We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa
Ranked #37 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unpleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just back from a 10 night stay.The smiles that we had soon left our faces after checkin.We never recieved a welcome to Thailand let alone a welcome to Gracelands.All they were concerned for was our passports and credit card(which I know that all Hotels require for checkin).I tried to leave a message for family, that were checking in later that night,but the reception staff didnt understand to what I was saying.Know one there could help me.
We were lead to our block and floor which didnt smell very nice (rotten seafood).The room that we booked was a mini family room a little out dated,with mould in the bathroom and a musky smell throughout.
The pool area is big but try finding a couple of lounges that havent already got towels over them.Missing tiles in the pool that were sharp and around the swimup bar too.If you are able to find a lounge goodluck with any drink/meal service.No one is walking around with menus in hand as in previous resorts we have stayed in.Its up to you to find them.
Breakfast was a joke we were a group of 8.Two tables that could sit 8 and people of 3 sitting at.We didnt mind having two tables of 4, but you had to find the tables and thats if you could get into the restaurant.A couple of times we were told that is was full and that we would have to come back.Two toasters but one was broken for a couple of days.We gave up in the end and went out for breakfast at The Coffee Club.
Try asking the reception staff to book a restaurant for you.Everything that seemed to hard and didnt want to help.
A very unpleasant stay never to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach4me14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    867
    369
    154
    166
See reviews for
980
761
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good location in patong & walking distance to almost everything. It is an older resort but you could not fault how clean, comfortable & friendly this resort is & definately good value for money. At night when your bed is turned down the staff leave a lovely little "good night" verse on your pillow, which is a lovely gesture.

Room Tip: Any upper level room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1986couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Have been here for 8 days and after reading some reviews was a bit concerned. But this resort is in the perfect location, the pool is amazing, our room is in a great location overlooking the pool. The people here are so lovely and will do there best to get you what you need. The breakfasts are huge with heaps of variety for all tastes, just remember to bring your vegemite, I forgot mine and miss my toast with vegemite. It's a great walk to Bangla road or a quick Tuk Tuk ride of about 150 baht. The beach is across the street and the ladies on the beach give great massages for 1hr at 300 baht, bargain . Would come here again, maybe with some friends. Last words, great quite location, great pool and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winterfamily4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just got back from having an 8 day holiday and the Graceland resort made our holiday amazing.

I've read the negative reviews and just don't get. We booked a 'Pool View Deluxe' room and we were upgraded to a better room. Room 2511 ROCKS!!

The staff was amazing. Room service was quick, fresh and well priced. Cocktails were amazing and cheap!! The breakfast buffet was great. Cleaning was great and diligent. Swim up bar was amazing and loved it.

Location was perfect, across the road was the beach and a short walk to shops and many restaurants.

We're planning on going back next year and will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKrock79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I also, like a lot of other T/A readers, read some negative reviews regarding this accomodation.

On arrival, i was blown away at the size of this resort. We were greeted in a friendly manner and offered welcome drinks (strange tasting) but nice gesture. Yes they did ask for passports and credit card details, but they do that where ever you stay, to ensure their property is covered upon any damage. In our room (deluxe pool view room), we recieved a welcome gift of Fresh Pineapple and Fridge magnet.
Breakfast was a vast array of foods both Western and Eastern variety. And there is 2 toaster ovens for the guests to use, and not all 300 guests eat at once.
The beds were a tad hard, but bearable. Room was cleaned everyday and around 6:00pm everynight they come and do turndown. Which is a chocolate and a lovely verse card. All the staff were friendly. On the last Friday we were there, we were invited to a Thank You for staying with us, cocktail afternoon. Snacks, cocktails and entertainment was provided for nothing, it was a lovely gesture.
We stayed for 12 days, and would definately stay again on return to thailand. It is out of the main area of Patong, but an easy walk to Bangla Rd and any other area you may like to go. We got Tuk Tuks at a cost of 150 bht each way to Bangla Rd.
I sometimes wonder what ppl expect when travelling to countries like this, your holiday should be what you make it.

Room Tip: Book a View room, or you might end up with a construction site view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Having read the bad reviews regarding construction noise, hard beds and rude staff I contacted the travel agent to see if we could cancel and stay at the Holiday Inn. Unfortunately because we were going during the Sep/Oct Australian school holidays there were no rooms available so we had no choice but to stay put. We had the travel agent contact Graceland to request a room away from the construction (Having had a previous holiday in Surfers ruined by jack hammers I was not keen to repeat the experience) and to provide extra bedding on the beds. They replied that we were put on a priority list for a room away from the construction which was between 9-6pm and we would have to request extra bedding when we arrived.
I was apprehensive about what experience we would have but learnt a very valuable lesson about reading these reviews. You can have 10 people in the same type of room at the same hotel and they will all have a different experience. So here was mine.
We travelled with 2 kids 13,10 and my parents. We had booked a family suite room 2946 which was fantastic. This provided us with a bedroom and a separate lounge area which was especially useful due to the rainy weather (Adults could play cards or watch TV whilst the kids watched TV in the bedroom). The suite had 3 balconies, one overlooking the sea and the other two the pool which was good for keeping an eye on the kids. We arrived at1.00am and we only had a queen and a single bed (can’t fit a 10 & 13yr old in a single bed) and after trying their very hard beds I slept on the very soft couch that night. We requested another single bed the next day as well as extra bedding for all the beds and it was done immediately. We had a problem with the air condition making loud noises all night and requested it be looked at in the morning. Having been out all day were surprised the noise hadn’t been fixed so we phone reception again to ask them to fix it fully expecting it to be the next morning and to our surprise the maintenance guy came up right away (9.30pm) and fixed it.
The only negative about the room was the unpleasant smell from the bathroom that we got in the mornings when no-one had used it but we found if we kept one of the lights on the fan would stay on and this helped clear the smell.
We had booked a grand deluxe room for my parents because it provided a sea view but the extra money spent turned out to be a waste. Graceland is set out in a ‘U’ shape with the curve being the furthest away from the sea. This was where the grand deluxe room was located and you could barely see the sea. My parents would have preferred a standard room overlooking the pool.
I would recommend you get a room facing the pool because the construction would have been loud for all the rooms facing it. As for working from 9-6pm, not true we noticed them working at 8pm with lights on.
The breakfast was fantastic and catered to all tastes. Yes sometimes the food was cold but if you take into consideration the amount of people they had to feed I think they did a great job. Because we had a lot of wet weather a lot of people would go to breakfast late around 9.00am. The staff had to put tables out in the covered walkaway between the restaurant and the hotel lobby and even into the hotel lobby itself to cater to everyone. Taken in context a few cold waffles are not a big deal. Whenever we had breakfast early the food was always warm.
We tried the restaurants BBQ Buffet on three occasions. First time it was fantastic, second OK and third was ordinary so once again it depends on your experience as to whether it’s worth it or not.
The cleaning staff, bus boys and security guards were very friendly and always had a smile on their faces. I can’t say the same about the reception staff. Whilst I wouldn’t call them rude, they were not very welcoming.
We had a Flight Centre representative that wanted to confirm our return transfers the morning after we arrived. They also went through all the tours. Because we already knew what tours we wanted to do we booked them on the spot. They were expensive but we thought getting my 10 yr old for free and getting a half day Phuket Orientation tour thrown in for free was pretty good. Once we got out of the hotel and had a look around you could get the tours to Phi Phi Island and James Bond Island a lot cheaper so look around. Fantasea was the same price everywhere.
We hired a ‘taxi’ which took us around to the Temple, Big Buddha, elephant trekking etc at our own pace for a couple of days which was great and he only charged 500 baht (absolute pittance so we gave him 1000 each time and he was so grateful).
Everyone should see The Fantasea show. It was awesome and extremely well organised. Thoroughly recommend the James Bond Island canoeing tour. The scenery was spectacular. Just a note to all you Aussies out there. I watched you order cocktails/beer on the islands we visited which was not cheap and yet when it came down to giving the tour guides a tip at the end of the day very few gave any money. These people did everything for us. Something as little as100 baht (a little over 3 dollars) would have been nothing to us but to the Thai people it’s a lot of money so please be more generous with these fantastic people.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel and would stay in a family suite at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. If you are a family spend a bit extra and get a family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RichardS069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just got back & one of the first two questions you get from your friends is, how was your hotel? My answer is, SHOCKING!. Upon arrival and you walk through those doors for the first time you say "WOW" we did the right thing by choosing this hotel. But really thats"s where our smiles ended.The reception team upon arrrival was unprofessional, not helpful and did not really care about the customer. No smiles, no welcome to Thailand or to Graceland Hotel. All they want is your passport, creditcard & show you where the lifts are & that's it. (Not even enjoy your stay at our hotel). They definitely need a manager on duty who can speak English to make it quite easier for the customer and themselves.

Room service was so slow. Rang reception for a telephone number to a local restaurant 6 times and no help.

Bar Lobby was a nightmare. Alot of the bar staff cannot understand English. You physically had to show them either a picture of the drink you wanted or break the word down for them so that they could understand you.
I ordered drinks and at the sametime a hotel guest said goodluck with the wait. He left the hotel, went down the street and bought his 6pack of beer and got back to the hotel before i even got my drinks and said to me, "i told you so". Their prices in the hotel are 5-7 times more expensive than the local mini-mart. Beers at the local mini-mart were 80 cents a bottle compared to $5 at the hotel.

Breakfast was very good. Alot of food to choose from. Only problem, the toaster was a shocker. 1 toaster between 300 people is quite annoying and the coffee was never hot. The amount of times customers complained to the staff was unbelievable, but then again it fell on death ears.

The location is quite good for those who enjoy the walk. It's at the top end of the strip so you get to enjoy the scenery but the only disadvantage is that it's next door to a cemetary.

I must admit that this hotel is good for families. Kids club is provided.However the tenpin bowling and the snooker room was great especially when it was raining.

Aircon was excellent, clean towels everyday but the housekeeping wasnt the best.

All the staff are really lovely people, they work hard and long hours for a lousy pay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#35 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.1 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#32 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa

Property: Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa
Address: 190 Thaweewong Road | Patong District, Amphur Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Patong
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#22 Spa Hotel in Patong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#39 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Graceland Resort And Spa
Phuket Graceland Hotel Patong
Phuket Graceland Resort & Spa Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing