We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Patong”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salathai Resort
Ranked #22 of 405 Patong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NW England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In Patong”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've been travelling to Patong since 1997 and stayed in many of the mid range hotels there. The Salathai is now my 'go to' hotel in Patong.

The location is perfect for nightlife and the beach. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are generally very good, I find the upstairs rooms a little quieter than the pool side rooms. The pool itself is excellent.

At the price point, the Salathai is very hard to beat and I will be back in October.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    114
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
142
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is situated a few minutes from the beach. Close to all the activity happening in Patong, walking distance to the mall, yet when you are in the resort, it is not over crowded with people and you feel like you are in a quiet resort but yet you are in the middle of it all. The rooms are spacious, the bar fridge stocked every day free of charge. The staff are really friendly and the price is reasonable. On check out they gave us one room to shower before heading to the airport for free. All in all a great experience and i will be back next year for sure!
There is a massage parlor right across from the hotel, really cheap and just the most amazing people working there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

the hotel is situated 4 min walk from the beach, 2 blocks down from Bangla Road and in between 2 major shopping streets. It is simply situated perfectly. It has the friendliest staff in Thailand and it was such a pleasure coming "home" to the hotel every day.. The rooms are spacious and aircon is cold. Across from the hotel is the loveliest message parlour that took care of our feet and bodies after a nights shopping. I will stay at no other place next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at the Salathai Resort last year and had a great stay. We returned this year and were staggered by the change. First we arrived to be told we had been upgraded but we were required to pay an extra 1000 baht to cover the cost of an extra bed for our children. We told the staff that the booking was made and confirmed for 2 adults and 2 children in a deluxe room. We were then told that the children could sleep together. We then told them that our 13 year old son and 11 year old daughter could not share a single bed. Staff refused to budge and we agreed initially to the extra cost just to get things moving. We then enquired as to why the pool had a yellow tinge to the water and were told that everything was OK. The pool continued to deteriorate and we found out via other guests that the pool was unsafe for swimming. The staff had told some guests of the problems with the pool but were selective. After numerous questions to staff we requested to speak with a manager only to be told he was eating his lunch and could not be disturbed. After his lunch we spoke with the manager and were informed the pool was unsafe and was being fixed. We were then given access to the pool at the Nap Hotel. The pool was not fixed and after several days were requested to be moved to the Nap Hotel. After negotiations we were moved to the Sea Hotel for the remainder of the stay. The Manager was very helpful after some heavy prompting but the overall experience was disappointing and ruined the first week of our holiday. Sad to say that we will not return to the Salathai.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at 5 Star Sea Pearl Villas, 4 Star Novotel and here. Salathai Resort may well be rated at 3 stars but this resort was THE BEST OF THEM ALL!!! All the staff were so friendly and helpful and even tracked down and located my cap from the back of my transfer from the airport which i had left behind. The service was great and the Resort is 50m from the beach. This is the best location of all. To make things even better, this is a 'Girl Friendly' resort. I will certainly be staying here again as this place has the best value for money of all the places i stayed and the staff were so friendly.

To all the staff: Khob Khun Krap. - BOBBI

Room Tip: The pool side deluxe rooms are probably the best choice but you are so close to the beach that it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNGBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Small hotel but very quiet though near everything. Only 100 meters from the beach, perhaps 500m to Bangla and 600m to Jungceylon. Good breakfast buffet and always some variation in pancakes or fruits or bread or something. Service is excellent, always noticing you and regarding you. Pool area is very nice with lots of palm trees and greenery.
Only the other bed was very hard but I think so it is in most places in Thailand. Our room was 306 and could even see the sea in the horizon. 3rd floor but no elevator. Minibar was free but there was no alcohol or snacs just water, coca cola, schweppes, orange juice.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are by the pool and straight access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

There is no better hotal at Patong: Service, intimity, price, food are not beatable! Pick up service very relaiable, food abd drinkd with very fair prices. Very kind reception service.I visit Salathai for over ten years twice a year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.2 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#56 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Property: Salathai Resort
Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong
Salathai Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing