We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Mercure Patong Phuket for two weeks at the end of November 2008.

We originally booked our hotel through the Accor website, but due to the Aussie Dollar dropping the price we had booked for was a bit extreme. I then searched around to see if there were any last minute prices and found one for 29,000 baht for a pool view for 13 nights including drink vouchers, free airport transfers and dinner vouchers, so I booked this deal direct with the hotel.

ARRIVAL:
No problems with transfer pick up or checking in, we were greeted straight away at the airport, once at the hotel we were checked in within 5 minutes.

ROOM:
The room we were in was fantastic. It was a little stuffy when we first walked in, as if you do not have your card in the electricity port at the door the AC wouldn't work, so it always took a while to cool the room down, however, we asked for another card from reception and left it in all day. The room and bed were of decent size and always very clean. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower and never seemed to be too small for us. The only thing which was strange was the shower, it opened up from the corner and not one side so was always awkward getting in and out of the shower. Corners of the shower were a little dirty as others have discussed in previous reviews, but nothing worth worrying about.

HOTEL GROUNDS:
The pool was fantastic, it was big enough for everybody and we never had trouble getting a chair. The pool and bar on the 6th floor was a fantastic idea and there is nothing better than watching the sun go down from the rooftop. Because the downstairs pool is surrounded by six levels of building on all sides, by late afternoon when the sun starts to go down you lose the sunshine at the main pool, but that is easily fixed by moving to the rooftop!
Cocktail hour was fantastic and great value for money. From 4:30 until 5:30pm it is two for one cocktails in the main pool. The next hour is two for one drinks on the Rooftop and the third hour is two for one drinks in the foyer.

LOCATION:
I have read some reviews were people think the hotel is too far away from everything, and for us, a mid 20s couple who enjoyed partying on Bangla road some nights, but also enjoyed having a quiet relaxing dinner, found the location to be perfect. It is far enough away from Bangla road to not get all of the noise and pedestrian traffic, but close enough that it took us less than 10 minutes to walk there and we never had to catch a tuk tuk.
Getting to the beach took 3 minutes if you cross the road and walk through the Patong Merlin.
There is a 7 Eleven next door and a Family Mart a few doors down which sell alcohol at such cheap prices, we bought from here and stocked up our mini bar.
There are tour sellers and people who do laundry all around the hotel.
The Otop Markets are about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and we found them to be a fair bit cheaper than the market stands on the beach road and at Jungceylon.
Junceylon was about a 7 minute walk away, which was pleasant if you hold your nose every time you walk past a drain - but hey, that's Thailand.

FOOD:
We had the buffet breakfast every morning and found it to be fine, it had a massive selection of all types of food. The only thing I would suggest is to go earlier rather than later, as we always strolled in at around 10am, and even though there was still 30 minutes to go, a lot of the finished food was not being replaced.
We ate at the restaurant on our last night while we were waiting for our transfer to the airport, that night had a Pasta Parade buffet on and it was actually quite nice. You choose what type of pasta you want, then what type of base pasta sauce and what meat / veggies you want in it and they cook in fresh on the spot for you, there is also a good selection of salads, some Thai dishes, fruit and sweets. Was quite filling, especially as we were about to endure a 11 hour plane trip!

DEPARTURE:
Always ask for a late check out if the hotel doesn't seem busy, we were given a late check out at 16:00 hours for free without any hassle when we asked and as our flight was leaving at 10:00pm that night it was so handy to have our own room to have our last shower before we left. Check out was easy and we had no problems with our bill even though we never realised how many cocktails we had actually charged to our room during our stay!

Overall, we had such a pleasant experience at the Mercure Patong. We did complain about the noise of the housekeepers early in the morning, as their storage room on the 5th floor was only a few doors away from us, and at 6am you always heard the doors slamming and trolleys moving, but that was the only problem we experienced for the whole two weeks.

  • Liked — Pool, Cleanliness, New Hotel, Location
  • Disliked — Mozzies - take mozzie repellent!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    921
    319
    105
    58
See reviews for
645
977
139
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have booked the hotel through Expedia.com, and payed 23,205 BAHT for 5 midweek nights in a Superior Pool View Room (which is a must) over Christmas week, which was quite a good deal.
On arrival we got welcomed with a very friendly SAWADIKAAAAA and fruit juice, while check-in was quite quick. The reception area is very modern and beautifully designed, with a large bar area, internet seating, restaurant and a walk through straight into a magnificent pool area.
We stayed on the 4th floor, with a beautiful view of the pool from the balcony. The room was very specious and modern, with a very comfortable King size bed, nice little coffee table and chairs, decent size LCD TV (with lots of nice channels), minibar, safe, lots of closet space and complimentary bath rouges and slippers. The bathroom is also very modern and clean, with a bath and a separate shower.
The hotel location is good, with various shopping markets around the hotel, and only 10 min walk to the beachfront.
Overall, my girlfriend and I have really enjoyed staying at Mercure Patong, the service is great, the room was perfect, and my favorite... the pool area is AMAZING!

N.B - DO NOT BOOK WITH EXPEDIA!!! they are crooks, If you have inquiries why, just mail me and I will be more than happy to let you know.

  • Liked — The Room & Pool
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in December and had a great stay! The room was beautiful, the bathroom big and spacious and we loved the balcony overlooking the pool. We were also there with some other people so liked that we had adjoining rooms.
The pool was really nice and there were always deck chairs free. We absolutely loved the pool bar, especially when it was happy hour!!!! Whilst some people have said that the hotel is far from everything, we liked the location as it was a bit quieter and private, and its opposite a great bar/restaurant called "POO"!!! When deciding where to stay, we searched alot of places and this place was great for the price! Definately recommend if your heading to Patong Beach.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank choybie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

The Mercure Hotel is new and clean. All rooms would have a view of the swimming pool. It is within easy walking distance of Bangla Road (we have never seen so many watering holes), shopping and the beach. The staff were kind enough to arrange a surprise birthday cake. The prices for the mini-bar beers were reasonable. The hotel has three Happy Hours per day. The best one is definately at the Sun Bar. The buffet breakfast was a good start to the day. We would definately recommend this hotel, and we will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — It was clean. The view was good. Central location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

I stayed in Mercure Patong Phuket with my family from 11-Dec-08 to 15-Dec-08. The hotel is new and clean. Staffs are all kind and polite and helpful. We can easily to get a chair at poolside. The most important thing is the rate. They charge under US100 per night.

However, the location is not that close to the centre of Patong. We had to walk(normal speed) over 15mins to the night area and JungCeylon - the largest shopping mall in Patong.

The restaurants is not that attractive so we hadn't try to dine there.

The pool water is a little bit cold coz the pool is surrounded by the hotel. That makes the sunshine not always reach the pool. You can't enjoy sun bath after 4:00pm. This is the architecture design problem.

There is no wired internet service in guest room. If you want to bring a notebook along with you in the trip, please check if you have wireless lan card first. For the internet charge, they charge 100bath for 30mins, 150baht for 1hr and 400baht for 4 hrs. It's quite expensive, while compare with the cafe just next to the hotel main entrance. They provide free of charge wifi internet. The signal was not stable, too. I was being disconnected while I was MSN online very frequently!

The staffs of make up the room didn't replace enough towels for us. We were 2 adults and 1 child but they just only replaced even 1 towel for us. We have once got a bag of rubbish and placed next to the rubbish bin. But no one collected it so it have been left in the room for 2 days.

If you are looking for a budget hotel, you may consider this. If you prefer to stay more time in hotel and use their facilities, find another one.

  • Liked — Rooms were new and clean
  • Disliked — The internet
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for 6 nights in November.

The Hotel is very Modern and New.

I am sure there are many hotels in Patong that are more luxurious but for the amount we paid the Mecure was above our expectations.

The rooms were modern and clean. The staff were wonderful, always friendly and cheerful. The pool area was always clean and we never had a problem getting a lounge.

We booked a seasonal getaway package which included breakfast, airport transfers, free drinks and spa discounts. It was great having a driver waiting for us at the airport. If you want a great Hotel without paying a fortune you can’t go past the Mecure.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live-at-cedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

When we arrived at the Mercure it was stunning. The open air concept of the lobby is beautiful. The welcome drinks were very tasty, and the front desk staff are top notch. We travelled around Thailand in Sept/Oct and stayed in 50-250/night places. This place was by far the best value at around 80/night including a pool view and breakfast buffet for 2. Our room was very clean and modern. Our deck looked out on to the pool, I totally recommend a pool view room. The bathroom was nice, the shower could be updated. The pool was very nice and large. We found the drinks and any food at the hotel were a little expensive. However, there are lots of great restaurants only steps from the hotel that are very inexpensive. The breakfast buffet was very good. I went to the spa and got their montly special of a facial and foot reflexolgy for 30/CAD for an hour and a half. There spa is very nice and tranquil. It was a very relaxing and soothing experience. Not only was this hotel great, the location was very good too. We were only a block from the beach and there was tonnes of shopping and restaurants around us. We were in the hub of patong beach. Which could be overwhelming after too long of a stay. However, the hotel does feel like your getaway after a busy day in patong.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Prices on drinks
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.7 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Property: Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Address: 239/14 Raj U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location in central Patong City and only steps away from world-famous Patong beach, shopping center, night market, and Phuket 's bustling nightlife. Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong brings its distinctive style and contemporary lightness to the otherwise down-to-earth in Patong. With 249 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, Orientala Wellness Spa treatments, offbeat dining experience of an original Thai & International Cuisine at the Phuket Cafe in Patong area, astronomical-themed leisure activities and hi-tech meeting & seminar facilities, the Hotel is a highlight in itself - and a must-stay for individuals, couples, families and business travelers on vacation in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Patong Phuket Hotel Patong
Accor Patong Phuket
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing