We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid property, slothful management!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangjitt Resort & Spa
Ranked #87 of 327 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just one-minute walk from Patong Beach (the prime tourist area in Phuket City) and 15 minute walk from Bangla Road (where nightlife comes alive in Phuket), Duangjiit Resort wins brownie points for its central location. Spread over acres of land, this sprawling 4-star property is huge enough to hold 2 wedding receptions simultaneously over its lush-green lawns. With 3 swimming pools, 1 kid playing zone (the mushroom house) and a spa, it has a vintage resort charm.

The rooms for some reason have the same porcelain tiles that one sees only in bathrooms. Each room has a balcony opening to view of the bigger swimming pool. The bath area is pretty small and there’s only a hand shower (no head shower). The reception lobby has free wifi and most foreign tourists seem to spend more time in this area than their rooms. There is a study room which apparently has a good stock of books and several desktops (but the internet here is chargeable).

However despite the merits of its splendid property, the hotel is marred by weak management. Language is a major hindrance and even the front-desk staff’s knowledge of the language is purely functional. This certainly is a limitation for a destination that hosts global tourists. Add to that their attitude was quite lackadaisical. Our check-in time was 2pm and we were still waiting till 3:30pm for our rooms. The room service was equally lax and attended to requests after almost 20-30 minutes. The room drop service in electric cars was spoiled by unwilling bellboys. The breakfast had a good spread but no Indian items on the menu (despite the huge Indian turnout at the hotel) and very scarce options in vegetarian.

It’s very important for every great property to be complemented by an equally efficient management. Alas Duangjiit lacked that balance. But if you can ignore the human err, this serene place is quite divine.

Room Tip: There are cottages behind the reception area but quite cut-off from the lawns. The rooms towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in April, this was our second stay at this resort. The best attraction is the main pool. One of the largest I have seen. The rooms are clean and roomy. The resort is located in an excellent position, close walk to beach, Bangla Rd and Juncylon shopping centre. We stayed here during the water festival. This is must visit time to Thailand. There was 2 days of getting wet and shooting everyone with huge water pistols. Great fun.The only fault we found with the resort this time round, was the pool bar staff. They really need to get some people skills. Overall this is an amazing place to stay and would highly recommend it to anyone. Will return here for sure. A must attraction is Surin Beach. Go spend the day there, it is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Branka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked Duagnjitt through Expedia.in. As per our booking value, we (3 families) were eligible for airpot pickup but after multiple email communication from our side niether hotel nor Expedia helped us and we had to pay for airport commutation. Two of our kids of 4 years each were charged 750 TBH per day though we didn't want to use the bed, although we requested the staff but no good response. We tried reaching their manager (Mrs ArunSri) but all the 3 days she was not accessible and staff kept telling us that she is not well. Even in her absence no senior manager came to address us, after our repetitive requests. While check-in after our continuous requestes, Hotel staff took 3.5 hours to provide us the room keys saying that check in time is 1400 hrs. During this time, we requested multiple a times for water for our children and aged parents but failed to have water also. This shows total rigidness and non co-operative attitude of the hotel management and the entire staff. Please be carefull before booking such terrible staff based resort. We have shared this experience with Expedia, but till date they have not responded.

Room Tip: Be carefull with this terrible staff based resort / hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kapil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Guest Relations Manager at Duangjitt Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear guests

It is sad to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As for your booking, please be informed that your package did not include transfer only room with daily breakfast for totally of 6 adults. But in reality, you showed up with 6 adults plus 2 kids. Therefore the hotel charged for extra 2 person stay just only 750 THB per night including breakfast. Our receptionist did explain this to you , seemingly you did not accept our condition.

As for the transfer, we did not received any record nor e-mail from your travel agent therefore airport pick up was not arranged. During your stay, our Front Office Manager was on leave, however our Assistant Front Office Manager got in charged and she had met you, concisely explained you the detail of booking. We wonder why you mentioned that there was no any manger in charged concerning your inconvenience.

As stated, check-in time is 1400 hrs. Welcome drink coupons given once you process checking at the counter. The coupons used at the lobby bar from 2000-2200 hrs.

We wish you and also other reviewers understand our explanations. Thank you very much in advance for your acknowledgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hi all,

Definitely there are better resort than this one.
1. The water was not clean from the bathroom and tap.
2. The location is very quiet and not accessible
3. The ventilation of the whole place is bad
4. The Service of all the staffs are really bad

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaneshaneTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Guest Relations Manager at Duangjitt Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn that you experience unpleasant stay with us. We wonder which part of our service or facility caused you any uncomfortable stay. We have been thumbed up for being beautiful resort with great atmosphere and its convenient location just short stroll to the beach and entertainment . Could you please advise what your room number was and more detail about your inconveniences during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely quiet hotel,beautifully located....ok staff and the food was good..we arrived before the check in time we requested them for the room as my kids were very tired....n they arranged the room in no time....only issue was free wi fi was available in the lobby only...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhumita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely quiet hotel, I like being away from the road noise etc, the gardens are lovely, the pools are nice however the little pool over the back near dlxe pool rooms is never attended & is a little run down but we often had it all to ourselves. Breakfast was your average buffet pretty much everywhere these days. Beds too hard for my liking. I found staff friendly, however, we did learn hello & thank you in Thai & smiled at them I think this helped. The dlx pool room was huge & so was the bathroom, however, the toilet door practically touched the toilet no room for legs not sure why they did that with such a huge bathroom area. Could do with some improvement like having pool towels available in more than one location (Near main pool). Also the free WiFi is only avail in Lobby so many ppl lounging around 24/7 looks really sloppy & often no where to sit while waiting for tour bus to arrive etc. Could make this avail in a few other locations. Spa expensive but to die for. Location near Patong Merlin so close to everything, 10min walk to Bangla.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLuva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have never felt the need to write a negative review about any service until I stayed in this property. It was not just one problem but a litany of issues related to most aspects of the resort. How this property received any awards is beyond me.

On arrival we had just completed a long and arduous flight with two young children and arrived in the late evening...I asked if we could go to the rooms as the children were asleep and we needed to put them to bed. I said I would come back and sort out the details and the bags. The staff simply ignored the request and kept us waiting for over an hour to check us in.

When we checked out we were kept waiting again for over half an hour (at 5am) over a purportedly missing saucer (which was not missing) and it took the intervention of a manager to sort it out.

On departure my driver did not turn up so I asked the reception staff if they could arrange a taxi. Three of them literally looked at eachother and laughed at me. One of the staff then called a taxi company and said there were none available and then turned and had another laugh about my request. The porter service was no help at all. I had to walk to the street and arrange one myself. This is supposed to be a 4 star resort!!

The property is literally falling apart. Whilst the pool is quite large and lovely in that respect during our stay at least five tiles came off in my hand. The bedhead in our room fell off the wall. The fountains at the entry are dry and seem abandoned. The property is constantly being patched up using cheap temporary measures.

The WIFI is not free as advertised. Further it is very expensive.

The kids club is not free as advertised and is very expensive.

The babysitting service is extortionate. Prepare to spend over US$100 for a staff member to watch two sleeping children for 3 hours.

The property is large and has little shade or cover. If you stay here you will be walking in the blistering sun or pelting rain for at least 100m to get to reception or the restaurant. There are buggies driving around but they are few and rarely stop.

We stayed in 2 connecting deluxe garden rooms and had to walk past what seemed to be an open sewer every morning as they conducted maintenance ... every morning!

One morning I went to the tour desk to ask about a day trip. The advisor barely acknowledged my presence and continued to trim her toenails as she addressed my questions with one word answers whilst focusing on her toes. It was simply disgusting.

This is also supposed to be family friendly..... in the morning there is a constant stream of prostitutes leaving from the night before. Some of the prostitutes also attend the breakfast wearing the same gogo bar gear they arrived in. The hotel is well aware of the practice and profits from it by charging the occupier of the room a fee to allow the prostitute to stay. Why must my children be exposed to this? Why does a family resort allow prostitutes to ply their trade within the property?

The main problem with this place it that the management and staff (with a few exceptions) simply do not care about the guests and lie about the resort to sell rooms.

There are so many other properties in Patong that offer a good service. Indeed any service would be better that what is on offer here.

This is a property best avoided until the management are replaced with a competent team and the buildings are refurbished. It has so much potential but is currently extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dom1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muek, Guest Relations Manager at Duangjitt Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We have learnt with disappointed that we cannot exceed your expectations. We do apologise for inconveniences caused. To improve our service, we are wondering if you can advise us your period of stay and room number for our reference. As for your review on unprofessional behaviour of our staff, we have intensively put them a training class.

Our WIFI is free only at Reception foyer as other hotels in Phuket do, we believe. Kids club is free if children supervised by a parent. Our babysitting sitting service is not free of charge here. 200 THB per an hour is moderate price comparing to another hotels with the same range.

on your arrival, we are not able to allow you check-in earlier as the room was not ready. Our check-in time is 2 PM. ( Only if a room is previously vacant and clean, a room will be released before the check-in time)

As the hotel regulations, we are not allowed guests getting into the room unless they have already finished check-in process at the front desk. Passport(s) and a hotel voucher must be presented at a front desk counter. All guests belonging will be carried by our bell boys to the guest's room. Hence, we are not able to let you go to the room first then come back to Reception to check-in. We have to respect the regulations. We understand that you all fell fatigue due to long haul flight but please understand general regulations of the hotel.

On your departure, we apologise that the check-out process wasn't smooth. We will get your comments to improve our service and especially improve our staff's competency.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and wish to welcome you back on your next trip to Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 327 in Patong
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#45 of 327 in Patong
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangjitt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangjitt Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#32 Family Hotel in Patong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#39 Spa Hotel in Patong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £24 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangjitt Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duangjitt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duangjitt Hotel Patong
Duangjitt Hotel Kathu
Duangjitt Resort Kathu
Duangjitt Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing