We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Putrid experience, do not stay at this hotel under any circumstances” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Ranked #125 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Putrid experience, do not stay at this hotel under any circumstances”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel they demanded I pay $250 Australian dollars to attend their new years eve dinner even though I advised them i couldn't attend. In the end after countless hours arguing with them I was forced to pay as they said if i didn't pay them up front they would put it on my bill regardless (there was never any mention of any new years eve dinner when i booked the hotel and it's criminal they enforced this charge on their guests). The new years eve dinner charge was enforced on many people who arrived there to stay and there were very angry people fighting with them all day and night about how unfair it was to forced people to pay for a dinner they had no way of attending and couldn't. On the way to my already booked new years eve dinner elsewhere i browsed their new years eve dinner they had put on and it was a tiny meal and beyond criminal they could ask for a guest of their hotel to pay their $250 heft price tag.

This was just the beginning, we were charged for drinks we had by the pool that we had already paid for. Even though we paid the bill the man behind the bar was very sketchy pretended we didn't pay the charge and added the charges onto our future bill that we were forced to pay later.

Further, each night we would wake up covered in bites as the beds were filled with every kind of insect you can imagine and things from the mini bar went missing from our room.

The wifi was non existent. The serviceman at reception advised that they offered free wifi but agreed it was so slow that it wasn't possible to use (laughing about it as he told us). They didn't even offer wifi you could purchase so essentially i had no internet access for my entire stay.

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed at and i would definitely not recommend anyone ever staying there. As other people have stated in reviews above the hotel staff are very rude and don't assist in any way and try to charge you for everything and anything they can. When we left we had to carry our own luggage and weren't even acknowledged or thanked for our stay and had to pay charges that weren't ours.

The hotel completely ruined our stay in Thailand and it was the best feeling finally leaving to stay at another place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    150
    59
    28
    32
See reviews for
71
196
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I had a mixed experience staying at the hotel. The location is great..rooms are massive, but somewhere something is lacking. The staff is a little indifferent, they seem to be going through the motions. The lady at the desk for booking tours was extremely nice though. Checkout was a torrid experience. They had one trainee by the name of Phurawit P. at the reception who was the only staff available at that time as everyone else was on leave!!!! He made my whole experience at the hotel leave a bad taste in my mouth. The guy is downright rude with no common sense. The hotel has great potential but unless they train their staff better people will never come back for another stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel has good sized rooms and bathrooms and a great pool but thats about all the compliments I could give the place. Most of the staff are very unfriendly. They charge you ridiculous rates to call local tour operators to confirm your pickups if they even agree to call in the first place. There was a handyman who was actually quite friendly as we required him to cut one of the locks on our suitcases upon arrival. Room service is very delayed and often arrives open and cold. Breakfast was the same everyday but you get what you pay for. The welcome drink is not worth the walk to get it in the coffee shop below the hotel. The lady operating the shop was rather unfriendly as well.They have a bar at the reception. Surely you could get your welcome drink there at the very least. Cleaning service is very delayed and the cleaners get extremely upset if you call reception and request them to come. The cleaning service is rather poor at that as well so dont expect spotless toilets or rooms. If you use the ashtray in the balcony rather leave it inside if you want it emptied as that is apparently too much to clean if left in the balcony as well. The beds are huge but rock hard. Quite a lot of small insects and ants as well so do an inspection before you go to bed. We had to get the room sprayed a few times while there. On check out the bell boy didn't even bother to come up to the room and I ended up taking our luggages down on our own despite having called reception twice. Also there is no spa at the hotel. They arrange day trips to a spa if required according to the reception ladies. This was our third trip to Phuket and by far the worst hotel we stayed in so far but I assure there are worse in Phuket. If you want a good pool and big room across the road from the beach at a low price, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: You have a no room choice. They allocate a room to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stylez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Am just back from Phuket and a stay at the pool access room at this hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. The food is awesome. Rooms are super clean and spacious. Looking forward to visit again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DheemantShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

we were part of a group from Russia in which we normally stay in Pattaya City but this time our leader want to come to Phuket for a change. We never come here before and we thought that it might be the same as Pattaya but in reality, it is far beyond that. The Beach is nicer, clearer and a lot of activities including a wonderful place like Paragon. At first when we saw it, it 's a small place and nothing fancy about it but when we arrived, we received a warm welcome smile & greeting ( very few of us understand English ) It's better than some big property that we had stayed before. The room is hugh with large balcony facing big swimming pool. Breakfast is a buffet style full of both western & Asian and change menu every day, We had also Buffet DInner in the coffeeshop. It 's also taste good. staff were attentive. Hotel itself is very near the Beach, just across the street. 7-11 is opposite the hotel as well as Money Changer. Unfortunately we have not had much time to spend in the Hotel as we had many fixed program outside. Anyway, it was a happy moment for us. we will come back again

Room Tip: Room facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights and loved this resort! have recommended it to many of my friends. The staff are extremely kind and friendly, the resort rooms and pool are of a high standard and are beautiful, clean and relaxing. One minute walk to the beautiful Patong beach with chrystal clear water, massages, drinks and food. loved it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_m_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in a deluxe room for 8 nights. The room itself is very large by Asian standards the bed however is far too hard for European travellers. The pool is very large and shallow with a swim up/walk up bar. The prices were reasonable. The resort itself is situated about 15 minute walk from Bangla Rd and Jungceylon shopping centre north of the main cbd area so is relatively quiet. I recommend that you upgrade to a pool access room. The staff were friendly and helpful. We paid $71 a night which included a buffet breakfast. The bathroom wasn't cleaned very well for days until we got a new cleaner and also there is no internet free wifi access.

Room Tip: upgrade to a pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.6 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#143 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#35 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
#80 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lantern Resorts Patong
0.1 mi away
B-Lay Tong Phuket
B-Lay Tong Phuket
#54 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Paragon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Paragon Resort & Spa

Property: Patong Paragon Resort & Spa
Address: 280 Prabaramee Rd. Patong, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Patong
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Paragon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Patong Paragon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Paragon Hotel Patong
Patong Paragon Resort And Spa
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing