We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salathai Resort
Ranked #30 of 413 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here as a couple for sadly only three days 15-18 June 2012. The weather was perfect and so was the resort, we could hardly bear to leave. This is all due to the awesome people who work there, they could not do enough for us and even remembered our preferences for tea and coffee in the mornings and had it ready by the time we sat down. We had a small problem with our room and to our surprise we were upgraded within the hour to a junior suite which was very spacious and just lovely. All the rooms seemed nice with the deluxe rooms being right by the pool. All other rooms overlook the pool so you can't go wrong really. It is more suited to couples and older people as other hotels have more to offer for children. It is located on a busy street just off the beach (where we got great cheap massages) We're happy to answer any questions about the resort or Patong just e-mail scott-janet@vodafone.co.nz
You won't regret booking this hotel, many of the people stay year after year, some for 3 months at a time, I just wish we could. It is very reasonably priced compared to other resorts. We loved it because we don't like large impersonal hotels.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are right by the pool, all others you have to climb the stairs. The windows are blacken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

My 3rd visit but first time to the Salathai, previous have stayed at Patong Merlin, located at the other end of Patong so was familar with that end of Patong.
I spent 7 days here, moslty overcast skies and 2 days of heavy tropical rain turning the road outside into something from Venice, but no need for a rescue boats yet!.

The Salathai was a lovely hotel with about 40 rooms and a large swimming pool taking up most of the grounds. The pool was a good spot to hang out during the day (when it wasn't raining).

Friendly hotels guest, most have stayed there before.

The staff are very friendly and the food served in the restaurant was just as good as could be found outside, resonablly priced as well.

The rooms were a good size, had a problem with my air-con but this was quickly fixed by the hotel staff.

Free internet and just a nice place to stay. .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johndory69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at Salathai for 6 nights in May. It was a lovely small and friendly resort. The rest of the group we travelled with stayed at the Holiday Inn (way too big and impersonal). The gardens were well kept and lovely and the pool was always sparkling. The staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling. Breakfast was not what you would see in a 5 star resort but there was plenty to choose from with some daily changes and an egg station for freshly cooked eggs and omelettes. The location was just far enough away from the madness of Patong to be peaceful but convenient. A 10 minute walk and you were in the thick of it.
Most of the hotel guests were friendly and were happy to stop for a chat. Resorts like this generally attract travellers who like to share experiences. Most of the guests were older (including us) and there was no problem with noise or disturbances.
We requested a cot for my grandson to come and stay for a night and it arrived quickly after our request. The cot even had a lovely bumper on it. We expected and were happy to be charged for this however were not.
The bed was a bit hard but thanks to reading reviews on TA I asked for a comforter which was provided. It made a big difference.
This place is wonderful value for money and I would recommend it to my friends however feel the need to put up an honest review and there was one negative. I don't believe the bathrooms were cleaned as well as they should have been. There were some marks on the tiles in our bathroom when we arrived and days later they were still there. I ended up cleaning them off. Floors were swept daily but not mopped. I'm not saying the place was dirty because it definitely wasn't however it was not spotless either. We stayed at 2 places before Salathai and both were spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is great. I stayed here with 3 children and my wife so we had two rooms here. Location is fantastic 100 m from the beach. Beach this time of year is too rough. Hotel is right on a busy street but once you walk in to the hotel you have no idea. There is a great pool with kids pool area. Resturant is small but both Thai and western food was fantastic. 15 min walk to main shopping centre JungCeylon. Staff were fantastic very friendly and great with the kids. Totally recommend this hotel and we will be coming back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our group of seven stayed at this little piece of paradise for 10 nights in May 2012 for the first time upon recommendations from tripadvisor and the patong forum. We were all just so impressed with the rooms, the location, the service, the cleanliness, the food and I could just go on and on or should I say I will.......:-)

We (hubby & self), had a superior room on the second floor and although I have bad knees, I didnt find the stairs to be a major problem. The room was big enough for the 2 of us with plenty of room to spare, the bathroom was also big enough with good water pressure in the shower and very clean. Aircon was great and the balcony blissful.
Cupboard space also ample and the free minibar of cold softdrinks was great to come home to after a hot day of shopping.Laundry service good and timely.

The staff at reception, Sunny, Gift & the young men (sorry I didn't write down your names!) were all friendly, courteous and welcoming. They were always interested in your day and couldn't do enough for you.
The Bar, Wat and his team did a great job of serving cold beers and great cocktails. Wat is a great host and eager to please his guests.

The staff at the restaurant, One young man who unfortunately we didn't get his name, but he was a trainee and his service was perfect in every way. Every morning he waited for us to arrive and the minute he saw us he grabbed the pot of coffee and tea and raced straight over with a big smile and a good morning and poured our tea & coffee. My observations were most of the other staff would stand back and let the guests get their own tea & coffee, this young man was a great start to our day and will be a great asset to the salathai. The other staff were friendly & polite but went about their business.

The Restaurant, Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and I think you would be very hard to please if you found it otherwise.
The breakfast buffet consisted of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, juices, croissants, french yummy pastries, toasts & selection of breads, sausages, ham, bacon, sauteed potatoes, grilled tomatoes, fried rice & or noodles, usually a thai dish of some kind and then there was the egg station with omelettes to die for and poached eggs cooked to perfection (cooked in the kitchen). *TIP - order your eggs first before selecting your other hot dishes,takes a few minutes for the eggs*

The daily menu, we loved everything we had and had most of our meals here simply because we were too hot to be bothered venturing out as we usually do, but we were impressed by the selection and quality of the food on the menu and all of it was delicious!!

The pool we found to be beautiful and clean although the water was just too warm to be refreshing, but enjoyed it anyway just to take a load off your feet. Plenty of sunbeds and great poolside service, cocktails being a must have :-)
Wifi good and I could also get good wifi in my room with no problems.

All in all we had an above awesome stay at the Salathai & we are in the process of booking for next year. It was nice to be able to enjoy our child free holiday at a hotel that is peaceful & quiet with not too many littlies running around and I would say its more suited to couples & mature people & families with older children.

My advice to the Salathai Resort....DON"T CHANGE A THING, WHEN YOU ALREADY HAVE PERFECTION!!! Thankyou & we'll See you all next year. xo

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chrisball69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Lovely hotel. Very close to all the excitement/shopping spots of Patong - but far enough away to still be quiet. Lovely friendly helpful staff. Onsite restaurant is super value and another 30 places to eat within 10 mins walk. Terrific pool too.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor pool access room if possible. Only a couple of dollars more for convenient a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCordier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

have just returned from our holiday in Phuket, spent 8 nights at the Salathai resort which was a real gem from the accomadation, staff, food and price. There was a total of 5 of us which we wre able to get 2 rooms beside each other. the price was really good cheap by comparision for the area. we found the rooms clean and the pool area and grounds were really taken care of. But the outstanding service we received when my youngest child became sick one night, the guys on the front desk organised a car for us to travel to hospital, with the driver providing me a phone to ring him when l was ready to go back to resort. the concern the staff showed over the next couple of days all asking how my son was showed they really care. the meals at this resort was outstanding to the point we choose to eat here on alot of occasions as it was cheap and really good food. they have a male trainee working in the restuarant who always went beyond the call of duty, always with a smile, he will be a real asset to this place as you can see he really loves his job. the only negative l could find would be some days the female waitresses would find it very hard to smile which is something l'm not use to in Phuket. maybe they were having a bad day, but people notice. or maybe they don't like there jobs. Overall l would highly recommend this resort next time l would not hesitate to stay here, as everything is at your finger tips.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familyrosegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 331 in Patong
1,732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#49 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#17 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £1,348 - £4,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong
Salathai Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing