We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun & so simple to cook”

Pum's Cooking School, Patong Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Point Cook, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun & so simple to cook”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Both my husband & I have recently attended Pums cooking class and enjoyed every bit of it.
We were lucky to have Pum show us how to cook a couple dishes & then enjoyed eating our creations.
What I thought was a long & time consuming meals to cook, turned out to be quick, simple & very fast to create.
Thanks Pum & your team - we both enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to get back to Australia & try our talents out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    48
    13
    3
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun, and knowledgeable staff!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Wasn't keen at first but partner insisted. Glad we did it -- staff is very friendly, fun, and knowledgeable. Food you make ends up being great under their steer and it opens up you eyes to the wonders and simplicity of thai cooking and flavours!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun dishes. Easily done”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very clear instruction. Our group had only three of us rather than six so we got a lot of attention. Made easy because everything was chopped before. Good value because you get a large meal out of it too. Would not go for more than 3 hours as it be exhausting. Not all he recipes you cook are in the booklet they give you which means you'll probably end up buying the more expensive book.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank al c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All we wanted in a Thai cooking course!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were lucky enough to be the only two people in Pum's 'Little Shoes' afternoon cooking course. We learnt how to make three different dishes each, and Pum also taught us about the spices and ingredients involved in Thai cooking. She was enthusiastic and very cheerful and the food and cooking facilities were brilliant. We would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in learning about Thai cooking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon learning basics”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I booked from Canberra after looking at various reviews. We received prompt responses to email queries and chose the Little Pigtails class; 5 hrs with just the two of us. We were the first to use their new kitchen, fitted out with all new induction hot plates, so they took lots of photos for their website. We were firstly asked to select 5 dishes each from Pum's cookbook, which we would later prepare and eat. We were then given a few tips from our teacher, Irene, on Thai customs and etiquette which we appreciated.
Irene then went through a large range of herbs, spices and sauces encouraging us to smell and taste each as she explained what they were and how they are used. I was delighted to learn that Thais don't usually eat the lemon grass, galangal and many of the fibrous plants, they are to flavour the meal. We worked our way through each of the 10 dishes, preparing two or three at a time, then sat down to eat the result.
Irene is a very interesting lady and works at 3 different jobs in Patong, including as a volunteer tourist police woman, so we had an ongoing conversation as we prepared an cooked.
Later, after we had cooked all but two of our dishes, she took us to the local fresh food markets for a tour. What a fabulous place, behind the huge Junceylon Shopping Centre, there wasn't a Western face to be seen. Irene went through various vegetables, fruits, herbs and spices with us and we also saw all the fresh seafood and meats, at prices so much better than at the super markets.
We later met and spoke with Pum about her business. She has restaurants in France, Chang Mai, Phi Phi and plans to open in other places.
In summary, a very enjoyable 5 hour introduction to Thai cooking. It is unreasonable to expect to come out an expert after 5 hours, but we have some basics which we can build on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derfsenrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pum's Cooking School, Patong Beach also viewed

 

Been to Pum's Cooking School, Patong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing