We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location with good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #126 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Glenwood, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location with good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is located close to all the action on Bangla street "the walking street of Phuket". This hotel is not fancy, but the staff is friendly and and service is good. The rooms are a little dark with minimimun lighting. The bathrooms are adequate with an open shower design that allows the water to wet the floor in front of the sink and vanity.

This hotel is perfect for someone with a limited budget and not demanding all the features of a high end hotel. The hotel has a nice restuarant and a swimming pool. It is located just across the street from the beach.

Room Tip: Average quality, smallish, poor lighting - but clean and adequate for average needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    75
    27
    18
    24
See reviews for
29
61
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The location is fantastic. It is right across the road from Patong Beach, and around the corner from the nightlife at Bangla Road.
Rooms were small size, aircon not worked well.
I change the room 3 time due to Air con not working.
Some times noise from fireworks was at night .
Everything near, by walking,
Hotel to Jungceylon walking distance 10 Minute.
The main thing is only LOCATION . LOCATION & LOCATION.

Room Tip: make the hotel booking directly with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Walking along beautiful Patong beach can easily find Tropica Resort. Sitting in their open-air beergarden relaxedly breath fresh breeze from the Ocean. Eating so delicious food with west & east style in the restaurant next to beergarden. Meeting everyday their staff with warm and sweet smiling. Sleeping in traditional wood style, quiet, clean room. Talking a walk in this ´botanical kingdom´ Resort after whole day sightseeing in Phuket. Swimming in the blue and transparent fresh water pool. These are all memory in my head from Tropica. Tropica gives me a home like feeling, sweet, warm, sparkling, unique and really enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Himmelsblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Very dissappointed with the hotel. The outlook is very eerie, surrounded with too many plants and mosquitoes. The bed is hard. The room is very very dim, they dont have brighter lights. Even though you on all the lights it is still very dim. Worst of all there are cockroaches in the bathroom. It scared me because the bathroom door have holes so the roaches can creep in the room. Not only that, the room cleaner failed to clean the toilet leaving behind dead cockroaches under the sink for three days. The towels are so worn out and look dirty. Worst nightmare for me. Not only that, there is a spider web between the mattress and the side table with the spider in it. I wonder if they ever change new bedsheet before i checked in. How am i going to sleep peacefully thinking that the spider and roaches moving around you. Not only that the computer internet place at the reception area is air conditioned but there are a lots of mosquitoes there. Everyday i drag to come back to the hotel. My advise is find a better place instead of this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShidahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropica11, Manager at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
It seems some guests have a problem with nature, and mosquito, gecko and some other insects scare them. Tropica is one of the few places in Patong Beach where nature is as it was many years ago.
The strange thing is this guest could have left the hotel but did not, I ask myself why? If he had such a scary time.
We have 90% of our guests return year for year and are happy to have trees and plants around them instead of concrete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

st clair nsw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at Tropica Bungalow last yr and we are returning in 2 weeks and staying there again, I have stayed at 4 other hotels in Patong in my previous trips there, but i dont think for the price (about $45 aud for 2 ppl incl breakfat) that you pay that you can beat the Tropica Bungalow, espesially if you are a big shopper and partier ! The location is exceptional, as others stated, it backs onto Bangla Rd and is directly opposite the beach and next door to great shopping ! The food we found great at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and during the day you wouldn't know where you are, it is very traquil and almost like a rain forrest amoungst the hustle and bustle of Patong. Like i say if you love the night life, you will love Tropica. Cant wait to return !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamntina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

1 minute walk to go to the beach. 1 minute walk to go to Soi Bangla. Breakfast to much to handle. Excellent European and Thai cook in the evening. As a guest you get discount.. Reception English speaking and very helpfull. Large and clean rooms. Large pool. Garden inside project. Outside the rooms give you a lot of privacy. So what you need more. So i really can recommend Tropica Bungalow.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDutchmen188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The rooms were clean, the pool was well maintained and the atmosphere there was very chilling.

The restaurant in front of Tropica is nothing special, but the choices of international and Thai food is great, and all we tried during our 4 day stay was very good.

The hotel staff as well as the restaurant staff was alwyas friendly and very helpful if we needed some ideas what to do or where to go.

The only negative point of the Tropica is the nightlife noise which makes it impossible to have a quiet night on the Bungalow terasse, but if you close the door of the bungalow you cant hear a thing.

So over all we can say, nice place in the middle of Patong, a littel noisy but everything in walking distance from the bach to the nightlife and shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoFezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#87 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#142 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#108 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#38 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Property: Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing