We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peace”
Review of Amanta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanta House
Ranked #268 of 322 Hotels in Patong
UK
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

As the previous reviews have mentioned this hotel is in a perfect location and quiet. We had a room close to the stairs on the first floor and unfortunetly some of the guests are not as thoughtful when coming in or when leaving early in the morning.
Tha ambience of the room is delightful and the fact it is a small hotel gives an intimacy to the place. I would definetley go back again.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — closeness to the stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

The Amanta House is the perfect hotel for a vacation to Patong Beach. The Amanta House is on a quiet street with just a ten minute walk to the heart of Patong Beach. Every morning our family slept until ten o'clock due to lack of noise and the comfy beds. Once we all enjoyed hot showers and soft bath towels we were treated to great breakfasts served with fabulous Thai hospitality.

Just down the street is a tour office which offers many tours and activities. We went on two of the tours and were very satisfied. There are many places to eat, shop and cash machines within a five minute walk. If this is not enough, there is a tuk-tuk every minute passing by or the hotel is always willing to book taxi.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms are a bit dark
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank altschwabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We had an absolutely amazing time at Amanta House.
The rooms were perfect and everything went so smoothly. We have many wonderful memories. I am definitely going to recommend your hotel to some friends of ours who are thinking of traveling to Thailand.

Thanks!!

  • Liked — Room details
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaijake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Stayed here for four nights in August 07 (two nights at first and we came back for two more nights a few days later, after visiting Phi Phi Island).

Hotel: a Chinese-traders themed boutique hotel with only 10 rooms, located in the heart of Patong (side street from a main road) at five to 10 minutes walk from Patong Beach. The theme of the hotel is used throughout and in detail, giving it a special intimate atmosphere. Clearly a lot of work and love has gone into creating this place. The hotel has free in-room broadband Internet access (wired in every room, and in addition wireless in some rooms), plus free usage of an Internet PC downstairs for those without laptops. Breakfast is available until midday in the restaurant next door (owned by the hotel), an excellent feature for those wanting to sleep in. The hotel is owned and managed by a Canadian/Thai couple. It opened less than a year and a half ago.

Location: the hotel is located on a side street, a minute or two walk from a main road in downtown Patong Beach. A number of excellent and economical seafood restaurants operate on the sidewalk of the nearby main road, and banks, convenience stores, beauty parlours which also offer good massages, and other shops are located nearby. The whole of the Patong downtown can easily be walked from the hotel. The beach can also be easily walked to.

Room: the rooms we had (204 initially, and 203 the second time) were of a good size, one themed in blue and the other themed in pink and green. As elsewhere in the hotel the overall theme was Chinese with a lot of attention to detail. The website of the hotel offers an interesting explanation about the philosophy of the differently coloured rooms (each room in this hotel has a different colour theme). Items in the room included a working desk and chair with ethernet port for Internet access (wireless also available as mentioned earlier), TV with up to 50 satellite channels (although some were a bit snowy), in-room electronic safe, wardrobe, a good split-cycle air conditioner with remote and room temperature indicator on the wall unit, and an excellent, firm and comfortable king-size bed. The room had a decent sized balcony overlooking the street, with chairs and a table. There is a fridge in the room which can be filled with drinks available for purchase from the hotel (at reasonable rates; 40 baht for a beer for example) or from elsewhere. The bathroom also was great with a very big showerhead, and a Chinese designer wash bowl, in line with the overall theme.

Cleanliness: very good.

Breakfast: choice of breakfast was available at the restaurant next door, which is owned by the hotel. We chose American breakfast each morning (included in the room rate) which was good.

Staff: friendly and helpful, although some had limited English. However the Canadian owner, who speaks English as well as French, is often around, usually in the mornings.

Booking: had booked at wotif on the day of arrival, only about five hours beforehand, and the booking went through fine - we were expected when we arrived. We paid 950 baht per night, a good low-season rate.

Internet: whilst most large luxury hotels still charge for Internet access, this place has free broadband Internet access available in each room. Both wired and wireless Internet is available in the hotel plus a PC downstairs near the lobby which guests can use free of charge. An excellent initiative.

A few comments: the rooms are on levels one, two and three and there is no lift, so people with mobility problems who cannot climb stairs should not stay here. Hot water is solar powered, and the second two days that we stayed at the hotel there was no sun, and subsequently the water was relatively cold (this was in room 203). However as the days were hot anyway this was only a minor inconvenience. The Aman Grill restaurant located next door, where the breakfast is served, has no air conditioning nor fans, which means that on hot days it can be quite warm there if you get a late breakfast. Management could perhaps look at installing a few fans in there.

Restaurants: next door to the hotel is the Aman Grill restaurant, a small place which is owned by the hotel. Despite it having a full dinner menu, when we stayed it was only upon till noon (for breakfast only). Other than that, within a few minutes walk there are various other restaurants on the main road which serve good quality seafood dinners as well as a large variety of other dishes (beef, chicken, noodles, etc.). Additionally, the entire downtown area of Patong, with its hundreds of bars, restaurants, shops, massage parlours etc. can be easily walked from the hotel.

Shopping: as the hotel is close to the centre of Patong, shops line virtually all streets in the area.

Transport: shuttle van from the airport to the door of the hotel costs 150 baht per person, taxi 550 baht.

Climate: we were there in late August and the weather was above 30 degrees most days and relatively sunny with infrequent showers. The second two days we stayed there the skies were overcast. However these were the only two overcast days in a period of several weeks that we stayed in the Phuket area.

Conclusion: this character boutique hotel was creatively designed and appears to be well managed. The fact that it is clean, economical, in a central location in Patong, with good aircon and has free Internet makes it an excellent option for those who do not require a beachfront hotel. Due to its Internet access it is suitable for both tourists and business people.

Click on my name to see my other reviews.

  • Liked — Overall value for money, attention to detail
  • Disliked — Lack of fans in restaurant next door
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

We were at Phuket for a dive trip last weekend and stayed at the Amanta House, a nicely restored shophouse with a traditional, rustic feel. Rooms were spacious and clean, staff were friendly and very accomodating. We needed to leave at 730am, and the hotel staff were happy to open an hour early to prepare our breakfast.

The only cautionary note is to be aware that there are mosquitoes in the lobby. The hotel is also a ten minute walk from the main Patong beach area. However, for us this was more than made up for by the fact that there was LAN and wifi access in the rooms (the WEP key for the Wifi network in the lobby is 2923234762)

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes in the lobby
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank domo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Viking Residence
Viking Residence
#233 of 322 in Patong
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priew Wan Guesthouse
Priew Wan Guesthouse
#126 of 322 in Patong
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 322 in Patong
1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Patong
ibis Phuket Patong
#50 of 322 in Patong
1,472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#167 of 322 in Patong
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanta House

Property: Amanta House
Address: 5/17 Hat Patong Road 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanta House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanta House Boutique-Hotel will refresh your senses! Enjoy the best the island of Phuket has to offer. Centrally located, only 400 meters from world-known Patong Beach and its crystal-clear water, our superbly appointed Sino-Thai styled guest rooms and apartments will surely satisfy even the most demanding traveler. What makes us different than other small hotels? Unique style, warm atmosphere, outgoing staff, central location and affordable prices! Our private garden area at the rear of the property is also unique and perfectly suited for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanta Hotel Patong
Amanta House Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing