We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Standard room otherwise nice 3 star property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #65 of 321 Hotels in Patong
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid Standard room otherwise nice 3 star property”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a very nice property aorund close proximety to bangla road and the beach. Yet very quiet at night, we had very good sleep.

Let me share some positives first:
Location: superb very close to everything yet very silent in night.
Rooms: Spacious specially the delux room.
Pool: They have two pools both clean and beautiful, however not very private.
Staff: Good, not excellant some of them were really very helpful and others not.
Cleaniness: Yes i give 4 out of 5.
aircon: very good in delux room

Negatives or rather area of improvements:
Breakfast: not bad but not good either very basic and no variety, it was same everyday
Price: They have price for everything, they charge you 1000 THB in advance for nothing, though they return the same but this policy is not very customer friendly.
Lack of customer satisfaction: For every request they will ahve a very clear yes or no, they wnt try to find a solution if its No ...
Security: Almost none, its entracnce is open and no guard or staff is avalible at entrance to profile visitors.
Standard room: furniture is dated, air con is not good, we upgraded to delux room after staying 2 nights.
View: no view at all, the best is to take pool view

Should i stay again: ofcourse YES, provided i get the delux room at affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Travellers009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    241
    96
    30
    22
See reviews for
120
140
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in duplex room on 11-14 feb2012
1. The room was not so clean, the floor was a bit sticky (detergent problem? water problem?)
2. The water supply caused my hair so dry ( I don't know if any of you faced this problem, but I had to use hair condition just for the sake of combing the hair)
3. I am not so fond of dim light, hence, the lighting of the room was just not fine to me
4. The pool was so attractive, would be better if the water could be cleaner
5. The staffs at the reception counter were not friendly, but the rest were fine
6. The location is ok, but to walk to Bangla road, you will need 10-15 mins
Overall, this hotel is fine, but will not be my selection in next trip

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombs
Level Contributor
205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel was a good location. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was great. Internet for a charge that is very reasonable. Breakfast is included and good. The pool was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It is odd that the female receptionist staff at Poppa Palace hotel was not at all friendly or helpful. If she thinks she is too good for greeting guests then why the job? Strange
The smell of the whole place is rotten and old. Our room faces the lane way with the view overlooks the brothel place… not nice. I asked for a second key to keep the A/C running while I'm out - the answer from the reception was “why – you don’t need it!” I insisted and asked to put down 200 baht deposit (no receipt). These people don’t seem to understand that guests are not walking ATM and expected to have spare cash to pay as the deposits in case we would damage stuff in the room!!! Our room (Deluxe balcony) was big, however the bed and pillows were incredibly hard. I cant emphasize this enough, they were really, REALLY hard & uncomfortable! Never ever came across such a hard as bed …. plus the noise from the A/C , we tried to turned it off, then it was too hot neither of us got much sleep due to this. The place has ants and full of mosquitoes, I was bitten by mosquitoes hence cut short our stay and checked out one day earlier, we did not ask for refund nor discount just want to be out of there.
On the plus side I should point out the convenience of reasonably close to the beach and Bangla Road nightlife. However, breakfast was tasteless as they seem to cater to Eastern Europeans tourists

I was disappointed that the large amounts of positive reviews on here gave me the false illusion that we picked a good hotel. With so much competition in Patong, I'd suggest staying elsewhere and getting better value for money.
Checked-in Jan 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenie_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Have just returned home from two weeks spent in this delightful and very reasonably priced hotel - our second visit. We had the same room each time - one of their 3 Junior Suites - very comfortable with a kitchenette and seperate bedroom with King sized bed - 2 TVs, 2 aircons, balcony, extra living area and large bathroom with bath and seperate shower. The cleaning staff do a great job every day. Centrally located to the beach and shopping - but doesn't get any of the noise from Bangla Road. There are also 2 pools to choose from - both kept very clean. The staff are all extremely pleasant and efficient in all areas. We had been in contact by email and phone with Anne who handled our enquiry and booking perfectly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Poppa Palace gets quite mixed reviews but it is extremely convenient if you want to visit the Paradise Plaza bars and entertainment. The quality of the rooms, cleaning and breakfast is very high relative to the price. The staff are friendly but not obtrusive and there are no visitor fees. It is, however, a family-run hotel and quite Thai. They expect their guests to behave in a respectful and quiet manner. Do that and they will do anything for you.

Behave aggressively or loudly and you may encounter a very diffident response that can become rude if pushed to the extreme. After much patient explanation by the reception staff, I witnessed the manager ask a group of noisy, obnoxious Eastern Europeans to pack up and leave the hotel. I enquired about the 1,000 Baht cash deposit and was told that some guests deliberately break things and or steal them.

I'd heartly recommend Poppa Palace as a quite, well-appointed hotel that respects your privacy. It is close to the beach via a twisting pathway and to the bars at Paradise. If you need a driver and car, ask reception to call Nop.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We (group of 6 adults) stayed in the Poppa Palace Hotel Sentral Pudu for 6 nights in September 2011. This was our second stay also 2010

We knew we had chosen the best hotel for our stay after emailing some months earlier, and the professional contact and customer service from the Hotel.

We had three Deluxe Rooms. The rooms very spacious with a big kingsizebed, and fittings were of first class quality.

The breakfast had great choices of food, a lot of fruits and fullfiled guest-wishes.

The receiption staff who are a credit to management of Poppa Palace Hotel.

Hotel is short walk to Shopping Centres and Bangla Road

We would recommend Poppa Palace Hotel for a stay in Patong.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#59 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#46 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#99 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#56 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#37 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing