We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but terrible customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Patong Resort
Ranked #47 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but terrible customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Although the hotel has a great location and rooms are very nice, spacious and in reasonable condition, the service i received from the majority of staff was rude, unhelpful and very unwelcoming. With the exception of only a few people, the staff members were exceptionally rude and treated us like we were just wasting their time. Further to this, nothing was free. Internet access on the lobby's computers is really overpriced. I recommend going to the True Internet cafe down the road or one of the many cafes or restaurants that offer cheap if not free internet, and at a faster speed than the resort does. Additionally, room service is very overpriced for the quality and speed of food received, and the pool closes at 7pm.

2 small aged beach towels were provided in each room with the threat that if you lost them you would need to pay (approx.) AU$8 each.

The checkout process was time-consuming and very frustrating. Allow approx. 30mins to check out. We had to queue for quite some time as there was only one staff member processing checkouts for the hour leading up to checkout time. Furthermore, they tried to charge us approx. AU$20 for "missing" hand towels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    424
    160
    50
    50
See reviews for
151
322
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

The service was good. The concierge and front desk staff were polite. Room service staff were very good.
The rooms were ok. Beds were a bit hard and you had to pay to use the safe. We stayed on the sixth and had an awesome view of Patong from our balcony.
The location is excellent. The beach, markets, Bangla Rd, and Jung Ceylon were all within 10 mins walking.
Some really good restaurants nearby and the rooftop steak served very tasty meals.
All in all the hotel is ok nut the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_BCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed at the Patong Resort for 3 nights mid March 2011.
The hotel transfer was waiting for us on arrival at Phuket and took us at a slow pace to the resort, which was pretty good as the rest of the traffic appeared to be doing time trials for Formula 1.
The resort itself was a pleasant place to stay and was clean and tidy. Breakfast was most enjoyable and the selection was more than ample. We stayed in Wing 4.
I could go on about some little things about the decor etc but that would be very petty and nitpicking.
Check-in - Check-out was a breeze and painless.
All staff we came in contact with were pleasant and willing to assist us with any enquiry we had.
Be aware that the Resort has a strange practice of charging you 53Bhat plus tax per day for the rent of your room safe key, but they do offer a safety deposit box system in the Lobby for free. Also their fees for transport are expensive and the local taxis and tuk tuks could be considered a rip off no matter how good your bartering skills are.
However all in all it was a very good place to stay and if we were returning to Phuket we would more than likely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RodTapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

we stayed here for 2 weeks the staff are friendly,food average but ok.beds are a little too firm,but rooms excellent.very central to everything.we had a really great time here .pools crystal clear and very clean,if your looking for an excellent tailor go to john collection just outside the hotel in bangla road,nice guy and very good priced my husbandssuit was beautifully made and well priced tell them wendy and wayne recommended you and he will look after you.HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyluke05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel is a great Budget style Hotel and great value for money. We have stayed there twice and will be returning in May 2011 for our third trip. The hotel is a 5 min walk to all attraction Beach, shopping, bars, nightclubs, department stores and restuarants. Taxis are avalable right out side the hotel. Enjoy we do...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week to attend a conference. We had room 378 on the ground floor in the (I presume) new building. The room was lovely, very spacious and clean, super comfy king size bed, HUGE bathroom with bathtub on one side and a separate spacious shower stall on another side. The room had a sliding door that led to a little enclosed verandah where we can sit or hang clothes to dry. The room had all the usual amenities in good working order. The pool was only a few steps away. The buffet breakfast was delicious and had really good varierty (asian foods, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, eggs done your way, yogurt, cereal, congee, fresh fruits and juices) with small changes from day to day. Location was very good with Patong Beach just a few minutes walk away and JungCeylon Mall about 5-10 minutes walking distance. Robinsons, Carrefour and Boots are conveniently found at the mall. Good foot massages for 180B just a stone's throw from the hotel.

My only small gripe is that there is no free wifi at the hotel and their internet charge is a little expensive. The connection from our room was also pretty slow and that used up alot of our internet time just waiting. They do provide computers at the lobby for the same rate that are somewhat faster. The front desk also got our checkout date wrong so halfway through our stay we found our keycard not working. A quick trip back to the front desk and they recitified the problem and even gave us an extra keycard on top of the 2 we already had.

Being on the ground floor, our room didn't have a view but it more than made up for it with everything else. Despite being a corner room next to the main corridor our room was VERY quiet, always a plus for me.

Definitely a pleasant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was the second time have been to this resort (honeymoon this time) and the one stand out feature is the location.No need to take an overpiced tutt tutt to the action
It's close to Patong Beach,bangla road and shopping at Jung celon shopping centre.
Bangla road is where a lot the nightlife is and is a great ADULT entertainment area.
The area gets quite busy,so if you are easily annoyed by shop keepers (you buy) dancing girls and ladyboys perhaps this is not for you.
The hotel in some sections is a bit dated,we stayed in a poolside room next to the second pool with the small bar next to it.
The room was clean and serviced daily, It had a flat screen tv ,a small mini bar and a hard bed ( On arrival we get staff to put a soft foam cover on the mattress to soften it up )Staff observed the do not disturb sign,They were freindly and helpful and I never had a problem with them.
Breakfast is a large buffet style setup and I loved the eggs and omelets that are cooked fresh as you wait.The butter was not very nice and I ended up buying some salted New Zealand butter from a supermarket on bangla road and took that to brecky every day.
There is an indoor and outdoor eating area.No smoking inside and smoking is allowed in the outdoor eating area which is quite annoying if you are a non smoker as this is where all the food is served and some diners would select food while smoking .
I did not like being pestered almost daily by the taylor who has a shop in the resort .
We love it here and will return in may 2011

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukkkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Resort

Property: Patong Resort
Address: 208 Raj-Uthit 200 Pee Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An Idyllic Family Resort at the heart of Patong"Patong Resort Hotel is a superb resort that occupies one of the best locations in Phuket. Set close to Patong Beach, the resort is ideally situated for an enjoyable island holiday with the whole family. Although the resort is just a few minutes walk from the beach, great shopping opportunities and Patong’s famous nightlife, guests may not even wish to leave the grounds of this fabulous property. The resort’s extensive gardens and numerous high quality facilities and attractions provide fun and excitement for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hotel Patong
Patong Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing