We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Squareone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Squareone
Ranked #143 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Morley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Stayed for two nights at this hotel in December 2007.

In my opinion this hotel was excellent value for money for anyone wishing to stay in Patong. The hotel was clean & tidy and ideal for those on a budget. It is located only five minutes walk to the beach. The bars/gogo's are also about five/ten minutes walk away.

I thought the service at the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly. The hotel also will collect you from the airport for a minimal fee.

I have stayed in a fair few different hotels in different parts of Thailand and found this to be one of the best value.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Views
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eddibabyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
19
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin and all over
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

This is a really nice budget hotel at the very end of rat-u-thid road parallel to patong beach. Last turn off on left on the one way road (rat-u-thid) and at the very end of that street – note it is not signposted on the road and no taxi drivers know it as it is reasonably new. It is very close to the Mercure hotel so when you see that you will know you are close (2nd left after Mercure).

It is about 15-20 minutes walk to the bangla road and the party centre and about 10 minutes to the beach. The pool is tiny but you are so close to the beach this does no matter.

There is aircon and safes in all rooms and the beds are comfortable although I did get badly bitten during the night two nights running in one of the rooms.

There is free wireless internet and TV. This is a small hotel but the sound proofing is very poor so if you have noisy neighbours you might have a problem but I was lucky enough other than one lady to liked to express her satisfaction quite loudly.

In the lobby area there are computers and vending machines and 24 hour security. Staff are friendly but get exasperated very easily. I am not sure if this is because of their poor understanding of English or their general attitude to clients. Whenever I walked by the desk and they were dealing with customers they would invariably put their eyes to heaven when the customer had left.

As an aside Patong beach is VERY COMMERCIALISED and you cannot walk 2 steps without being offered food, taxi, tuk-tuk, bike, sex, massage etc. The beach is very busy and the nightlife quite seedy. There are many quieter beaches etc a short taxi ride away and to hire a taxi for a whole day is not that expensive. I did a 3 day scuba diving course while I was there which is a lot cheaper than in other developed countries and most of them seem to be very professionally run (always look for a PADI course). I did mine with ScubaCat and had a really good and safe time.

  • Liked — Great location - good modern small hotel with excellent air con
  • Disliked — paper thin walls
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TheIrishFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

We stayed at Sqare One Hotel for seven Nights from 2Nov- 9Nov this year . We're absolutely satisfied with this hotel , would like to share some important points with fellow travellers.

1. Location is quiet , 5-7 minutes walking from Patong Beach.
2. Our Suite was clean, big enough to stay comfortably, with DVD player in room.
3. Counter staffs are very friendly and helpful. They arranged private airport transfer at reasonable cost (700 THB PER WAY).
4. Lobby was small, with a small pool and two computer terminals for free internet surfing.
5. It doesn't have a restaurant. But there is one near by and entire patong area is full of restaurants and eating joints.

There is no elevator , this was more like a decent hostel with basic facilities and good rooms . Good for budget -concious travellers.
Overall our entire stay was very nice. We would like to come back again.

Indrani Chouduri and Krishanu Chouduri / India

  • Liked — Good Value for money. Nice clean rooms.Friendly staffs.
  • Disliked — Nothing as such. Better if they could serve tea/ breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank INDUIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Desperately wanted to leave At Panta Phuket and found this little gem on wotif.com. Got a single standard room for only 650BHT.

Pros : Excellent location and fairly quiet. Free Wifi. In room Safe, TV.
There is a staff who can even speak a little mandarin. Friendly staff.

Cons : Floor's and sheets are not terribly clean but ok.

For 650BHT is really great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tofu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

booked 2 nights and stayed for 5! we had been in Chiang Mai and Bangkok before Phuket, and didn't expect that Patong was going to offer the best value of the three places. we were really surprised by squareone - lovely deluxe room and a small pool. we even got free internet to catch up with everybody at home! if we come back this way we will stay again.

  • Liked — really good value
  • Disliked — loved everything about it!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank plenet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend for originally a week at the beginning of feb 07. When we arrived we were greeted by the manager and he personally carried our bags up stairs, he then said that we were upgraded to the suite for no extra charge (not really sure why, but we didnt care). the room had a fridge, dvd player tv, and seperate bedroom, it was all perfectly clean and everything worked as it should. There was also a safe in the wardrobe which came in very handy.

It is about a 5-10 min walk to the beach and about 15 mins to the main strip with all the bars . We decided to stay in phuket another two days rather than go back to Bangkok for our final nights in thailand and we could book our room for one night and then the receptionist rang another hostel down the road to see if we could book there for the final night. She even walked me down there to show me where it was and helped me get checked in. She even phoned up our airline with her own personal phone to sort out a problem we were having with changing our flights.

All in all a very friendly and helpful hostel, it was even fun trying to talk to the night porter (me in english and him in thai) when we came in at night.

I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody travelling on a budget.

  • Liked — Helpfullness of staff
  • Disliked — location, but wasnt a major problem.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank purleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

We stayed 3 nites in the hotel for about 800bht per nite. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful.

I am not sure which country the the hotel owner/ manager is from but he is a westerner and thus it was very easy for us to communicate in English with him. He greeted us personally when we arrive and depart from the hotel, and helped us to make local travel arrangements in Phuket with a discount compared to the tour agents outside. He also recommended us to a great restaurant in Phuket which really turned out to be the best meal we had during our stay. In addition, we were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room on our 2nd nite of stay.

This hotel truly offers quality rooms at budget prices. I will definitely recommend it to budget travellers who does not want to compromise comfort.

  • Liked — Friendly & helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Shooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
New Life Phuket Design Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ramaz
Hotel Ramaz
#193 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#202 of 321 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andaman House
Andaman House
#160 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paripas Express Patong
Paripas Express Patong
#238 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#141 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Property: Squareone
Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Squareone 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing