We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room in the main building, otherwise its awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort
Ranked #245 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 12 January 2011

First we got a room five minutes walk away from the main building of the hotel and this room was full of mold. My boyfriend, who is 1,85 m, couldnt stand straight up in the shower, bc the ceiling was to low, the ac wasnt working, the sink was leaking and the toilet was dirty.
There wasnt any problem to change room when we asked for it and if you want to stay at this hotel, get a room in the main building or in one of the bungalows. The standard is much better there.
The staff was very friendly and nice!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mahlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

Rooms are good as expected, Hotel staff were friendly, located near Bangla road and Jungceylon mall, perfect place for budget travellers..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Hotel Royal Crown is not beside the beach. Geographicaly its 1 km from the beach but when you move by road its more then that. I stayed there for 4 days i.e. 24 to 27 April'10 and found the staff to be friendly though a bit raw. The positive thng is that since it not at central patong so its a bit quiet and moreover if you bring any guest they are OK with it, but have to pay a nominal fine of 300/ bth. The negetive aspect is that though the hotel provide the transportation service to patong centre after every alternate hour yet if you want to move of your own then it will cost 50-60 bth in motorbike taxi and 200/ bth in tuk-tuk. But its a OK hotel for the value you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kashyap_ghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Booked a Standard room for myself and daughter for 3 weeks. I was told that the standard rooms did not have a window. Couldnt find any pics of the standard room on their web site. Arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport and theguy was ready and waiting when we came out. The room we were allocated was beautiful and right beside the pool. It certainly wasnt a standard room because we met some people who were in the standard rooms and I must say they were rather grotty and up a hill. Breakfast was a buffet and if you wanted a fresh omlett cooked while you waited they were happy do do them for you. Its about a 20 minute walk from the beach but they do a shuttle service thoughout the day. There is a shuttle service in the evening to the shopping mall and entertainment area. The evening menu was fairly priced.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We've booked our last minute package holiday with a standard room at this hotel - there was no way to change hotel since it was a last minute booking. Despite that we've decided to give it a try when arriving.
The personel at check-in desk was very rude and "cold hearted". We've asked immediately if we can have some other room than the standard one booked, as we have a baby with us and need some more space etc. The lady ignored our request and replied that we should first check in and go and check the room out instead of already wanting to change - "Maybe you'll like it".
Well... we've got pretty shocked over what they call a standard double room there. We'd simply call it a "garage room". Dark, mouldy, dirty, small and just by the side of the bed there was something that I guess was suppose to be a kitchenette, but was only a disgusting minibar and a kitchen sink. No warm water, no water pressure and a mouldy shower. Bed sheets with blod, pee or whatever it was stains. Bed pillows very questionable.
We just couldn't stay there with (or without) our baby girl. Was laughing that we'd probably wake up by a side of some truck, cause this room really looked like a garrage.
So after checking out the room... we've checked out and found another hotel closer to the beach. Forgot to mention that this one is up on a hill and it takes a good 30 minutes to reach the beach walking on a very bussy street.
Can't say much about the rest of the hotel cause we've simply didn't see it, but what we've experienced needs to be shared.
So good advice - be prepared to walk a lot up and down the hill and please DON'T ever book a standard double room (at least not the number 155).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Royal Crown for a forthnight, and I have to say that it was a mixed experience. We enjoyed the spacious rooms, but were not happy with the shared balcony, since we actually had paid for a private one. Luckily for us, a nice Swedish couple were out "balcony-partners"

There were ants in our lunch the first day, so we opted for other arrangements when it came to dining - even though the breakfast was included.

Quite a distance to walk down to Junkceylon and the centre, but since we're quite the walkers, this was not really a problem. Plenty of tuk-tuk offers on the way:D

The staff we're not friendly at all, but the Thai in general totally charmed us. I would choose another hotel in Patong - seriously.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FlyinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Been in this hotel during 4 days, and quality/price is just excellent.

I have been in the bangalows, so can not talk about the hotel rooms. The Bangalows are just amazing. Big, clean and very confortable. To get to the bangalow, you have to go to the top of the hill, maybe not a very good idea if you any phisical restritions. However once there you have a beautiful view of the swimming pool area, mountains and patong beach.

Is far from Bangla road (the nightlife area), but if you take a "tuk tuk" (taxi) you can get there in 5 minutes for 150 Baht. Hotel provide a free shuttle, every 2 hours.

Very nice swimming pool. Definitly the place to stay if you want a piece of paradise, little far from the mess in Bangla, but close enought to get there quikly if you are in the mood.

Hotel has a very nice room service. Food and drinks are good and not expensive at all...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#156 of 331 in Patong
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
AsiaLoop G-House
AsiaLoop G-House
#296 of 331 in Patong
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chang Residence
Chang Residence
#157 of 331 in Patong
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Raha Grand Hotel
Raha Grand Hotel
#272 of 331 in Patong
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Album Loft at Nanai Road
1.0 mi away
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
Wynn Chilli Salza Patong
#223 of 331 in Patong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort

Address: 31 Na Nai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#74 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £17 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Patong
Royal Crown Hotel And Palm Spa Resort
Royal Crown Hotel & Palm Spa Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing