We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patong Resort - a post tsunami review”
Review of Patong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patong Resort
Ranked #51 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Patong Resort - a post tsunami review”
Reviewed 20 April 2006

We had stayed at the Patong Resort pre-tsunami and went back in December of 2005. One noticeable change that we saw in 2005 were that in the Garden Wing, the ground floor corridors had removed that awful moldy smelling carpeting and gave it a much more airy feel. Many of the old staff that had been there on our previous 3 stays had also moved on although we did see some of the bellboys and wait staff in the coffee shop that we recognized and greeted (it's always fun when they remember you). The new owners of the tailor shop are obnoxious and rude whereas the old occupants tended to be a little more low key - although that might be a function of the post-tsunami loss of business.

Stayed in the Garden Wing junior suite - which has two rooms - one is a living room area with a small kitchen - no microwave or anything but with a small table and chairs and a sink.

The bedrooms in the Garden Wing need updating (unless it's the new Garden Wing - of which there's a section which was built in the last 2 years). Beds are not very comfortable and furniture is reminiscent of early 80s. Also note that the rooms have 2 twin beds in the Garden Wing - and they really are twin beds - not semi doubles.... The Pavilion Wing rooms are much newer but you do pay a small premium for them. The hotel ownership really needs to consider a makeover for the Garden Wing in terms of getting some new furniture and beds and bed linens - at the same time, the prices of those rooms also seems to have been the same for the last 4 years as well....

Pool and garden areas are well kept and maintained as has been in our previous years. Breakfast is good - not a great variety of breads and cold buts as in some hotels in Phuket like the Kata Thani or Kata Beach Resort but adequate with omelette/egg station, rotating variety of bacon/ham/sausage, pancakes, juices as well as a pretty good variety of Asian breakfast items including noodles, rice, miso soup, etc.

Location is always great, which is the primary reason we stay here - quiet at night, within walking distance of the restaurants, bars and beach. What we typically do for a 2 week vacation is to spend 4-5 days in a little nicer hotel perhaps further away from Patong like in Bang Tao, Karon or Kata beaches just to destress and get over our long flights and then make our way to Patong and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spahkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    449
    163
    52
    56
See reviews for
163
338
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2006

My parnter and I stayed at the Patong Resort for 8 nights and we cannot speak highly enough about this hotel.

The location was fabulous. Just a short 2 minute stroll straight to the beach and the night life is just around the corner.

The rooms do need a bit of upgrading, but they were a good size and always clean. The breakfast was great and had a wide variety of foods. We had dinner by the pool one night and it was a huge delicious buffet. Loved the outdoor music as well. Very romantic.

Staff were excellent and always helpful. The hotel offers a great Thai Massage too!

This hotel is excellent value for money and we will definetely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiegirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

This was our first visit to Thailand.

We had the best vacation ever.

Nice Hotel conveniently located at walking distance from Patong Beach.
Ideal for families with children. Our daughter is five and she enjoyed both hotel swimming pools all the time. They were not crowded at all. Excellent Thai massage as well.
Our room was clean and very confortable.
We enjoyed having dinner Monday, Wednesday and Friday at the pool with romantic backgroung piano music.
No complain with the hotel service.
No doubt, we will return to the Patong Resort next time.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cugata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2006

A very nice hotel, and very well positioned to the night life and shopping. Service was good. The only thing that I was disappointed in for a 4 star hotel, was that it didn;t have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, as these are standard in most 2 and 3 star hotels. Its nice to just sit down after a busy day out shopping and have a cup of coffee or tea relaxing in your room.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank default00784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 322 in Patong
1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 322 in Patong
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Resort

Property: Patong Resort
Address: 208 Raj-Uthit 200 Pee Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An Idyllic Family Resort at the heart of Patong"Patong Resort Hotel is a superb resort that occupies one of the best locations in Phuket. Set close to Patong Beach, the resort is ideally situated for an enjoyable island holiday with the whole family. Although the resort is just a few minutes walk from the beach, great shopping opportunities and Patong’s famous nightlife, guests may not even wish to leave the grounds of this fabulous property. The resort’s extensive gardens and numerous high quality facilities and attractions provide fun and excitement for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Hotel Patong
Patong Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing