We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a bit long, but positive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Laimai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is a bit long, but positive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are Just back from 10 days at this resort today. I booked this 6 months ago, i emailed back and forth with them and they were all very helpful, I did my research and requested a high floor deluxe pool view in the renovated buildings away from construction noise and the band, which they were quite happy and helpful to accomodate, I was even given a room number in advance and a photo of the bulding our room was in, I thought that was really good service, then started reading some horrific reviews along with some great reviews, I got a bit concerned to the point that we decided we would give it a try for 1 night if it was bad then we would check out and go somewhere else.
I wonder now if all the people writing the bad reviews were actually talking about the same hotel.
Here are my take on what seemed to be the most complaints.
Long check in wait - Check in was at 2pm which it clearly states on the website and at reception, this is standard check in time anywhere these days, and no one will guarantee an earlier check in if you arrive early, you just have to hope, anyway we arrive at 9.30 am, so i didnt hold much hope of getting our room so early, but he took our details apologised and said the room would be ready in around 30 min and gave us a breakfast voucher and drinks voucher and said to go have some breakfast and the room would be ready when we finished and it was, nothing wrong with that check in at all and very helpful and polite.

Rude female receptionists - in the 10 days we stayed, there was at no time ever, any female recptionists on duty so dont know what happened to them and all the guys were polite and friendly and helpful and i heard some pretty whingeing down right rude guests talking to them Or at them. Whatever happend to treat others as you would like to be treated. Its Thailand folks, they are Thai nationals, so no they dont speak fluent English or understand every accent in the world, so give them a break and learn a bit of patience.

Charging 3000 baht or $100 deposit - once again this is standard in Australia and I am sure many other countries in the world too, so dont know why everyone was so outraged at that, BUT we were not charged any deposit, so maybe they have stopped this.

No hotel porter to help with the bags - We were given someone to take us and our luggage to the room without requesting it.

Complaints about the rooms, shower not working, air con not working, cleanliness of rooms, housekeeping, bed too hard - Our Shower was perfect, our air con was brilliant, which was a godsend as it was so hot and humid, it was on morning noon and night, for the whole of our stay, even when we went out for the day or night and not one problem with it
we like a firm matress so the bed suited us and the room was very clean and cleaned by around 11.30 am every morning.
The pool is really nice and its clean
Reception/lobby is really lovely too
Breakfast is fine and plenty of choice
Meals expensive - I think everyone would know that eating at any hotel is expensive and there would be cheaper options
Check out time takes a long time - we where checked out and our car ready for airport in less than 15min.
The location is one of the best, but if you like quiet, no noise, no people, no band playing until late, fluent english speaking staff, then this isnt for you, try something further away from Beach Road
We wouldnt stay anywhere that is below par, but all in all and to my relief, we found everything to be fine and no complaints, for the price you pay its spot on.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe pool view room above reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elkay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    432
    200
    117
    119
See reviews for
303
517
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Not sure whether we just had a room that was in desperate need of upgrade but the hotel definately needs some tender loving care and a reminder of the normal Thai customer service.

Location Excellent - cant fault that
Friendliness of staff varied
- restaurants /pool bar /tour desk all very helpful,
- reception - leaves a lot to be desired none of the normal Thai friendliness here - not very effiecient as despite having given them our paperwork stating the start and end date of our stay they tried to tell us we should be checking out a day early - thank goodness we had a backup of our paperwork on our laptop.

Food - Breakfasts good and so was the restaurant although you can eat cheaper nearby
Pool good
Room - very poor. Despite actually being upgraded on check in the room was disappointing. We had a sea view (but beware this also means you have the evening entertainment - it goes on till about 11:30 so not to bad but isnt great when you have a six year old trying to get to sleep) Bed was comfy
Bathroom left a lot to be deisred - shower fittings hung out of the wall and looked like they could fall at anytime..
Cleaning - left a lot to be desired - toothpaste that had been left in the sink by our 6 yearold was still there several days later, and I dont think the hallway by our room was mopped once in the 4 days we were way or the same areas of mess miracously appeared each day.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My 2 adult sibs and I arrived rather early so had to wait for a room to open up. We did get an upgrade to a deluxe room which basically means you are facing the pool and not a wall. For starters, the room was really nice. Spacious, clean, overall well done. Bjay, at the front desk was very helpful and spoke good English but I can't say the same for the other front desk folk. We had breakfast one day and it was pretty good. The restaurant food was also quite good. Make sure you take bug spray since the restaurant is facing the ocean, lots of mosquitoes!
I did see a lot of customers complaining at the front desk. Some legit, some just whiny and unreasonable.
My biggest issue during our 2 night stay was that although the resort is labelled as "Non Smoking", this policy is clearly not enforced. There were a bunch of men smoking in the common areas and pool area in clear view of the front desk staff pretty much every time we went there. So if being at a "Non Smoking" resort is big on your list, you might want to pass on this one.
I'm giving it 3 stars for location, room quality and good food on site.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very Bad Hotel I saw it in my life with Bad Staff they can't even talk English when I arrive after 12 hours flights they said its fully booked and I was getting confirmation for my reservation , then they transfer us one night in very bad hotel after that they give us 4 rooms with bad Air condition then I understand its very bad hotel how's making overbooking

Room Tip: Bad room and good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The checkin process took more than 40 minutes because it was high season and the hotel seems to have been overbooked. Other than that, the hotel has an excellent location, the hotel pool and restaurant are awesome, and the room service is good.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulaziz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I have stayed here before but were not prepared for how downhill this hotel has gone. The revolting service started at check in. We booked our room over two months before but upon arriving at 1am were told the hotel wasnfull! Ok so this is Thailand so you expect some difficulties at times but the way they delt with this was truly pathetic. We were moved to a rather substandard hotel for the night with no apology or explanation to how this happened and told they would have a room for us in the morning. Well the morning came and it was still had a late check in to a room that was constantly damp.
From here we went away for four nights with a booking on our return unfortunately for this hotel...Guess what! The room wasn't ready. We were eventually checked into another sad excuse for a room and were simply handed the key as they apparently were to busy dealing with angry hotel guests to show us to our room. will never stay at this pathetic excuse for a hotel again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RachDeb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My experience in Phuket was nice but the Baan Laimai on the other hand seemed to try and make my trip miserable. My wife and I booked online. Judging by the photos the rooms were nice. When we checked in the room looked nothing like the photos. They put us in a room on the roof of the old wing of the hotel. When we complained about the quality and smell of the room, they told us the hotel was full and there was nowhere else to put us. It was low season and the hotel was practically empty. They want to make you upgrade from your original agreed online price for the exact same room they show you online. We argued the entire first day to get our agreed room. BAD BUSINESS

Room Tip: If you dont book the pool view. Don't bother staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoccoTerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laimai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laimai Beach Resort

Property: Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Address: 66 Thaweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laimai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laimai Beach Resort is located on the beach road of the most well-known “Patong” beach, right in the midst of entertainment and shopping area, with just crossing the road to the beach. Featuring in-house restaurants with Thai, Western cuisines and tasteful seafood from Andaman sea. Offering the lagoon-size swimming pool where you can take a break at the cozy pool bar. The fitness facilities will give you relaxation and relief from your everyday stresses. Experiencing beauty & recreation on Patong Beach or alternatively strolling for lively entertaining & shopping. You may have it all with us in making your perfect stay at Baan Laimai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Laimai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laimai Beach Hotel Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Patong
Baan Laimai Beach Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing