We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money - would stay there again!”
Review of Baan Boa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Boa Resort
Ranked #128 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Located on the quiet southern end of Patong Beach. Excellent value for the money we paid. (low season prices). Booking through Agoda was easy and stress free. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean and spacious. All rooms either overlook the swimming pool or beach. Restaurant has good meals at very reasonable prices. Breakfast (free) was adequate - coffee, tea, juice, fruit, bread, jams, rice soup, bacon, eggs, sausages. Nice pool with safe children's pool and open spa. Also has a few stools in water to sit on while enjoying a drink. Wireless internet available at very resonable prices. 7/11 store next door as well as a small Irish Bar with a pool table and cheap laundry service on the other side. Short walk along the beach front to main nightlife area - Bangla Road. Along the beach front, would recommend the Coyote Restaurant. La Dolce Vita (near Mercure Hotel) on the back road is an excellent Italian Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennySeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2009

The location of the Baan Boa "resort" is excellent. Right on the beach, and a reasonable walk to everything Patong beach has to offer.

We stayed during low season, but despite the rates advertised on the hotel's website, we were made to pay a higher price. The hotel was at about 10% occupancy.

Most of the staff were helpful, and smiling. There is a tailor shop attached to the hotel, so expect to be accosted every single time you enter or leave the hotel, and asked if you would like to buy a suit or shirt. This can be annoying after some time.

My major complaint was that the Thai man who works the front desk in the early morning hours tried to overcharge us several times for several different things. For example, when we checked out, this man attempted to charge us for drinks from the room refrigerator that we absolutely 100% did not use at all. He also tried to charge us for two towels that were "missing" from our room, which obviously we did not steal.

We told the front desk man that it must be a mistake, and that perhaps he should check the room again. At this point he became belligerent, and demanded money from us. This was not impressive.

Another example being the hotel taxi. We had passed in and out of the lobby many times, and noted that the posted price in the lobby for an airport taxi was 600 baht (100 baht more than average, but still ok). It was clearly posted on a sign for all guests to read.

When the offensive Thai man was working the counter, and management was not present, this sign vanished, and the price of an airport taxi increased. When we left the hotel and requested the 600 baht airport taxi, we were told by the same man to pay him 700 baht, instead of the 600 baht advertised by the hotel. We were then taken to the airport in an unlicensed taxi cab.

I've been coming to Thailand for more than 13 years now, and this was my first time in Phuket. While I've come to expect these things to happen, it never leaves a good impression when hotel staff try to take advantage of guests, or essentially steal from them. The amount of money involved was trivial for a western person, but the principle is what bothers me.

The rude man at the front desk left us feeling sufficiently annoyed, and absolutely sure that we could not recommend this hotel to anyone else, not because of the location, cleanliness, food, or majority of the staff, but because this one employee left us with a very negative feeling and actually became angered when we questioned the scam that he was trying to run on guests.

Note that the female front desk staff were kind, accommodating, helpful and honest. If you insist on staying in this hotel, avoid male front desk staff at all costs. Hotel has internet access, but it is rather expensive, so not an ideal place for business people who need to be in touch with the outside world. Note that there is a free wifi signal near the Coyote restaurant and Starbucks just down the street from this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshoreMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 8 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 4 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#43 of 329 in Patong
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#234 of 329 in Patong
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 329 in Patong
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#165 of 329 in Patong
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.4 mi away
The Royal Palm Beach Front
The Royal Palm Beach Front
#114 of 329 in Patong
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Boa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Boa Resort

Address: 16 Thaweewong Road Patong District, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £24 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Boa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Boa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Boa Hotel Patong
Baan Boa Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing