We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and in bad condition”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salathai Resort
Ranked #21 of 407 Patong B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old and in bad condition”
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I stayed for 10 days in a Junior Suite Room, the size of the room was ok, the furniture are very old and some of it damaged (the hotel is very old and not in a good condition), the room was full of ants and I asked to be changed but the other rooms had the same problem, I was promised that the room will be sprayed but nothing happened, so I bought insect spray and sprayed the room daily. The hotel have no elevator so it is hard for older people to stay in the top floors, most of the rooms are located near the street so it is noisy and the noise from the near by bars will keep you awake tell 3 am, the staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly
  • Disliked — The hotel is very old and not in a good condition
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dj-AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    114
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
142
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Great stay at the Salathai. Clean rooms and lovely pool. But breakfast are very minimal. You will need to order the eggs, bacon, ham or sausage on your own and servings are of average portion. Good for normal eater. e.g 1 cocktail sausage, 2 bacons n 2 eggs are served. If possible, get the deluxe room as they hav bigger bathroom with tubs and more space. Probably the superior is around 24sqm while the deluxe is at 30sqm. For triple sharing, best to get the deluxe room. Bonus for deluxe room as it's on the ground floor so no climbing on stairs n direct access to the lovely pool. Overall a lovely stay for it's convenient locations, close to the beach, lovely rooms and pool, and friendly staffs.

  • Liked — the personal touch from the staffs
  • Disliked — the average breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank suitejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I spent a week in patong beach staying 4 nights at salathai and 2 nights at patong resort. Salathai resort has absolutely fantastic staff!!! Everyone was very friendly and helpfull, a real plus for the resort. The room was nice and for the price I paid, I got what I expected, not luxury but everything I needed. The bathroom was a bit overdone with the blue tiles but still practical. I did have some small ants in my room for 2 days but only a few and it didn't bother me. I had a deluxe room on the ground floor that opens onto the pool, definatly the way to go. Pool is nice. I felt there wasn't a great deal of privacy as it was a small hotel and all rooms face the middle of the complex. They do not charge to bring a girl back with you either. All up a good resort that is not top of the range but not a high price so you get what you pay for. I would definatly stay there again.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Stayed at the Salathai for 6 nights while touring south east asia

Went a bit over budget in Singapore so decided to book somewhere cheaper for my stay in Phuket (the room was less than £30/night).

Got a free transfer from the airport (about 45 minutes). The resort is fairly basic, the rooms all have AC but everywhere else (reception, restaurant) is out in the open. There is a small pool in the centre with grassed areas around it.

Check in was very efficient and I had a room on the second (top) floor. The room was of a good size with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room itself was clean and tidy but there was mould on the tiling in the bathroom, which detracted from the overall appearance.

The Salathai is ideally located about 100m from the Beach and about 400m from the nightlife in Bangla road. The only drawback is the amount of street vendors who try to sell you something on the way.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Mould in the bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

stayed 2 may /14 may try and get a ground floor room and you have realy hit the jackpot every one in this hotel[staff] are great ,you can bring guests and they even get free b/fasts, john the manager is great and realy helps you so does the young girl tranee in the b/fast room, every thing you need is just outside the hotel do all your shopping on the second road [rat u thit song roi road] avoyed the beech road full of hawkers and they anoy you ,try website ASIA WEB DIRECT CO LTD that where i got the best price also taxi from airport 600 bth hotel will fix this for you . just book and enjoy K HARNAN

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpoolblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

The hotel is exactly look same like the photo that share by other traveller. Very well maintance, clean and nice. It located close everything but it is so quiet when u step in the resort. It have a very nice pool, from morning to evening. The spacious deluxe room is enough for me, very clean and nice for everything. The food is ok too. It only 3 mins to go for the beach. So not to be worry. It very near. this is located at the north part of patong beach. South part ( the pub road) will be more happening. But it just need to walk around 10 mins to reach for everything.

  • Liked — The Scene
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eLynnTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Had some bad experiences and hope management of Salathai resort can do something about it else business is going to go down in the long run.. Below are some reasons to it:

BAD experience
1) Air-conditioning in the room was faulty. Despite reporting to the front desk, nothing was done and the guy who was on night duty at the front desk had a terrible attitude. Not only did he do nothing when he arrived at my room, he was giving me one kind of stupid face telling me to wait for the aircon to turn cold by itself. That's a total insult to me as if i'm operating aircon in hotel room for the first time... In fact, the aircon was already faulty on the first day of my arrival but i did not do anything as it was like working for a couple of hours and down for approx. 1hour but that night mentioned above was really terrible, almost the entire night, there was no air-conditioning. THis itself is good enough to screw up the entire stay...

2) The same guy was there when we were about to leave the hotel for airport. Double standards and this should not be happening in service line. When a pair of old australian couple was leaving, he was eagerly helping them to carry their bags to the taxi, of course, the couple of polite enough to pas him some tips. But when our taxi was here, i guess he remember us and did not help us get our bags onto the taxi, C'mon, people from singapore aren't that poor not to give any tips.

3) Hell lot of sand files at the pool area

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Travel_lover6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#58 of 322 in Patong
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#57 of 322 in Patong
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#147 of 322 in Patong
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#151 of 322 in Patong
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#94 of 322 in Patong
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
BearPacker Patong Hostel
BearPacker Patong Hostel
#2 of 221 in Patong
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Property: Salathai Resort
Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong
Salathai Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing