We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please don't book this hotel-poppa palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Ranked #61 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 5 April 2009

i stay poppa palace-phuket at 17.03.09 - 20.03.09, some body inside my room & using cutter to cut my luggage lock, of course i complain in reception, all the staff no care of my case, service is very bad.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 573 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 18 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 February 2009

This is decent hotel and in fantastic location. Just few steps away from Patong Beach and Bangla Road. The hotel is little expensive compared to its standard maybe for its location.

Check-in n Check-out was smooth and while check-in provided welcome drinks and cold towels which was very relaxing. Rooms were ok but bathrooms are small.

Breakfast doesnt have much variety but was fine though.

It has also got nice small and clean swimming pool.

Please be careful with minibar. One evening I found couple bottles gone missing from the bar and informed reception to avoid being charged the same to me. There was no hassel with this.

By the side of the hotel there is a narrow lane which ends in front of Patong Beach and few steps away from Bangla Road. The road is dark and narrow but still its safe.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Pros:
- Clean, basic rooms
- Good location (Close to Patong night life, but far enough to avoid the noise; Walking distance to beach, Lots of eateries nearby)

Cons:
- Not so friendly Staff (Especially the Front Desk; we were greeted by frowns when asking for late check-out.)
- Water pressure of shower is too low
- Breakfast spread is limited, and the quality of food was so-so (sausage and ham were tasteless)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Assirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

The poppa palace advertizes being a "small but luxurious hotel", but in a nutshell, the reality is more like "standard and overpriced".

The check in was ok, and the first impression of the room was average. This is your standard holiday hotel. At 1500 baht a night however, one can expect more.

Details:
- The room has a tiled floor and some tired looking wooden furniture.
- size of the room is okayish
- there is a small tube tv with some 20 channels that include bloomberg tv, the french tv5, bbc and the russian rtr.
- the hotel has wifi internet, which is priced 600 baht for 4 days or 200 baht for one day, which again is okayish. The service had outages.
- the bathroom is this hotel's weakest point: first, it is very small (in fact so small that hotel staff places the towels in the bedroom). I dont mind showers, but i want to have some flexibility with a hose or something instead of an antiquated shower head in a fixed position. Not convenient to wash your feet for example.
Another weak spot in the bathroom is the poor lighting. They obviously were already criticized on that point and placed a bright light in the shower, but the lighting near the mirror is still very weak.
- the pillows are rather hard and uncomfortable
- the breakfast is fresh, but offers few choice. You got coffee, tea, toast bread, butter and 2 kinds of jam, 3-4 thai breakfast dishes (for example fried rice), eggs, salad, fruits (pineapple and watermelon), some industrial grade juices.
- the location of this hotel is its main strength: the beach is 3 minutes away on foot and there are many restaurants nearby, as well as the main entertainment venues on bang na road. While we were staying at the poppa though, the was some building going on in the vicinity. They were doing the anchoring, and the groung shook every five seconds. It didn't disturb us much though, as it started late (about 10:00) and stopped early (like 15:00 or 16:00).. Thai work schedule!

We thought to check out after the first night, but since we prepaid with a thai agent, we saved the hassle to get the money back.
My overall impression with this hotel is "okayish while overpriced".

The hotel's mission statement to be a small but luxurious hotel is met only regarding it's size.

Since any review of a hotel in Thailand is from my point of view incomplete without information on the joiner fee policy, the hotel stated that a joiner is charged 500 baht. I suspect this may be waived if you book a double room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#52 of 331 in Patong
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#39 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crib Patong
The Crib Patong
#70 of 331 in Patong
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket

Address: 14-16 Rat-u-Thit 200 Pee Soi 1, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#33 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £26 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to truly warm and serene Thai style hotel which consists of 117 guest rooms and suites, providing an exquisite view of Patong, where is located in the centre of Patong City with only 5 minutes walk to Entertainment area, Shopping Centre, Food Centre and only 7 minutes - walk to Patong Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppa Palace Patong
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing