We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of every thing...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #68 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the middle of every thing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand with friends who were staying at another resort. Poppa Palace is in the heart of the mayhem but situated back of the main road to make it a quiet area. We stayed in the adjoining family rooms opposite the pool. The staff were all friendly and especially Boi who looks after the pool area spoke good English and was always on top of getting my drinks. The breakfast menu is diverse from Thai to western food as well as the egg bar, where you can get your eggs cooked how you want them. Across the road is a great laundry, massage and a place to get your nails done. There are two fantastic restaurants just up on the corner of the lane way for great food and service. Its about a 5-10min walk to the shopping centre or Bangla Road. There are always!!!! taxis and tuk-tuks available either out side or on the main road for those trips away. There are normally couple of taxi drivers out side of the hotel and they can be organised for day trips and very reasonably priced.

Over all I will be staying here again and would recommend to family and friends if they wanted a smaller hotel with out the crowds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    236
    95
    30
    22
See reviews for
118
139
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was at this hotel for 14 nights with my girlfriend, deluxe room breakfast included. Breakfast is pretty much always the same but was decent, eggs are eggs. 5 minutes walk from Patong beach, 10 minutes from Bangla street or that huge shopping center. Never had to take a taxi except for few excursions and far enough from the noise. Mini bar is cheap and quite handy. Pools are small but with the beach so close, didn't feel the need for a pool. They welcomed us late in the evening without any problems, check-out did go very well and fast, no problems overall. Staff is nice in general especially ladies cleaning rooms and serving breakfast.

I didn't expect or wanted a resort and was very pleased for what I paid for, a nice, comfortable and clean place to sleep and relax when needed, close to everything and far enough from the noise. A/C worked perfectly, they cleaned room everyday. Had a few problems with room key and safe which were fixed very rapidly every time. Safe worked fine, just took us a few times to understand the mechanism and staff was helpful and patient.

The street outside was flooded a few times due to heavy rain but didn't bother us. Was just funny and a sweet reminder I was in Thailand.

I would sincerely consider staying there again if I was to return to Patong, I looked around and couldn't wish for a better location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallett Cove
Level Contributor
367 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were looking for a fill-in for three days because we could not extend at our vresort:so local travel/leisure firm organized a viewing at this hotel. The bookings manager Kun Ann was delightful and had a Bell-Boy take us to a standard room (family adjoining rooms).
The rooms were well appointed and with the same amenities as our resort at half the price.
We would certainly stay here on a return visit as the hotel was clean, in a quiet area and all of the staff seemed so helpful and friendly. Please note we did not stay here (opted for side trip to Krabi) but we were certainly impressed by what we saw and heard from clients who were happily resident during our look-over.
Thank you Kun Ann

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JONHallettCove J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after being in Karon for 8 days. If you like Patong and want to be out of the noise, this place is fine. Price is fabulous, rooms are clean, breafast was ok and facilites are fine. Wasn't a huge fan, after resort style for 8 days I struggled with this but for $30AUD a night can't complain. Staff were helpful, location is great, and a short walk to beach through the back way, 2 pools, quite a small bar pool area. Would I stay here again - maybe if i was on a shopping trip, for a romantic holiday - no would pay the extra $ and stay resort style in low season, would hubby stay here again - yep no problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very nice hotel, with a good location (though close to the centre it's quiet), and I'm in a wheelchair they had a ramp, but it was very steep, but there was always a stafmember available to help me ascend/descent. only let down the bathroomdoor was just too narrow for the wheelchair (just an inch!), but we managed anyway. All in all very nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Poppa palace is located between the Paradise complex with all it's bars and restaurant, og the beach. In other words it is a very short walk from the place you will want to be in the evenings, and have got only a very short walk to transfer oneself to a comfortable beach chair the next morning.

The rooms and facilities are clean and spacious, and offer very good value for money. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and will take care of all your needs 24/7. A towel service that lends you out large, soft, comfortable towels for the beach or the pool is extra nice.

The breakfast is generous, and offers a selection of thai and western dishes. An egg station where the cook prepares fried eggs and omelettes to your liking is extra nice.

I am very happy with my stay at Poppa Palace, and will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to Patong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RutangisGylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a fabulous stay at Poppa Palace, location was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly! Great location walking distance to beach, shops, bars and restaurants. Rooms were very clean and tidy, we had a family room which provided plenty of room for a family of 4. Kids loved the pool and can say we enjoyed the convenience of the pool bar. Can also recommend a massage directly across the road and both restaurants offer great food and value for money (Patong Corner/Orange Cafe). Bell boys were fantastic always there to help. Will definitely recommend you to friends and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#57 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#86 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#51 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Property: Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppa Palace Hotel welcome you truly warm Thai style and providing an exquisite view of Patong. We are a small luxurious hotel located at the quiet end of Patong. Only 3 minutes from the beach, Bangla Road and 2 minutes to the bus-stop, food center, entertainment and shopping center. 5 minutes to the hospital and Police Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing