We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the photos” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Ranked #220 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the photos”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel has an airport pickup service for 500 Baht (or you can take the Airport Bus into Phuket town for 85 Baht and then the public bus to Patong Beach for 25 Baht more. The hotel is located on Nanai road, which is about 1 km East of the road the that the public bus comes into town on. Although the hotel is about 1.5km from the beach, it runs a free shuttle every 2 hours from 8am until midnight. Although the resort looks nice in the photos, it is quite a bit more run down that the photos would indicate. Also, although the hillside bungalows look nice, the inside of the all the rooms at this resort are more along the lines of what you could get a similar Guesthouse room for in the 300 - 400 Baht range (except for the pool & restaurant, which are nice if you are inclined to use them). Front desk reception was very welcoming at time of check-in but less so afterwards. The ac in our first 2 rooms didn't work at all but the front desk told us that we "shouldn't expect the ac to work here like it does at home". When they moved us to the third room without functioning ac, I really raised a stink because the compressor was clearly not even running. They sent a maintenance man up with a tank of refrigerant and a set of gauges but as soon as he looked at the compressor and heard that it wasn't even running, he went off to get a switch, replaced it and from that point on, the ac worked flawlessly.

Unfortunately, the room also had a dirty bathroom (mildew on the shower curtain & tiny ants everywhere) and the beds had bedbugs in them.

There is a sign at the front desk that there will be a charge of 100 Baht/night for "Lady visitors" who are not registered guests.

Don't change your money at the hotel, as you will get a significantly poorer rate than you can get in town at a moneychanger.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    45
    45
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
49
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

First we got a room five minutes walk away from the main building of the hotel and this room was full of mold. My boyfriend, who is 1,85 m, couldnt stand straight up in the shower, bc the ceiling was to low, the ac wasnt working, the sink was leaking and the toilet was dirty.
There wasnt any problem to change room when we asked for it and if you want to stay at this hotel, get a room in the main building or in one of the bungalows. The standard is much better there.
The staff was very friendly and nice!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mahlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Rooms are good as expected, Hotel staff were friendly, located near Bangla road and Jungceylon mall, perfect place for budget travellers..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Hotel Royal Crown is not beside the beach. Geographicaly its 1 km from the beach but when you move by road its more then that. I stayed there for 4 days i.e. 24 to 27 April'10 and found the staff to be friendly though a bit raw. The positive thng is that since it not at central patong so its a bit quiet and moreover if you bring any guest they are OK with it, but have to pay a nominal fine of 300/ bth. The negetive aspect is that though the hotel provide the transportation service to patong centre after every alternate hour yet if you want to move of your own then it will cost 50-60 bth in motorbike taxi and 200/ bth in tuk-tuk. But its a OK hotel for the value you pay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kashyap_ghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South west uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Booked a Standard room for myself and daughter for 3 weeks. I was told that the standard rooms did not have a window. Couldnt find any pics of the standard room on their web site. Arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport and theguy was ready and waiting when we came out. The room we were allocated was beautiful and right beside the pool. It certainly wasnt a standard room because we met some people who were in the standard rooms and I must say they were rather grotty and up a hill. Breakfast was a buffet and if you wanted a fresh omlett cooked while you waited they were happy do do them for you. Its about a 20 minute walk from the beach but they do a shuttle service thoughout the day. There is a shuttle service in the evening to the shopping mall and entertainment area. The evening menu was fairly priced.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We've booked our last minute package holiday with a standard room at this hotel - there was no way to change hotel since it was a last minute booking. Despite that we've decided to give it a try when arriving.
The personel at check-in desk was very rude and "cold hearted". We've asked immediately if we can have some other room than the standard one booked, as we have a baby with us and need some more space etc. The lady ignored our request and replied that we should first check in and go and check the room out instead of already wanting to change - "Maybe you'll like it".
Well... we've got pretty shocked over what they call a standard double room there. We'd simply call it a "garage room". Dark, mouldy, dirty, small and just by the side of the bed there was something that I guess was suppose to be a kitchenette, but was only a disgusting minibar and a kitchen sink. No warm water, no water pressure and a mouldy shower. Bed sheets with blod, pee or whatever it was stains. Bed pillows very questionable.
We just couldn't stay there with (or without) our baby girl. Was laughing that we'd probably wake up by a side of some truck, cause this room really looked like a garrage.
So after checking out the room... we've checked out and found another hotel closer to the beach. Forgot to mention that this one is up on a hill and it takes a good 30 minutes to reach the beach walking on a very bussy street.
Can't say much about the rest of the hotel cause we've simply didn't see it, but what we've experienced needs to be shared.
So good advice - be prepared to walk a lot up and down the hill and please DON'T ever book a standard double room (at least not the number 155).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Royal Crown for a forthnight, and I have to say that it was a mixed experience. We enjoyed the spacious rooms, but were not happy with the shared balcony, since we actually had paid for a private one. Luckily for us, a nice Swedish couple were out "balcony-partners"

There were ants in our lunch the first day, so we opted for other arrangements when it came to dining - even though the breakfast was included.

Quite a distance to walk down to Junkceylon and the centre, but since we're quite the walkers, this was not really a problem. Plenty of tuk-tuk offers on the way:D

The staff we're not friendly at all, but the Thai in general totally charmed us. I would choose another hotel in Patong - seriously.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
Patong Holiday
Patong Holiday
#285 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Patong Cottage Resort
Patong Cottage Resort
#185 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#171 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YK Patong Resort
YK Patong Resort
#300 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Phuvaree Resort
Phuvaree Resort
#298 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
#232 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Property: Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Address: 31 Na Nai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#67 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crown Hotel And Palm Spa Resort
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Patong
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing