews here . However, sorry to say but my stay had been disappointing in this resort. Had it not been for the love of Phuket, I would have preferred to leave the place. Nothing bad much about the rooms or the food (if swimming pool renovation for the whole of Nov and finding no mention in the website doesnt drive u nuts !!!), the factor which really p@##sd me off was the behavior of the Reception staff . Far from polite, they didnt bother to say sorry to me or my wife when I complained to the Staff in charge about the security guard who was rude and asked objectionable questions to my wife. This apart , the room service was far from even decent - old towels ( threads comin out ), leaking AC to name a few . Anyways , apart form this I loved Phuket for the place it is . Would have been much better if I had opted for another resort.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhuketAks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

What a holiday....and what a resort...really happy with the rooms and its service....perfect location on north of Patong Beach which is a very romantic location ....we stayed in a pool view delux room and it was like open ur balcony nd jump out in swimming pool......nice bar located just by the pool side....Interestingly also available free shuttle pic n drop service to patong beach but more interestingly are also available bikes/cars on reasonable rent basis near hotel which made our holiday really exciting....will suggest this hotel to everyone looking for romantic getaway and a hotel by beachside with full on sea view and yet is a value for money resort compared to others....PERFECT ROMANTIC DESTINATION....MUST GO (PHUKET) AND MUST STAY (SUNSET BEACH RESORT).....

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — TOWELS
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank abhishek_narang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#13 of 322 in Patong
1,649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#51 of 322 in Patong
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#30 of 322 in Patong
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing