We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #126 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

stayed there one night yesterday and didn't check out the room before. since it's high season the price was 3.800 baht... cable tv wasn't working, the shower water heater didn't work either.

I complained, the security guard checked it and also couldn't fix it. next day I wanted to check out and asked for a price reduction and the reception staff and general manager were unfriendly and denied the problems and even tried to fix it while I was already at the reception making me look stupid - I call this cheating...

the rooms are ok but since just on the backside of bang-la discothecs quite loud until late at night.

you get much better value when you walk up the street 5 min to Baan Laimai! that's were I am not - much better!!! also the pool area isn't nice at Tropica.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank FlowMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    76
    27
    18
    24
See reviews for
30
61
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

Just back a few days and I miss the place already.
Excellent location across the road from beach and a short stroll to Bangla Road and main night life areas.
Rooms comfortable, well air conditioned, cleaned daily with change of bed linen and towels.
All staff extremely polite and friendly. Reception staff very helpful with a good understanding of English.
Pool small but adequate - only downside lack of parasols.
24 hour security with apparent acceptance of unregistered guests.
Overall this is an excellent budget hotel in a central location.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Central Location, competitive pricing, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Basic Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

this hotel is okay make sure you check out room before paying, sound proofing is none exisitant in the room i had,and shower was just a hose on the wall with a nozzle on the end with very little pressure,no charge for bringing guests back to the room, location is perfect for night life, breakfast was included in price and was average, the pictures on there website must be 20 years old because my room looked nothing like the pics, swimming pool is okay but small.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — the room a bit smelly
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ian173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2007

We stayed here on the final leg of out 3 week holiday travelling around Thailand last year. We pretty much "flashpacked" for most of our accommodation so this was slightly higher up the scale that we had been used to.
The hotel is a mixture of bungalows and 2 storey rooms. I was hoping we would have a bungalow but seeing the location of most of them I am glad we had a room. A lot of the bungalows are around the drive and reception with no real privacy or view. Our room was on the ground floor on the right hand side of the complex. It had a sheltered terrace area with a table and 2 chairs and had a few tall shrubs just outside which offered a sense of seperation from the pathway. The room was quite large and well furnished with a large, comfy bed, bedside tables, 2 comfy chairs and a table, a long dressing table which had a mirror behind it and a tv. At the back of the room was an area for a wardrobe and a fridge with glasses above. The bathroom was a large wet room with a small partition between the toilet and shower. It was perfectly adequate with fresh towells provided every day for both the shower and pool. The towells were quite old and jaded but always clean! The maids cleaned the room once a day and I thought they did a good job, things always seemed to be tidied and straightended up. There was also aircon but I can't remember if there was a fan.
Directly opposite our room down a small path surrounded by shrubs was the pool. This was a nice size and is surrounded by sunbeds and umbrellas. It never seemed to be busy and there was always a bed free. It might have had something to do with the beach being just across the road.
The hotel is located down a small side road so is back from the hustle and bustle, you have to walk past the restaurant which has been newly built since the Tsunami and is very eye-catching and large. The reception is at the end of the road in the middle of a roundabout and there are a few spaces where people with hire cars could park.
The staff always seemed very pleasant and helpful and there is a security guard on duty 24hrs a day and they are always saying hello, holding doors open for you etc.
The breakfast which was included in the price was very nice with a good choice. There was also 2 chefs on hand at all times to cook fresh omlettes with your choice of ingrediants!
The slight down side is that it does have Bangla Road just behind it, not directly but close enough that you do hear the music. However in the rooms on the right of the complex where we were it didn't bother us once the door was closed. Also there were a few wiffs down the side road but it is Thailand and if you have been before you will know it is a pretty normal thing. Again it didn't affect us in or outside our room.
This isn't a luxury hotel but a decent 3 star in a fantastic central location, with friendly staff and decent rooms with all amenities you could require. I would happily stay here again as it was a good price (approx £35 per night incl Breakfast for the room) and spot on for what we were looking for.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Not sure there was anything I really didn't like!
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeamGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#86 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#137 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#105 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#117 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Property: Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing