We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Best Experiences in Thailand”
Review of Villa Atchara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Atchara
Ranked #73 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of Our Best Experiences in Thailand”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location, staff, decor, and maintenance of this family hotel exceeded our expectations. Phuket can be a very third world place in every meaningful way, which should not deter travelers from visiting, but they have to understand that while Phuket may have all the potential to be a Hawaii (and more in many respects), it's most certainly not there yet. Villa Atchara made us feel like we were in Hawaii. All the rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day, a tasty breakfast appeared within minutes of our arrival, the pool was always clean, as were the grounds. The staff was always friendly and attentive. Villa Atchara is not a resort, but if you want a quiet place to serve as your headquarters as you explore Phuket thoroughly, Villa Atchara was always a great place to wake up in and come home to. Kudos to the owners and staff! You guys did a great job!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 3 and 9. Both were clean and everything worked well. The shower was always hot i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putnik555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    55
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
95
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The staff here really went the extra mile. Ning, Tick and ben were wonderful - nothing for the children was too much trouble. It was safe, friendly, intimate and perfect for kids. All rooms and the bar overlook the central pool courtyard making it easy to relax with the family and giving the kids freedom to do their own thing. The menu was wonderful and patong beach is close by. We'll finitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peace68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We are in residence at the moment--booked as a result of the overwhelmingly favourable reviews.
I have to say that the unfavourable reviews were probably written by people incredibly difficult to please.
The hotel is as good as three star gets, the rooms are spacious spotlessly clean light and airy, the breakfast of cereals,fruit juice,eggs and bacon, toast, fresh fruit and coffee.. is generous and cooked to perfection . the staff are always wreathed in smiles and cannot do enough for you.especially the diminutive housemaid who is four foot six of grin! After one night, my wife found the bed too firm to be comfortable so this litttle treasure simple folded the duvet[] doona if you are Australian] double to make feather bed and provided another one to cover us-problem solved! I have not been better served in the Paris Hilton or the George Sanq!!Could you beat this for 26 bucks a night per person including brekky? Thaiophile.Adelaide

Room Tip: A deluxe double on the third floor is perfect overlooking the pool with sunny balcony and excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I agree with others - it was lovely. Yes it is popular with European travellers but I don't hang out with folks at the hotel so that doesn't bother me at all.

I tried to think of some things that would be helpful - and here they are!

Location - The hotel is near the Novotel (my taxi driver had no idea), up the laneway on the right hand side. Some pics are provided.

Town - the town is to the left. Turning right and going for stroll looking for some brekkie results in a long, hilly walk to Kamala. - ok so I should have asked or looked at a map :)

Scooter Hire - the lady near the hotel is friendly - but gave me a very hard time when I returned the scooter - trying to blame me for dents and scratches that I had not caused. I would not rent from her again.

Tours - the Amazing Canoe tour to James Bond island (pink brochure) has a price printed but you can book it for half that price from the agents down on the beach front. Think I paid 900 Baht. Shop around. BTW the tour was great!

Overall - was fine for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ally2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

On arrival the welcome we received was very friendly, and first impressions were good. However we quickly realised that as a British couple (with a young outlook on life) in their early 40's, we were very different from all of the other guests.
The whole place has an air of a German Old Folks home, with most of the clientele having some form of ailment or mobility issue. It got to the point where we wondered if it was a Rehabilitation Centre linked to a German / Dutch / Scandinavian medical company ?
The Thai staff (and female owner - Parn) working in the evenings continued to be friendly throughout our 5 night stay, however the 2 ladies covering the breakfast / day shift soon let their facade slip, and they were barely communicating with us by departure day. This appeared to be caused when they notified us of a BBQ taking place on our 4th night, and we were invited at a cost of 600 baht each (£25 per couple). We declined, as we'd hired a car and would be out exploring. I can only guess that this 'snub' offended them.
Breakfast is adequate, nothing more. We had lunch there once - that was fine.
We've now stayed in about 10 hotels, for 100+ nights in Phuket over the last 4 years. Given the high rating, and previous good reviews for Villa Atchara we were disappointed. This hotel is nothing special, and certainly not 'a hidden gem' in our eyes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesandNichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The previous reviewer has it all so wrong. I'm not sure what they expect for the money they pay to stay at Villa Atchara. Perhaps they should have listed a comparable place in Phuket that is as good for value, service and cleanliness. I have personally stayed at Villa Atchara twice and have found the place to be a hidden oasis in Patong where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I have also stayed all over Asia and the rooms at Villa Atchara are considerably more roomier than any other hotel I have stayed in. Parn and Johann do a wonderful job. Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I had a very pleasant experience during my stay at Villa Atchara. The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive and the hotel had a very intimate feel. I would absolutely stay here again traveling to Patong as the service cannot be matched. I told the front desk that I wanted to scuba dive during my stay in Phuket and they even introduced to one of the other hotel guests who gave me a good recommendation on a diving company. The hotel is situated just right up the road from the Novotel and the beach so it's a very short walk to the beach in the morning.

I opted for the Penthouse room and booked a couple of months in advance for the high season. It still ended up cheaper than what a lot of the popular hotels were offering for a standard room. If you are traveling solo, it is not absolutely necessary to book this type of room, however, being on the top floor I found it to be quiet and peaceful.

The room was very pleasant and clean with a separate living room area and two bathroom areas and very spacious overall. The master bath included a Jacuzzi tub as well. I chose to use the hotel's airport pickup services where I was picked up by a member of the staff and met at the airport. Very convenient as they take you straight to the hotel with out any hassles.

The only downside is that it's about a 15 minute walk to Bangla Road if you are planning to party. Tuk Tuk's are available and will quote you 200 Bhat but are negotiable down to at least 120. If you are adventurous, you can always rent a scooter for a daily moderate price.

Room Tip: Book the penthouse room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revproj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#57 of 322 in Patong
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Lantern Hotel
Sky Lantern Hotel
#79 of 322 in Patong
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
First resort albergo
First resort albergo
#75 of 322 in Patong
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palmview Resort Patong Beach
1.2 mi away
Baipho Boutique Residence Phuket
0.1 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#78 of 322 in Patong
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Atchara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Atchara

Property: Villa Atchara
Address: 4 Soi Prabarami 4 Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Atchara 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Atchara is the perfect getaway in Patong. Close to all the fun but quiet from traffic and sellers. We have pool, free internet, restaurant, bar,tour info. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Atchara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Atchara Hotel Patong
Atchara Hotel Patong
Villa Atchara Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing