We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! *****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Ranked #5 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and met quickly with some much needed refreshments. The grand hallway and alfresco bar area was a beautiful sight for sore (weary and tired) eyes.

The room was lovely with a king bed, lounge area and well equipped mini bar and bathroom. All rooms overlook the pool with an option of a room with your own semi private (as it is shared with others on that level) pool. Room service and dining in house was obviously more expensive then typical street eats but delicious and plentiful. I highly reccommend any of the Pizzas, the Reuben Sandwhich and the Banana Republic Mocktail!

The room was serviced adequately and for those lazy days where leaving the room after 2pm occured, a quick phone call ensured our room was serviced upon return.

The pool is wonderful and large with lounge chairs a plenty and drink/food service to your chair (service was at times a little slow but understandable considering the amount of people ordering food/drinks at the swim up bar). The gym is well equipped, quiet and cool with cardio machines, assisted weight machines and free weights.

As the hotel is new and still under some construction there is slight noise during the day. This does make lying by the pool relaxing not completely blissful but not too much of an inconvenience. The hotel was also a short 10/15min stroll to Bangla Rd, Juncylon Shopping Mall and Patong Beach.

All in all, a great new, modern and friendly hotel with wonderful service staff and great hospitality! A wonderful (almost) two weeks at the Grand Mercure and we will definitely return on our next trip to Phuket.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelDelCic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Meldelcic,

Thank you very much for such a detailed and wonderful review.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed everything of your stay, from the rooms to the food selection, Hotel design to its location.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us for (almost) 2 weeks... Hopefully we will see you again next year!

with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for A$80 a night without breakfast.
Pros
Position - perfect - close to all the great restaurants and shops but far enough away to be fairly quiet,
Beds - super comfy with great sheets, the best sleep we had in 3 weeks :)
Rooms - we had the standard room and it was fairly small but quite attractive.
Pool - clean and beautiful
Massage - a bit more expensive than outside of hotel but really good - ask for Da - she is wonderful.

Cons
Noise - the hotel is a long way from being finished and there was constant construction noise - even into the night - which is unacceptable.
Unfortunately my otherwise perfect massage was spoilt by constant sanding, drilling and hammering close by
There was a power cut meaning there was no music or airconditioning available for the first half hour of the massage :( no big deal but just a shame)
Check in - very unfriendly welcome - the man who checked us in was tired and disinterested - not a great way to start out holiday - most other staff were good but some had limited English.
Bedding arrangement - we are a couple but were given two single beds. Note - the beds are only inches apart so this could be an uncomfortable bedding arrangement for some guests. Because of the fixed bedside tables they cannot be moved any further apart !
Bathroom - good but lots of mould around the bathtub which is unexpected in a new hotel.
TV - big but no Australian TV station available
Lounge - silly design, uncomfortable and unusable.

We really wanted to like this hotel but were disappointed with our stay.
It lacked atmoshphere and felt 'empty'.
Why, why, why would you consider opening a hotel when it is a long way from being completed ?? I believe the soft opening is very soon but it seemed that around 30 % of the room were still being worked on !!!
There are so many options for similar tariffs around Patong so until this hotel is completely finished choose another one !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear MickiAustralia,

Thank you for this long and very detailed review of our property. Looking at the number of reviews you have made in the past, i believe it is a very obejective one and it will certainly help us improve in various areas.

Reviews received so far, from well travelled customers or new-comers to this Tripadvisor have mostly been outstanding to-date and it looks like unfortunately in your case... lots of things went wrong. I am really sorry for that and wish to appologize on behalf of our entire team for the lack of attentiveness shown in various areas.

As you correctly pointed out, we are at about 70% of the hotel completion, still in soft opening period and while the remaining work consists mostly in wood and deco works, the team has lately been also working on some deffects in and outside the rooms. I was not aware of work being done at night as i am living in-house myslef but have asked our Chief Engineer to investigate this matter right away. This is indeed unacceptable but i can promise you it is not a usual habit of ours and it will be corrected shortly.

I am also very concerned about comments made in regards to check-in process. If there is one thing we have entire control over is our own selves and the attitude shown towards customers. I found this as unacceptable as the few other points mentionned above and will again look into this specific matter shortly.

Spa is the perfect exemple where friendliness and great service given by K.Da are compensating the inconvenience caused by external disturbances (to certain extend i agree).
I will take this opportunity to thank Da for her friendliness and dedication shown.

As for the rooms, we are adapting to humidity and condensation caused by the air-conditionned unit and i have asked our team to again check on this.

I also wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments about the rooms and comfort of the beds. We specifically worked on providing great nights of sleep and quality showers, hoping that dedication and attentiveness from the team would ensure a fantatic tay for all.

Once again, very sorry we could not achieve this this time around and shall you decide on giving our team and property a second chance in future, please rest assured i will be more than happy to help with making it this time, a Grand stay afterall.

with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The best thing about Grand Mercure is its location which is very close to the most happening places in Patong. For Patong Beach, take right from the hotel and then left from Family Mart and right again from Hard Rock Café while for Bangla Road, take right from Family Mart and go straight. Both places are not more than 10 minutes’ walk. No need to wait for the Hotel Shuttle. We got a pool facing room which had an excellent view of the pool area. The room had everything that we could have asked for though the toiletries were just ok. The breakfast buffet spread at the hotel was very decent with plenty of options including options for Indian vegetarians like mix vegetarian curry (which was pleasantly surprising). It will be good if they can provide some good bread options as well (like stuff parantha) to go with the curry. The seating space was very good which meant there was no overcrowding even during peak hours. Also there are plenty of dining options nearby if you do not want to eat at the hotel. For Indian vegetarians, try Madras Café on Bangla Road which makes excellent Dosa’s. Also several currency exchange options available within 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel (turn right from Family Mart) but do check the rates before committing since they can vary significantly. The Spa at the hotel is very average. I had a 90 minutes Thai massage which was nowhere close to good (it was ironical since you would normally expect a good thai massage in Thailand!). I had better thai massage in places outside of Thailand! There are plenty of massage options very close to the hotel at cheaper prices.
We used hotel cab to travel from the airport to the hotel which was expensive. Next time we are going to try Phuket Shuttle (Phuketshuttle.com) which we found to be very reliable and cheaper option to commute in Phuket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kshitij2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kshitij.2003,

Thank you for this very detailed and great review of our property.

I am really pleased with the fact you both had a GRAND stay with us and will pass on your regards to our Food & Beverage team and Chef espcially... a few more Indian Nan' bread will indeed be nice and complement our selection of Oriental and Vegetarian selection (Hope you had a chance to try our "kadhai" from the a-la-carte menu too?).

Thanks again for your comments and while it is always difficult to find inexpensive transportation in the area, please rest assure i will today discussed with our Spa & recreation Manager to discuss furhter about treatments being given at our Ryn Spa.
I had one last week to be honest and it was great, but spa is a little like food, tastes and colors... some might like it strong, some other softer, some might be experienced and like the Thai tradionnal ones, other might prefer the gentle touches of an aroma therapy treatment.

We are still adjusting and therefore offering special opening rate and i am happy to see this experience did not alter the overall vision you have of our property and services.

Once again, thank you for your time.
with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. It was such a nice experience and the hotel is just beautiful. The food has the highest standard I've ever experienced in Phuket area - so good and very reasonable prices. The spa is very good - all personal really know what good service is. Best hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valentin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valentin,

Many thanks for this wonderful review on of property!
I am glad you loved the place and had a chance to experience afe of our Chef's specialties...

Please kindly let us know next time you plan a trip to Phuket, will be very happy to help!

with grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staff is all nice and friendly, breakfast is delicious and have many choice.
The problem is cleanliness of the room. The room haven't cleaned throughly the day we checked in. And we had to wait for long time every time we asked for room service and for other needs. I like their attentive service, however I might stay different hotel next time

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Epig42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear epig42,

Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Phuket Patong during your last holidays in the Kingdom.
I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay overall despite the housekeeping issues you have encountered. We do not, on check-in day usually re-clean the room once check-in but simply oper a turndown service in which we check if all amenities are completed and if the bed is ready for a good night sleep. It is however ver sad to read that you experienced similar issues on the following day and please rest assured i have shared your comments with our Housekeeper earlier today, so to conduct additional training and work on floor supervision as well.

Thank you for your great comments about food and team, very much appreciated!

Pelase let me know if you do plan another trip in a near future, i will be very happy to help perosnally with booking and ensure you with a most realxing stay.

with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have booked 3 days 2 night room for our short gate-away.

Staffs are very nice and helpful, checked in was very fast and they serve us a nice complimentary drinks with a small desserts. It is very nice to have it after you have a long journey to reach the hotel.

We get a room at level 6, facing to the swimming pool. We're very impress for that morning and night view towards to the pool. Room is very clean and provide all necessary amenities.

Good location to stay here. It's walking distance to Hardrock cafe, Bangla street and shopping mall. So basically you can visit to those hot tourist spot at any time.

We will definitely choose to go back for this hotel again !

Room Tip: Get a room which connect to swimming pool. So you can have your "own pool" and swim all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon_lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sharon_lizard,

Thnak you so much for such a superb review!
I am always very pleased to start the day on such a positive note and can't thank you enough for sharing your experience with the World.

Glad you loved the room comfort and design!!

See you next year hopefully,
Thank you
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I choose this hotel due to my friend's recommendation, The hotel is very charming, nice room, nice swimming, very good food, excellent friendly staff. All the room are very newly decorate and over looking to swimming. It locates in central of town, where you can find every thing, night market, walking street, and seafood restaurant and there is settle bus to the beach as complimentary. I really enjoy my stay for 5 days, the staff is always helpful with your excursion where you want to do every day. I will be back again for the next summer holiday.

Room Tip: You either could choose the room upper floor or the room with swimming. All room are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chumnith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Chumnit,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!
I am very pleased to note you had a great stay with us and will pass on your kindest regards to our team as well.
Our Location is indeed ideal, a few steps away from the entertainment, yet secluded enough to give everyone a chance to chill and relax.

With Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 331 in Patong
1,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Phuket Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Phuket Patong

Address: 1 Soi Rat-U-Thit 200 Pi 2, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Patong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £83 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Phuket Patong 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong located just walking distance away from Patong's nightlife and the Andaman Sea, Grand Mercure Phuket Patong is a 314 room beach resort that includes suites and pool villas. Complimented with a bistro like restaurant, three unique meeting venues, a bar that boasts the largest beer selection in Phuket, fitness centre, spa and kids corner, the hotel represents a new generation of retreats combining natural beauty and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Phuket Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing