We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The location is fantastic. It is right across the road from Patong Beach, and around the corner from the nightlife at Bangla Road.
Rooms were small size, aircon not worked well.
I change the room 3 time due to Air con not working.
Some times noise from fireworks was at night .
Everything near, by walking,
Hotel to Jungceylon walking distance 10 Minute.
The main thing is only LOCATION . LOCATION & LOCATION.

Room Tip: make the hotel booking directly with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahtesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

Walking along beautiful Patong beach can easily find Tropica Resort. Sitting in their open-air beergarden relaxedly breath fresh breeze from the Ocean. Eating so delicious food with west & east style in the restaurant next to beergarden. Meeting everyday their staff with warm and sweet smiling. Sleeping in traditional wood style, quiet, clean room. Talking a walk in this ´botanical kingdom´ Resort after whole day sightseeing in Phuket. Swimming in the blue and transparent fresh water pool. These are all memory in my head from Tropica. Tropica gives me a home like feeling, sweet, warm, sparkling, unique and really enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himmelsblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Very dissappointed with the hotel. The outlook is very eerie, surrounded with too many plants and mosquitoes. The bed is hard. The room is very very dim, they dont have brighter lights. Even though you on all the lights it is still very dim. Worst of all there are cockroaches in the bathroom. It scared me because the bathroom door have holes so the roaches can creep in the room. Not only that, the room cleaner failed to clean the toilet leaving behind dead cockroaches under the sink for three days. The towels are so worn out and look dirty. Worst nightmare for me. Not only that, there is a spider web between the mattress and the side table with the spider in it. I wonder if they ever change new bedsheet before i checked in. How am i going to sleep peacefully thinking that the spider and roaches moving around you. Not only that the computer internet place at the reception area is air conditioned but there are a lots of mosquitoes there. Everyday i drag to come back to the hotel. My advise is find a better place instead of this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShidahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropica11, Manager at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

It seems some guests have a problem with nature, and mosquito, gecko and some other insects scare them. Tropica is one of the few places in Patong Beach where nature is as it was many years ago.
The strange thing is this guest could have left the hotel but did not, I ask myself why? If he had such a scary time.
We have 90% of our guests return year for year and are happy to have trees and plants around them instead of concrete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at Tropica Bungalow last yr and we are returning in 2 weeks and staying there again, I have stayed at 4 other hotels in Patong in my previous trips there, but i dont think for the price (about $45 aud for 2 ppl incl breakfat) that you pay that you can beat the Tropica Bungalow, espesially if you are a big shopper and partier ! The location is exceptional, as others stated, it backs onto Bangla Rd and is directly opposite the beach and next door to great shopping ! The food we found great at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and during the day you wouldn't know where you are, it is very traquil and almost like a rain forrest amoungst the hustle and bustle of Patong. Like i say if you love the night life, you will love Tropica. Cant wait to return !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adamntina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

1 minute walk to go to the beach. 1 minute walk to go to Soi Bangla. Breakfast to much to handle. Excellent European and Thai cook in the evening. As a guest you get discount.. Reception English speaking and very helpfull. Large and clean rooms. Large pool. Garden inside project. Outside the rooms give you a lot of privacy. So what you need more. So i really can recommend Tropica Bungalow.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank FlyingDutchmen188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The rooms were clean, the pool was well maintained and the atmosphere there was very chilling.

The restaurant in front of Tropica is nothing special, but the choices of international and Thai food is great, and all we tried during our 4 day stay was very good.

The hotel staff as well as the restaurant staff was alwyas friendly and very helpful if we needed some ideas what to do or where to go.

The only negative point of the Tropica is the nightlife noise which makes it impossible to have a quiet night on the Bungalow terasse, but if you close the door of the bungalow you cant hear a thing.

So over all we can say, nice place in the middle of Patong, a littel noisy but everything in walking distance from the bach to the nightlife and shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoFezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

i stayed there for 3 days, it was a nightmare for me, the rooms are old and dirty, bathroom smells so bad, u can see lot of insectsarounds and even rats,they charge extra fees to bring a guest, no wifi connection in the rooms... u may think to save little money by booking at this hotel but u will ruin ur vacation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#167 of 329 in Patong
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#45 of 329 in Patong
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#121 of 329 in Patong
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#79 of 329 in Patong
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £29 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing