We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever stayed in..”
Review of Salathai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salathai Resort
Ranked #21 of 411 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore
1 review
“Best hotel we have ever stayed in..”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

5 min walk to Patong beach from the hotel....we enjoyed the breakfast most in the resort....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poonam_dandyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    114
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
142
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here exactly a year ago based on the rating by Trip Advisor at the time and comments posted by guests. There were a few adverse comments but i think the authors were seeking 5 star at budget pricing. We were surprised at the number of staff who remembered us from last year and if anything it is better now. We ate in several times & found the menu extensive enough & prices reasonable. This wll remain our home away from home in Phuket. It is closing for renovations at the end of the week and to those who complained about the rough surface around the pool surround, this is also being addressed. Hopefully, the renovations will not increases prices too much but I wouldn't flinch at a 20% increase. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at the Salathai in June 2010. There is nothing I can say, that has not been said before. FANTASTIC HOTEL. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Comfortable bed, and very clean bathroom. Room had a built in safe which was very handy. Also they rooms were soundproof. We had a DVD player as well in the room which was a real surprise. Fantastic staff. Always a smile and very helpful. Always had your key ready when you walked back into the hotel. Breakfast was great, with a wide selection with egg station as well. Also the egg lady was absolutely lovely. Everyone always spoke to you and staff all seemed very happy. Pool was lovely and clean also.. Could have done with a few more loungers as guests seem to put there towels on them and walk away for a few hours. (the only down side).Only 10 mins walk to Bangla Road and everything is very close walking distance. I loved the breakfast area where you could have breakfast and watch the goings on in the street. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed 4 nights in deluxe room ground floor opposite pool with free wifi and free minibar fill. We too, have have stayed at quite a few different types of hotels in Patong, this one is by far the friendliest and customer oriented gem. The staff are exceptional, they looked after us from the very moment we arrived with a smile. They were attentative and fixed things immediately. We left luggage (free of charge) while we were in Hong Kong and on our return very late a night, they welcomed us back, handed the keys over and we were in our rooms; did not need to sign anything. Our room was cool, and stored luggage in place. One morning they came around with a small plate of chocolates for the room. They had a 10th Anniversary gave all guests t-shirts and invited for cake and we watched the buddhist blessing ceremony. Twice I forgot to lock the door for long periods (stupid) and all was well. The rooms are large, bathroom is navy blue!! and would benefit a piece of furniture to put your clothes and there is also not enough room for all cosmetics etc. The pool and outside area is well maintained and well utilised. While we were there, there were families with young children. Breakfast has a small selection, good quality and adequate. A good egg station and the cook always had a smile (unusual). The drinks and cocktails were very reasonably priced too. I had 2 massages and would recommend. Wonderful place in a quiet location. 10 minutes walk from Bangla Road JungCeylon Shopping centre 2 minutes to the beach. This place was reasonably priced and feels safe. Worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willkeeptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed at the Salathai Resort B+B for 9 nights and it was ideal...The staff are so welcoming and cannot do enough for you...the rooms are lovely and spacious, a little dark and damp in places but very clean...we had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, the staff couldnt repair so moved us to another room, the staff even offered to move all our belongings for us, which we did not allow them to do bless them....We had booked the B+B on recommendation from other uses and we were not dissappointed...we booked a deluxe room which was on the ground floor and straight out into the lovely gardens and pool, heavenly....the location of the property is great, just out of the main strip so the noise is minimum, we didnt hear any, but it was only 10 min walk to all the clubs and pubs, restaurants etc...brill nightlife...the beach was also just a short stroll away taking 2 mins....restaurant was lovely, we only ate there one night as there are so many others to choose from but the food was nice and breakfast was awesome always something nice and the bread was lovely and fresh...I would def recommend this hotel and if was to go back to Patong would stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRIMAR-LincsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne. Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This was my second stay at Salathai and will definitely stay here again. Staff are very helpful and friendly, great service. Compared to other hotels I have stayed in, the staff go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable, relaxing holiday. I had a deluxe room by the pool and would choose this again. Standard rooms are located upstairs. Rooms are clean and serviced daily. Breakfast included in the price is buffet and the chef will cook a hot breakfast at no extra cost. Free internet is also a plus. This resort is an oasis in busy Patong. Hotel is quiet and yet close to all ameneties. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queensword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at the Salathai on our first trip to Thailand.

It is really great value. The room is fairly basic with 2 singles pushed together (seemed a little hard to begin with but after nights sleep its not something that matters) The bathroom is a wet room, so when u have a shower water ends up all over the floor, but after about 5 minutes it all gone (not like you spend your entire holiday in the shower or bathroom) The pool area is great, and the pool is cleaned regulary. Everyday we got 2 free beers, 2 free lemonades, 2 free water bottles and 2 other free orange softdrinks. They also offer free internet in the lobby.

Overall this is a great palce to stay. Its in the middle of everything that you need, 7-11 across the road, the beach and markets are literally 2 mins walk. Although that it is in the middle of the nightlife and city area we had no noise at night. we stayed on the left hand side level 1.

We ate at the restaurant at our first night and it was good food but more then you will pay anywhere else. I would recomend scruffy murpheys (Irish Pub, Bangla Road) good value food and drinks.

If I was going to Thailand again I will definatly stay here, we loved it. Great service and the staff are always willing to help you out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#56 of 328 in Patong
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#142 of 328 in Patong
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#58 of 328 in Patong
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#90 of 328 in Patong
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 328 in Patong
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#99 of 328 in Patong
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salathai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salathai Resort

Property: Salathai Resort
Address: 10 / 4 Sawatdirak Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salathai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salathai Resort's decor throughout reflects the Thai theme with clean simple lines that ensure relaxing ambiance with our 41 well-appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, kids' pool, in-house restaurant & bar, tour desk, room service and Internet corner. Salathai Resort is your perfect choice for real relaxation during your wonderful vacation in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salathai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salathai Hotel Patong
Salathai Resort Patong
Salathai Resort Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing