We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nicely kept but let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duangjitt Resort & Spa
Ranked #88 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I stayed at Duangjitt for 1 week. The resort is located at the end of Patong Beach and is situated in a great location not too far from the main shops/restaurants. We took a metered taxi to the hotel from the airport and the fare cost us 450 Baht. I stayed in a Villa room which was situated not far from the front of the hotel. Checkin was pretty quick and we were given fruit drinks upon our arrival. The room itself was a good size and nicely decorated however there were a few problems with it. First the toilet and shower shared the same floor space so whenever you had a shower it would wet the toilet and the floor so the toilet would be wet and the floor would be flooded so you would need to make sure you went to the toilet without shoes/socks. The other problem was the room had no fly screens so for the first 2 nights we were bitten alive by mosquitoes. The mosquitoes I believe were coming in due to the water on the bathroom floor and the pond out the front of the Villa. I made a complaint about the mosquito problem to reception and was told 'Whats your point' as though I should put up with it. The hotel ended up agreeing to spray the room nightly. The grounds of the hotel were immacutely kept and their were 3 pools to choose from. 1 small pool at the front of the hotel. A slightly larger one in the middle and a huge one at the back which we spent most of our time. The pools closed at 6pm which we thought was too early and were not lit up at night despite the heat. The other dissapointment was the spa in the large pool was switched off and the only option for a spa was too pay for one at the hotels spa complex which was too costly for us. Service around the pool was also very poor. There were about 5 staff that looked like they were meant to be looking after guests at the pool however only twice did anyone leave the bar area to walk around the pool to look after guests. Of these 2 times, 1 of them we had to demand they come back with a food menu for service. On checkout we were left sitting wondering what they were doing only to wait 10 minutes before someone said that it was ok to check us out. Overall the hotel is in a great location, has beautiful surrounding and if you dont expect too much service you should have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittycatOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here for 14 nights in August. In our opinion the value is excellent. Having booked in a garden view room, we were on arrival allocated a deluxe pool view room. This was great with all we could want. It was close to the pool, reception, restaurant and the entrance driveway. The staff were excellent - a hint - treat them like people not servants/slaves and they respond 10 fold.
Our only complaint was with the breakfast restaurant - the nice area is outside, but so often the meal was spoiled by filthy smokers lighting up near by. The sooner this foul practice is banned in all eating areas (as is it is most of the world) the better. The best option would be a small totally enclosed room at the far end of the garden where these ignorant people can poison themselves and not us normal people,
That aside after many trips to Phuket, this is our preferred destination from now on.
Its easy walk to the restaurants, entertainment area, markets/bars almost outside the gate and peace and quiet inside. We ate in the restaurant 3 nights - nothing flash but adequate.
The highlight was the on premises Spa. A massage session better than any other my wife had elsewhere in Phuket ( she tried 3 others) and very reasonable rates.
We liked the fact that there were 3 good pools. The big one was the busiest (mainly occupied by non english speakers) with the other two much quieter. The garden and landscaped grounds are a delight and provide colour and shade as required.
I understand it is Thai owned and this shows with not as much of the factory style operation the big international chain hotels offer - mure of the classic thai style gentleness.
We'll certainly be back and soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realkiwi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed here 2006 (10 nights) and 2009 (18 nights) not disapointed at all.There was a small hic up as they put us into the garden wing but we had paid for Delux bungalow it all got sorted out, not sure who was to blame but did not let it mar our stay.
From the pool staff to breakfast staff all were vey nice. Breakfast selection is huge.
The hotel is on 36? acres so be prepared to walk, the grounds are beautiful.
It was very busy compared to 2006, the pool opening hours 9am-6pm however some guests stayed past this time at the bar pool with loud music.
The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong very peacful indeed.
We hired a scooter, its the best way to get around we even ventured over Patong hill!!
Stayed one night on PP Don at the PP Casita only stay there if you are under 30! Phi Phi island for the young and backpacker.
Next time i would like to stay in a "suite" at the Duangjitt as they face onto the small pool more peacful than the middle or big pool.
The only negative thing, the floor in the bungalow is very slippery and it does not need to be wet!
Great fish and chips from the oceanside plaza fish and chip shop, he also organised our scooter hassle free!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This resort can not be faulted. Amazing well maintained garden setting. The rooms are big with great views. The staff are very friendly and the food great. A bit of a long walk to the front office and the restaurant but we soon got use to that. The lighting in the room could be improved otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I was very impressed with this hotel overall. Our room was very clean and nice. The grounds were amazing and the groundsmen work on them continuously in order to keep them looking beautiful. The pool we went to most is huge and very clean.
We had breakfast in the hotel everyday and it was nice. I had read negative reviews on here about the breakfast that had worried me but I found to to be fine. I think any complaints about breakfast would be from people looking for a full English breakfast which you won't get. However there is lots of nice fruit, cereal, toast etc and fresh omelettes and Asian breakfast. The room service food is also good and very reasonable.
I used the gym while staying at the hotel which is good. I also had a modern Thai massage in the Spa. The massage was great and the Spa is beautiful. It is more expensive than you would pay in the streets but I think it was worth it. The girls who work there are very professional and it was a lovely experience overall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I highly recommend this amazing resort. I stayed there for 2 nights earlier this week with my family, which includes 2 young kids and we all loved it.
We stayed in one of their deluxe pool view rooms and it was excellent. They have 3 pools one of which is officially the biggest resort pool in Phuket.
The service provided by the resort is faultless, we found staff to be very warm, welcoming and always helpful. Staff were very good with kids which was very important to us and i'm sure anyone else intending to travel with young family.
Absolutely loved the buffet breakfast and pretty much all meals from their menus, from having sandwiches poolside to having dinner at their restaurant.
But the biggest highlight for me was getting a massage at the resorts own spa and massage centre. It was just amazing and definetly a must do if you staying there.
I also loved the location of the place, because you could just go out for a short walk to do some shopping around or for a walk down the beach and when you're done and return it feels like you walking back into paradise.
I can go on for ever. Overall i recommend this place very highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbellido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The hotel was very nice. There were 3 swimming pools; one big, one midsize and one quite small. The two bigger pools were more crowded. The water was nicely warm in all of the pools.

The hotel area was large and beautiful, and in the evening when it was dark the yard looked very nice. The only problem were the mosquitos - remember to buy some insecticide because you're going to need it!

The breakfast was quite enormous but it stayed pretty much the same everyday. I got bored of it after one week, but my spouse enjoyed it the whole two weeks. Other foods (lunch, dinner etc) were expensive and the drinks at the pool bars were very expensive also. It was forbidden to bring own drinks to the pool area. New clean towels were given by a pool guy everyday and it was ok to take those towels to the beach also.

The staff was friendly and they upgraded our room to a honeymoonsuite(!) because normal rooms were overbooked. The cleaner ladies were friendly, but they didn't always empty our trashcans etc, and one time they forgot to lock our outdoor after the cleaning.

The location was good for us because we wanted some privacy after busy days in Patong Beach. The beach was 10 min walk away and the main street "Bangla Road" about 15-20 min walk away. There were tuktuk's everywhere and it cost 200-300 bahts to take a tuktuk from the hotel to Bangla Road.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#7 of 331 in Patong
1,713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#33 of 331 in Patong
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
1 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangjitt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangjitt Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#27 Family Hotel in Patong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#40 Spa Hotel in Patong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £68 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangjitt Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duangjitt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duangjitt Hotel Patong
Duangjitt Hotel Kathu
Duangjitt Resort Kathu
Duangjitt Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing