We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun in Phuket”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa del Mar
Ranked #233 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I had a beautiful room with balcony looking directly at the beach. The service was good and the view of Patong Beach was great. Food at the hotel was tasty and moderately priced. Everything was walking distance from the hotel. I did rent a bike for a few days and it was very cheap. Drove around as traffic is not a problem.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are my favorite and they have larger rooms on lower levels. All have great views o...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2008

I had a lovely stay at Hotel Del Mar.
The rooms are clean and well presented with beautiful seaviews to the front. It is also situated out of the main area of Patong, so it is quiet at night.
Dieter and the staff are very relaxed and friendly and the food in the restaurant is of a good standard.

All in all a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We booked our stay here through a website. As usual we were required to pay a deposit to secure our booking with the balance payable on checkout. However when the time came to leave, the girl on the front desk insisted we pay the full amount. She had the print-out of our booking with the deposit clearly stated and yet claimed that this was a fee charged by the booking company and we still had to pay the full price. We debated her understanding of the online booking process and asked her to phone Dieter the owner to check. However, Dieter agreed with her and insisted the deposit should not come off our bill. Well we argued this for as long as possible, but in the end paid it since our taxi was waiting and we did not wish to risk missing our flight. It really put a damper on our whole stay here, and now I can only think of the owner with anger.

Having now read other recent reviews of the the Villa del Mar, and Dieter's behaviour, I see a pattern emerging. Perhaps it is best to avoid this place.

Other points: Nice location for Patong, relatively quiet, with great access to the beach. Views are obscured by unique Thai overhead electricty cabling 'system'. See other reviewers photos. Our bathroom tap had a hole in the plumbing resulting in constantly wet floors. We were on the 4th floor - do not stay here if you are old or infirm! The food is very poor, breakfast is passable, but I would avoid any other meal. The cleaner swapped our nice pair of tweezers for her old blunt rusty pair and hoped we wouldn't notice - we didn't say anything because she looked a bit downtrodden, and hey, they are only tweezers.

None of the taxi drivers, airport shuttle people, or tour operators know where the Villa del Mar is. This caused us to be picked up late on almost every occasion.

Having now travelled around Thailand and stayed in a variety of accomodation, I can say that this place is also very overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tautai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

The owner turned violent

My husband (German, 31) and I (well-educated Thai, 30) were in this villa hell mar hotel (named by previous guest) during Christmas 2007.

On the first day there was no hot water from the shower, and cold water came only in small quantities. So I came down from the 4th floor, no lift, to explain the problem because there was no telephone in the room. I told Dieter (the owner) and explained that the price they wanted (2000B) was too high for the quality so either we paid 1000B a night or we leave. He agreed with 1000B a night. Otherwise we would not stay at this hotel and would already have left soon after that we found out that the shower did not work, although it was late at the evening. I could also speak Thai to his wife, but she could not make any decision. So she was also there and seemed to have understood what we said. Indeed I just checked and the price at this time should be 1750B a night at atsiam.com.

On the second day there was nothing exciting. They asked if everything was OK last night. We said 1000B a night was OK, no worries and started to explain the new problem, that the water was leaking from the air condition above our bed. Now some more water came out from the shower but still no hot water. The wife explained me later that we should not adjust the air condition ourselves.

On the third day we handed in the key in the morning because we wanted to swim and were afraid that we could lose it. When we were back and wanted the key, they could not find it, and said that we must have lost it by ourselves. 20 mins later one of the staff found the key in the wrong box. Note that they have many small boxes to keep the keys for each room. We did not hear one word of apology from them. Just silence.

The worst thing was on the last day when we wanted to get our luggage in the evening to get the plane at 20.30, which we left at the reception around noon. No late checking out possible, because the owner said that there were many requests via email. I wondered how could he check the mails if the internet there always did not work. Also I checked before with the wife and knew that the room was still available for that night. Anyway, what I knew was that the rest of payment should be just 1000B more (2000B deposit). When I wanted to pay 1000B, Dieter acted that the deal of 1000B a night was just for the first night and not for the rest of our stay. We were discussing in German and I said that can't be true. If he said 1000B a night without any other words like "just for the first night", how can it mean that it was just for the first night! Now my husband can't stand any more, and said that it was not what we have made. Then I tried to finish the conversation and gave 1000B. So we gave 1000B, now Dieter started to be violent, tried to block my husband and me at the reception room, far from other guests, who were sitting on the terrace. I did not pay any attention and walked out to the terrace with our luggage to the terrace. Then the situation that I did not expect happened, I saw that he did not allow my husband to come out. I turned back to my husband immediately to help him from Dieter. He attacked my husband and pulled him down to the floor immediately. After we got to the terrace, he did not stop and tore our backpack apart. At the end two local tourist police came. Now Dieter sat on the terrace, did like nothing had happened. His wife spoke to the police, who could not do much, they just said that we had to make a compromise, which was that we should pay 1000B more or could not go. Finally we had to pay in order not to miss our plane, the van was already waiting. If we would not be lacking in time, we would get Dieter to the police station that he attracted my husband and damaged our backpack. There was a Thai guide whom I got to know there, he said no Thai guides would pass any guests to them.

I almost forgot to add that during these four days there was no internet all the time. If it would ever work, it would be just at the lobby or terrace but not in the rooms. The only excuse was that there was due to the earth quake in Indonesia, so all places in Patong had no internet. But we did check and found that the internet in internet cafe worked ok (2B/min).

After all these bad experiences, we would never recommend this hotel to anybody and I believe that there would be soon more negative reviews.

I still could not believe that such a violence had happened to us. But be sure, villa hell mar would not live that long if Dieter is still not ashamed what he has done to us and continue his way of treating customers, who are not satisfied. My opinion is he could not deal with any problem occurring in the hotel. You will be fine and safe if you take and accept any condition they give.

Before I leave this bad dream here, I should also mention that other staffs apart from the owners are rather friendly and the location is convenient, about the end of the Patong beach in the south part.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
6  Thank butterfly_muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Having been a frequent traveller to Thailand over the last 8 years I can honestly say that this hotel has been the dirtiest and most dissapointing place I have had the disspleasure of staying in. The rooms are filthy and to make matters worse the smell was unbearable. We had paid a 50% deposit prior to our arrival and dispite our complaints it was apparent that the owner was not willing to part with any money. We had booked for 5 nights and left after 2. The antique air-con unit gave up on the second night causing the T.V to short circuit and the floor to flood.
I can only assume that the owner has thrown his life savings into leasing this property and has no funds left to make much needed improvements, but this is still no excuse for the lack of cleanliness in the rooms. If the standards are not to be improved the tariff should be changed in accordance (They would have to pay me to stay). It is a great shame to see the potential of this small hotel going to waste. Anyone who has rated this hotel 5/5 for cleanliness must have very low standards or be related to the owner. I don't make a habit of complaining but I hope reading this will make Dieter see the error of his ways.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CamJedburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

booked to stay here from the 12th for 5 nights.
arrived to find to ladies waiting to meet us one with a little english and the other with none.
on booking in we were given the keys and shown to our rooms by the lady with no english to discover as it had been raining as later explained to us the following day for weeks and the rooms were damp and smellind bad.
it didnt however explain the dirty rooms and deteriorating decor as well as really bad smelling bathrooms on complaining also discovered that the lady who could speak english was gone but lucky for us our freinds wife is thai and we managed to call the owner deitre who lived a fair bit away and wasnt willing to travel in to sort out our problems so we agreed to meet next morning at 9am. we checked out and stayed a couple of doors away although we had paid up front.
on his arrival at 10am it was apparant that deitre wasnt willing to accept any of our complaints so we eventually settled to share the suite which has the burgundy bathroom ,seperate shower room and two bedrooms for 3 nights and settle the bill that way although we had paid for 5nights and a further 2 at the other hotel. this room on appearance looked better and smelt better,however still the bathroom was dirty,no hot water for the first day and a half.our room was bearable,the other room the air conditioning didnt work,also leaked water into tv which blew up and the room smelt bad and wasnt clean resulting in all four of us leaving a day earlier thus paying for 5nights and staying elsewhere at extra cost for 3..
villa hell mar as my friends now call it certainly has views but thats all it has to offer at the moment.
as the owner deitre was of german origin we wrongly assumed that things would be of a good standard and that they certainly were not. such a shame as it has a great spot although the view are hindered by dozens of electric cables.
photos by our friends of all these points will be posted along with their comments later.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank markhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thomas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#149 of 408 in Patong
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Village Resort
Coconut Village Resort
#68 of 328 in Patong
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Mar

Address: 30, Taweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £27 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly set at the beach! Charming and comfortable. Breathtaking view, quiet area on the south end of Patong beach. Only 5 walking-minutes to nightlife and shopping center. Summary: Best location of Patong! All rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, minisafe! All sea view rooms with private balconies. Nice and cheap standard rooms. Free Internet! Free WLAN! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Mar Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing