We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #98 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed on second level overlooking the pool which was always very clean and maintained well. This hotel is a motel style with units in rows. All very nice and comfortable enough. Great place to layback after a hard night out on the town. Crash out next to the pool on the lounge chairs. Resteraunt is only 10 metres away where you can order any array of Falang (western) food (including Aussie meat pies which they microwaved...tch!) Or select from a good range of the local cuisine. Washed down with a cold Chang ....Bliss.
The staff are friendly and the resident night guard always has a smile.
Beds are hard but thats fairly normal in this area but most guests dont come to sleep much (ahem).
Hotel situated 5 minutes from Bangla road and 10 min from the beach. Not too bad at all

Room Tip: Overlooking pool on second level was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinH0rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    84
    22
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
36
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I would like to say a big thank you to the staff at the expat. As I was on the way to the airport the staff contacted the taxi driver to say I left my credit cards in the hotel room .I was 5 minutes away from airport to catch my flight .They got one of there driver's to bring my cards to airport so I did not miss my flight. I like to say a big thank you to the cleaning lady who found them and the staff who got them to me on time

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEELONG AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned after spending 1 week at the Expat. The rooms are basic but with everything you need. Bed was firm but very comfortable and air con was quiet and worked well. The hotel is brilliantly located. Only 10 minutes walk to the beach and much less to Soi Bangla and all the action if you want it. Very little noise at night even though the Nightclubs are very close.
The real star of the Expat is its bar and the wonderful staff. Meals are great and well priced. The drinks are always icy cold very cheap. No need to stock your minibar with drinks bought from 7 11 as they are no cheaper than at the bar. But the absolute highlight of this place is the girls at the bar. I have never laughed so much as I have over the past week and I already miss them very much.
I will definitely stay again at the Expat next time I return to Phuket.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great value and have outside private seating area with table and 2 chairs? I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GOTIGES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is extremely nice, and the staff is vers friendly.
The hotel is located close to the beach, and all the nightlife, but is still quiet at Night.
The pool area is Nice, and the rooms is just what you want for a nice holiday.
I Can highly recommend Thisted hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD31-denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great location and staff was very friendly. Rooms and whole hotel area were clean. It was great to spend time in the pool area. Sports bar you can spend some nice time with beer or drinks. I really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Awesome place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Patong, the rooms are clean, serviced daily if requested, the restaurant serves great food, the spa is great, has a great bar with amazing staff! All the staff are there to please, highly recommend The Expat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Like everyone else has said, if you're not expecting 5 star but want want good value for money this is the spot! Clean rooms, right next to Bangla Road for the party, warm and friendly staff and a great pool to lounge around during the day. The Expat Sports Bar next door is a great place to have a few relaxed beers and play pool. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Pool is quiet so even the pool facing rooms are not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebluetyphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Expat Hotel Patong Center
Expat Hotel Patong Center
#145 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#131 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#76 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#51 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#86 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
P.S. Hotel
P.S. Hotel
#150 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Property: The Expat Hotel
Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing