We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!!”
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #102 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really good!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My first stay. It's so close to everything and doesn't cost a fortune. Not many younger people stayed here so by Patong standards very quiet but only 4 minutes to JungCeylon and Bangla Rd! Rooms basic but everything works and the staff are super friendly and helpful! The bar is good and the restaurant serves good food at the right price! There is a laundry 20 metres from the hotel and all my washing was well done, pressed and on time!! There is a spa that was open 1030 till late!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    88
    22
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
36
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Having visited once before I decided to revisit as both the service and facilities were spot on. We stayed in the cheaper guesthouse but the hotel runs a Tuk-Tuk service between the two, free of charge. It's only a couple of minutes drive but it saves you a lot of time and it's a God send if it is raining. The actual hotel allows you to use the swimming pool and the area is equipped with a bar, restaurant and pool table. Situated a 100m from Banglar Road it is a great, cheap place to stay. With the beach at the other end of Banglar Road there is no complaints. One of the young staff Anne even took the three of us out one night to show us a cool local cocktail flaring bar! The rooms were equipped with televisions with a good range of English speaking channels and the showers were warm, so all is well for people looking for some home comforts. It's well worth checking out if you are travelling around Patong on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davebrannen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Considering the fantasticl location the price is very reasonable.Not 5 star but everything we needed.Friendly staff,good food and reasonable priced drinks.Clean and cheerful with a nice pool.You get what you pay for in this world.I have stayed in many hotels in Thailand and this one is middle of the road with all amenities very close at hand.
My one tip is that it is not really a family hotel catering more for groups of men out for some fun.
If you are in that category then give it a try,I would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed here in December 2013 and at first glance, it seemed like it was a great hotel, very vibey with a great pool and very friendly staff.

Only one room was ready for us so we decided we would swim. Pool was great - probably the highlight of this place.

When we finally got into the room, the extra bed was in a terrible condition and the sheets were not clean at all.. even had a random yellow stain on the bed. To be fair though, they apologised and cleaned immediately + offered a huge discount on the rooms.

The amenities were pretty good (bar, massage, exchange, restaurant, pool) and the bathroom was large enough.

The location of this place is 10/10 - just far enough from bang la noise but close enough to not get lost if you have one too many at any of the bars.

The hotel was able to organise a transfer from the airport which was very reasonable. Also organised our ferry to the next island.

Overall average to very good would stay here again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank link_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in Patong Beach. One block away from all the happening bars YET far enough back where the noise does not keep you awake. Maybe a 5 minute walk to the beach if that. The room was clean & the staff were attentive. I would recommend this hotel - it isn't a 5 star hotel but it is a great value. The pool & pool area are very nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank labs-rule37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

My first stay at the Ex Pat it's cheap clean & the people that work their are fantastic always helpful & friendly
The rooms are Basic but I like that style, the food here is great they cater to all types of cultures & very reasonable
The Bar is a great place to meet people fm all over the world Americans, English, India, & me the lone Kiwi LOL
I would definitely recommend the Ex Pat Hotel to anyone who wants a inexpensive holiday
Overall Well Done fm ME

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 1PK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

As you already know I have visited this hotel many times and it just gets better , staff always very helpful , and the Res. manageress Anne is superb and runs a very good ship (hotel) This time we had lots of rain but did not stop any thing the fun went on and on ! went to a few new eating places the Number 6 for one ,they take u by tuk tuk up the mountains and the view of Patong was super ! I have already booked to go back next year ! Thank you Norman Taylor

Room Tip: Just get yourselves out there !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nst60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Expat Hotel Patong Center
Expat Hotel Patong Center
#149 of 322 in Patong
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#84 of 322 in Patong
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
K-Hotel
K-Hotel
#67 of 322 in Patong
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#36 of 322 in Patong
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#122 of 322 in Patong
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Property: The Expat Hotel
Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing