We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveller rating
1,050
464
141
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,050
464
141
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roombubbles restaurantswim up barbangla roadstayed here for nightsthe general managermain poolacross the roadlate checkkids clubfantastic hotelshopping mallsuperior roomwelcome drinkbuffet breakfastgreat poolfamily mart
Filter
Updating list...
1,194 - 1,199 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location of this hotel is very convenient . Close to shopping centre , night life and local restaurant.We checked out from Grand Mercure on 23th July. We really enjoy during our 7 night stay.We got higher floor room, so that we didn't hear the noise from the pool.Our room was very new with comfortable king bed.Breakfast was fantastic.And the staff extremely very helpfull.
The last night of our stay , we got birthday cake surprise. Thank you to Mr.Sebastien and all the staff. We really appriciate.We wish we could stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor to avoid the noise from the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Amy M,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review.
I am very pleased to see you both enjoyed your stay with us very much.
Please come back for your birthday next year again, we'll have a bigger surprise for you i promise :)

Many thanks and see you again soon,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great hotel in Patong, 5 mins walk to the beach and close proximity to restaurants, market and shopping centre.

The hotel looks very new and nice clean rooms.

Rooms were a little on the smaller side. We requested a double room but got a twin room, when asked they simply pushed the beds together without offering to change room or explanation on why they couldn't accommodate.

The hotel offered awesome breakfast with lots of variety.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ngockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Ngockie,

Many thanks for this 5* rating and very kind review.
Glad to see you have enjoyed your stay very much. Please rest assured we could not move you to another room and that's the reason why we simply join the bed. Many guests do actually realize it as we are using 2 twin beds of 3.5ft each, giving an extra 1ft to guests compared to the usual 6ft king size bed that features into our regular double room. We have a 3" topper that fits on top of it perfectly and i do hope you enjoyed great nights of sleep too.

Thank you for the kind comments about the atmosphere too.

with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for 1 night before heading to phi phi.
Booked to stay here as they are a member of the Accor chain and we're platinum members which should give us an upgrade when available and access to the VIP lounge.
When we arrived little early than check in time, we were happy to wait as it had to be decorated as we were on honeymoon. However room wasn't ready until close to 2.30pm. We were told we could not get an upgrade as the pool access rooms were all booked (they only have 10 available as majority of hotel is still under construction)
According to their website, they have the 'Suites' but when we enquire these were not even finished!

The Superior room is TINY. we were told about 35sqm. This may be acceptable if this was in Singapore or HK, but it's the smallest room we have seen so far in Thailand.
Also the VIP lounge was not even OPEN!! when we went downstairs to complain, suddenly a room in the pool access became available!!! (but only twin bed option so we didn't take this)
VERY poor form for a supposedly 4 star hotel.
Also the laundry line in the toilet is right next to the toilet seat. Whoever thought this would be a good place to put it I wonder?

Remember not to take the laundry bag OR the slippers as they will charge you for it!!
See the attached photo of the price list. Instead of treating you like a customer, it makes you feel like they're treating you like a potential thief!!
Absolutely shocking experience for a 'GRAND' mercure. We definitely did not have a 'grand' stay and advise people to book with a different hotel, as for $100AUD a night you can get lot better rooms elsewhere and better service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sydneyplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Sydneyplum,

Thank you for your feedback.
I did send you a personal email a few days ago to appologize in person. I hope you had a wonderful time around the island afterwards and that we did not spoil the mood entirely.
I am really sad to see we were not able to satisfy you fully and wish to appologize for this unfortunate episode of course.

This being said, and as much as i would agree about our property not being "100%" completed, it is important to keep in mind that upgrade for Platinium member is only offered if available upon arrival at the property. As you correctly mentioned, we couldn't offer you a pool access nor a Suite, for availability or completion reason.
We have 4 of our Suites that have been handed over but i have personally asked our team not to give those away just yet, especially to well-travelled guests like yourself (Le club accor member), as deffect works have not been done yet and i believe a well-appointed 35 sqm pool view room is much better than a 60 sqm one in which painting, ari-con or water pressure jobs have not been fully tested and fixed yet.

The Club House is coming soon and I am sorry you couldn't get the complimentary refreshments and privacy you were probably expecting. It will be ready in a about 10 days.

It is saddening to be rated on the completion of the property only, considering it takes usually up to 8-10 months to get everything going smoothly. We will be fully completed in 5 months and this means a lot of work is being done daily, to please every guests while continuing the work "back of the house". Things can go wrong unfortunately, but what matters is how we react to every single concern or comment and what preventive and corrective actions are taken on daily basis, to limitate the risks and improve ourselves. I have probably appologized more over the last 4 months than i ever did in my short career, but we all do what we have to to please and recomfort guests when things are not exactly going the way they should.

Looking at other guest feedback, staying a lot longer than just one night, paying a higher rate than you did yet enjoying themselves very much, i think we are on the right track till and if you ever decide on giving us a second chance, you will i am sure realize that we are very passionate about what we do and very keen on assisting our guests in having fun and a relaxing time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for further comments you may have, so to help us serve you and other guests better in future.

with Grand regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are currently staying in a pool room which is a must. We stayed first night in a normal room and all though it had some good things about it (lounge area bigger) the pool access is just great. We arrived to hotel around midnight and after almost 24 hours of travelling we couldn't wait to go to sleep and wake up fresh the next day, however our room and our friends room got a call about 7.30/8am which woke us all up asking if we wanted our complementary drinks? Which we had when we arrived. I brought this up with reception the next day asking does this happen each day and they didn't understand why we got a call and were Apologetic and said they would investigate. Overall lovely hotel and the construction noise hasn't been that bad! Cocktails in the pool has to be my favourite the barman makes awesome cocktails can't remember his name :) but he is amazing. Food is delicious. And also good markets right across the road too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Shari J,

Thank you so much for such a wonderfule review!!

Very glad you love the coktail and overall atmosphere of the property.
I have asked our IT Manager to look into the "early" wake up call you mentionned about. It seems there was an issue with the automated system which has now been fixed.

Thank you once again,

Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I contacted hotel to check if any construction, as mentioned on earlier review on here.
I was advised NO construction noise or inconvenience to guests.
There was noise of angle grinders and hammers near pool. Sitting by pool was unpleasant, however rooms well insulated so not as bad. Rooms were modern and pleasant, very clean.
Pleasant staff in Restaurant and bar. Reception staff ok, but not forthcoming with information on hotel or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayNay744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien T, General Manager at Grand Mercure Phuket Patong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Naynay 744,

Thank you for this very positive (and objective) review of our property.
We are going through the last few weeks before completion and speeding the process sometimes means little diturbances to the guests I am afraid. Please kindly note we are monitoring those daily and are trying to asist and compenate guests in any way we can, to make it a most enjoyable stay still.

Pleae kindly let me know if you plan a new trip to Patong anytime soon, will be happy to organize your future reservation personally.

Many thanks once again,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews