We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation to the Max!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Would highly recomend this resort. ! far enough away from patong shopping to really relax yet close enough to visit a few times a day. Very clean rooms and facilities and very friendly and helpful staff. Pool and spa faciites operate from 9am to 7pm and the restaurant is open from 6am to 12 pm. Resort Spa offers massaging, body wraps, facials pedicures and manicures. The only problem we found was that you couldn't order a drink from the 3 bars or room service till after 10am which wasn't very helpful for us as at the end of our stay we were both ill and needed water. A tuk-tuk service is offered every 30min into patong and back. The restaurant is very cheap and a good variety of traditional Thai and western foods. All rooms in the Pool section have there own balconys, and come with a clothes drying stand. They have a laundry available, but whilst we were there the washing machines were out of order but could still use the iron when required. Location of this resort is amazing great views through the town and over the surrounding islands

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discoadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

The ute taking you into town every half hour was great,ok to walk tho.kalim Beach massage girls were fantastic.down the lane on the way to minimart.Breakfast buffet and all Meals were very good.Nice and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8suzi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My fiance and I stayed there for 10 days in October 2009. At first glance the hotel doesn't look all that great, but once you're inside it's very different and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room wasn't ready when we got there so we got a self catering apartment for the night but they had our room ready very early the next morning. It was a beautiful room with a pool view. The pool is amazing, the food is great. Especially the daily shuttles that leave every 30 minutes to go into town for free. The breakfast was great, there is a restaurant just up the hill with a great view of the sea at night, forgot the name and their food is amazing.
If you're not scared of riding and want to explore Phuket (not just Patong) I would recommend hiring a bike. We went to places that would have cost us an arm and a leg on a tuk tuk and went to almost all the beaches in Phuket. We saw lots of other hotels in the area but felt that our hotel was the best. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank MandyDladla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at Sunset Beach Resort from the 17th September - 26th September 2010.
This place was a pleasurable stay and we enjoyed every minute of it.
It is not a 5 star hotel but they defiantly treat your like 5 star guests…
We were in a deluxe Seaview room and we loved it. We were lucky enough to have 2 balconies that looked at the ocean as well as the pool.
The room was clean and the bed comfy.
The bathroom was fine and suited us perfectly.
The complimentary water helped especially with the heat and the daily house keeping was great.
The only thing that was bad is that for 10 nights that we were there they did not change the sheets at all, so all those sweaty nights made the bed a bit yucky but then again we did not ask for them to be changed we just lived with it.

I can not tell you how good the service was. Everyone from the cleaners, to bar tenders, to front house staff said good morning with a big smile. They could not do enough to help you.
The room service was great and the guys who delivered your food were awesome so friendly and kind and always apologised if there was a delay in our meal. It was that good that at the end of the trip we tipped one of the guys with a huge amount because we were so happy with his service and friendly face everyday.

The pool was lovely and the pool bar even better.. We spent many hours during happy hour sitting at the pool bar, drinking away in the lovely temperature pool watching a bit of telly as well. The only negative thing is that the pool area closes at 7pm which is a bit of a bummer as it would be nice to have an evening dip but you can’t have it all.

We had breakfast everyday with a huge selection and great tasting food and out of the 10 nights we were there we probably at about 6 nights at the hotel either with room service or in the restaurant. The food was lovely and fresh and reasonable prices.

You are a 20-30 walk from Bang La Road (heart of Phuket), which is a bit sucky but at the same time the hotel shuttle bus is a great added bonus as it saves you money on Tuk Tuks. It comes every half and hour to and from the hotel to Bang La Road. The great thing was that it was also great to leave the hustle and bustle of Bang La Road behind and head back to the hotel, were it was peaceful and relaxing…defiantly an added bonus

Overall the hotel was a pleasant stay and we would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahla1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Sunset Beach Resort is on Kalim Beach, a safe distance north of seedy Patong beach, but close enough to walk into town if you want to get a suit made or book a dive trip. The hotel picked us up from the airport, and upgraded our room. The pool is great, and has both a bar in the pool and one beside it! The buffet breakfast was great too. If you want to stay in this part of town, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed here for 7days and it was so much more than I expected cause of some of the bad reviews. Our room was ready when we arrived at 10h00 in the morning. We stayed in a pool view room, with a stunning view. Didn't see any ants. The room and furniture were great! The staff were all friendly! The b-fast was devine and we only had dinner again at night...so much food! This hotel is really 100% worht staying at! The shuttle is so convenient! You can go 7times a day if you like! The pool is beautiful and you can lounge all day. We had dinner there only 1night and it was great. We are without a doubt going there again! We even tried to extend our stay but we couldn't change our international flights.
The laundry lady around the corner is very cheap and does a good job. Sam on the corner for your island hopping etc. I'll recommend. When you exit the hotel and turn left, the 1st little tour shop you get on the left is also very cheap. Before bying anything, 1st go to the weekend/night market in Phuket town. Bargains galore! The malls has great bargains aswell. Overall this was the best vacation we ever had and we are already making plans to stay here again!
PS: The weather was great and I'll go there again during this low-season period. Maybe we were just lucky but it was only drizzling 1 or 2 times for 10min during the whole period we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicAl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights. Rooms weren't ready when we got there so were upgraded to Royal suite for a night, then our deluxe rooms weren't available, so we were upgraded to Junior suites for rest off our stay. Rooms were clean & liked the water daily for free. Only complaint would be, from our balconies had views over rooftops & out to sea. Also a few of the staff (1 pool, 1 restaurant) weren't as friendly as other staff were. The 1st night we ate at hotel, the food came out cold, we decided to try it later in our trip and enjoyed a really good meal there, price was good too. Loved the shuttle bus. We had our laundry done by a lady who was around the corner from the mini mart.
Pool area was great. Would stay here again, abit out of town but suited us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 328 in Patong
1,740 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#45 of 328 in Patong
515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#98 of 328 in Patong
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 328 in Patong
744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#27 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £27 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing