We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #65 of 322 Hotels in Patong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just stayed for the 4th time at poppa palace .very nice for the money we think. Staff there are very friendly and especially good to our young son and are genuinely warm people.( boi at the pool bar is the happiest person on earth )quiet location that suits us perfectly.massage out front is spotless and legitimate too unlike most in patong.. Women there are so nice.. buying toys for out son!Plus the restraunt next to it has great cheap food and excellent staff. It's no resort but we love it regardless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    242
    99
    30
    22
See reviews for
121
144
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A good stay again at Poppa Palace, it's a nice hotel with friendly staff and nice pools. We have stayed here 3 times now and it's always a decent experience. Good value too, we were paying 1500baht a night which is a great price for the facilities and location.

Room Tip: Watch out if you are offered a 'family room' and only need one room. You might find yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights til 14/10/2013 with my 2 sons 16 & 18 and was more than happy with our family room. It only came with 1 bed in each room but as we were early they put another bed in for us before we got up there.
The staff were friendly & helpful and as others have commented they can be a bit fussy about the pool towels but hey, just buy 1 from the dozens of places nearby for about $5.
There is a little bar across from the hotel that does laundry for 50baht/kg & they will drop it at reception for you folded & wrapped.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast but the Orange Restaurant next door has a great range of Thai & western food at very reasonable prices ($20 for the 3 of us with a couple of drinks each) & they have fast free wi-fi which makes up for the patchy wi-fi at the hotel.
The rooms were clean & the cleaning staff were flexible & would come back after lunch when the boys woke up so we never felt we were in their way. I would however check the dates on anything from the minibar as I think some things were a bit dated.
Not a 5star hotel but they don't say they are & if you are looking for a value for money stay in the heart of Patong Beach then I recommend Poppa Palace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamBrooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

What an awful place to stay! We expected a cheap hotel and were happy enough for that, but they think they are much better than they are. They stuffed up our room on arrival which was apparently our fault because we were not specific enough when booking a family room for 2 adults and 3 children, and had to specify ages so they could charge accordingly, that we would need more than 2 twin beds.
You can't relax at all in your room because if you dirty the sheets or towels they charge you for it.
After reading reviews on here we told them immediately when they changed our sheets that there was a cigarette burn and a huge brown stain on the sheet. The manager came up to inspect it and tried to blame us, despite the fact that it was clearly a faded, washed out stain and burn, we are non smokers and hadn't even slept in it yet.
If you stay here, bring your own towel or buy one. Its not worth the hassle of having them bash your door down to retrieve their threadbare, ripped pool towels at 7pm every night.
Absolutely no leeway from 6pm pool close for a family to shower and change the children, to the 7pm return time.

When I read other reviews about the hotel smelling, I thought it couldn't be that bad.... I was wrong. Its terrible!
The smells come up from the drains in the floor so your entire room smells like sewerage. And its every room as we have family staying on other floors.

Breakfast is OK for the price. In stark contrast from the rude, arrogant front desk staff, the buffet staff are lovely.
There is enough variety for something different every day, but half is stirfrys and stuff that westerners aren't used to.

Lots of fat old men bring their 'lady for the night' down to breakfast as well. Thats fun to explain to the older kids.

Also see many coming and going from the hotel. Not really ideal at all.

I would advise families to avoid this place.

Adults OK if all you need is a place to sleep.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 79birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by someone. I am so over the moon happy that I followed through with the recommendation. It was affordable, clean and very welcoming. We will never forget Phusit at the bar. He was fantastic and very very funny and cheeky as they come. He picked on his fellow colleague Daw who put up with him. I think they had a great bond to entertain guests. The breakfast was good, nothing to rave about however but was good for breakfast I suppose. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, overall they could do a few fix ups that would take 5 minutes to fix just to keep the room to a 100% standard. Beds are very comfortable as well.

The hotel also offers towels to take to the very busy Patong Beach. If I were to ever go back to Patong, I would stay here absolutely. However Patong is not my favorite place of Thailand but I can comfortably say that if I do return to Patong that Poppa Palace will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed oct 2013 it was the best hotel we have stayed in phuket .The staff are very friendly .rooms are clean and big.great location.Kid friendly .have stayed in 5 other hotels in phuket and this was the best time .Will be back there next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_and_grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As we were the first guest to check out,we thought that we would be cleared first.We arrived 15 minutes before all the guest started to check out at the counter.However slowly a few Caucasians
family came out later than us and they were cleared of the checking out.We went to the counter and ask why we are not cleared yet and the front desk lady keep telling us to wait.As my patience runs thin I went over to the counter and ask again.This time she told us unhappily that we did not give the her deposit receipt and that is why it was delayed.It was so ridiculous as when we surrender our key she should have ask for it which is she is not attending to any guest at all at that point of time!
So is the service there is only for white people and looking down on us ASIAN'S??

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley7728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 322 in Patong
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#48 of 322 in Patong
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 322 in Patong
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
K-Hotel
K-Hotel
#67 of 322 in Patong
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#93 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#147 of 322 in Patong
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing