We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel and extremely rude staff, pathetic hospitality..”
Review of Squareone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Squareone
Ranked #133 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 29 April 2014

April 2014, we checked in Square One Hotel, Receptionist was very unwelcoming and rude. view from the room is pathetic (a huge drainage). Room air conditioning was not working. when we complained about the AC and asked her to come and check, she replied that she cannot come up and check.
Wrong room rent given on internet.
Extremely not recommended to all travellers.
All other hotels and guest houses near this locality are far better and cheap also.

Never Never recommend this hotel. This is not a review, this just a advice.

Room Tip: Remove this listing from trip advisor.Extremely disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Priyadarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stay for 4 nights in 6 beds mixed dorm. Room is small but clean, got water heater and locker. Location is OK, a bit far but still a walking distance to Jungceylon. You can rent motorcycle on the front desk. Recommended for budget solo traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skelectron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here 2 days in Patong. Patong is pretty crazy town but the hotel was good. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The beach is a bit of a walk about 15 minutes and they have a small dip pool but I never saw anybody using it. I would say good value for the money. The location isn't greatest but for the price it is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Really clean rooms. Fridge, warm shower and lockers. Close enough to walk into town, up a side street so quiet. Nice view of the mountains. We had to stay an extra night and there was no problem rebooking. The staff advised that it was cheaper to book through hostel world than at the desk.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel staff was friendly at welcome. Room was clean and tidy. Hotel swiming pol is very small and not so good. Near to hotel there is some open area where some people dump so there is mosquito problem in evening. Beach is 12-15 mins walk. Overall value for money!

Room Tip: ensure you carry mosquito prevention lotion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miteshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is a little gem, tucked away in a side street and just 5- 10 minutes walk away from the beach and 1 minute away from the bustling streets of Patong.
This was the cheapest, cleanest and best value hotel during my 3 week stay in Thailand.
The rooms and communal areas are spotless and the fixtures appear to be new and recently fitted.
The hotel was quiet and safe. We paid 450 bahts a night which is under a tenner in sterling and even got a better rate after deciding to book up for another week.
The resident maid is a sweetie and totally honest. She cleans and tidies up daily and nothing ever went missing. Nok at reception speaks the best English and was most helpful in arranging taxis, ferries and general admin tasks. The other staff have limited spoken English but are obliging nonetheless.
We met Mark, the resident Australian of 3 years, and Stefan the owner with whom we enjoyed drinks and conversation by the pool. Both were very helpful with giving tips and advice about Thailand. The pool was small but lovely and clean. This hotel provides the personal touch and really does feel like home. Watch out Mark- I' ll be back!

Room Tip: We didnt mind a room without a window. The suites are very spacious if you don't mind paying a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tina391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here one night- very easy to find as all taxis and transfers know where this hotel is. Clean room with nice bed. A little walk to Bangla Road but this can be an advantage if you want to be away from the noise. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gbessell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Kokotel Phuket Patong
Kokotel Phuket Patong
#62 of 337 in Patong
35 reviews
0 mi away
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
Bad Boys Guesthouse Patong
#212 of 337 in Patong
17 reviews
0 mi away
Paripas Express Patong
Paripas Express Patong
#246 of 337 in Patong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Andaman House
Andaman House
#159 of 337 in Patong
43 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ramaz
Hotel Ramaz
#187 of 337 in Patong
81 reviews
0 mi away
Baantonsai Garden Resort
Baantonsai Garden Resort
#265 of 337 in Patong
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squareone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squareone

Address: 241/34 Rat-u-thit Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £11 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Squareone 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squareone offers luxury rooms at budget prices in the south end of Patong, only a five minute walk to the fantastic white sand beach and local entertainment spots. We are in easy reach of the town centre, bars, restaurants and shops. Squareone has a swimming pool where you can chill out and relax, or browse the net using our free wireless WiFi. Squareone emphasizes personal service and our staff are committed to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squareone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squareone Hotel Patong
Squareone Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing