We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Ranked #21 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2009

During our stay in Pukhet we actually stayed at the Novotel Patong but wanted to change scenery for one evening and headed to the Mercure hotel for the seafood buffet. When we arrived at the hotel we were nicely surprised by the modern amenities. The garden and the pool looked great. The seafood buffet is held on the hotel rooftop, which is great with plenty of space. The table were nicely set with tablecloth and candles, very chic and romantic feel. There also was a nice sea breeze so the temperature was perfect. You basically choose which types of seafood you want and the chefs cook it in front of you. You can either choose to stay and watch or the staff will bring it to your table when cooked. There also was some music and a fire show. We had a great time and definitively recommend it (good value for money!).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

This is a good value hotel in a great position. It benefits from being recently built so the decor and ambiance are still acceptable. All the positives noted by previous reviewers are accurate - the pool areas, lobby & rooms are fine, at the moment.
HOWEVER I fear for the immediate future of this lovely hotel. There is NO proper service. From the moment we arrived, when they could not find our booking, to the dreadful cleaning of the rooms and poor communication skills of all the staff, we worry about what will become of this place. We stayed in early January 2009 for 11 nights using adjoining rooms. I can state categorically that the floors of the rooms were NOT mopped on any of those days. At best they were quickly vacuumed. The shower and basins got NO attention whatsoever. We regularly had to ring housekeeping for the towels which were never replaced. Room service could not understand English. The front desk also struggled witn basic English. We hardly had toiletries replenished (not that they were anything special).
The corridor to the rooms is filthy, they must immediately high-pressure clean those beautifully tiled areas. We paid extra for internet access but this service was slow and often ineffective, especially for games. We were only told on checking out that a faster computer apparently exists on a higher floor. The breakfast was extra. We tried it on one morning and even though we only had to pay half price (as Accor members), we were very disappointed with the limited choices and poor quality. School camp food is superior, and that's not saying much! We did not return for breakfast.
In essence this is a very poorly maintained hotel which will fall further and further into disrepair unless they lift their service ethos and literally CLEAN UP their act. As Accor members we were especially disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Was impressed when our bus pulled up at the lobby, wow! this is our hotel! more impressive than I had thought.

Pool area was surrounded by the rooms but that was fine. We did standout as aussies lazing on the lazyboys in the shade while all the european guests baked in the sun.

We were given a room overlooking night markets and a scruffy grassy area, but that was just fine by me.

The rooms were nicely serviced daily and drinking water supplied.

About a ten minute walk to the beach.

The Mercure Patong was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

my boyfriend and I (22 y.o. and 20 y.o) stayed at the Mercure Patong hotel for 7 nights in mid january 2009. We booked the hotel through agoda.com and found this to be good value for money.

Our welcome at the hotel was very friendly with a welcome drink, and the check-in was fast and hassle free. Our room was nice for the price that we paid, it was decorated nicely and looked modern, with a nice tv and bathroom with separate shower and bath. we did not ask for a poolview room so our view was over the hotel next door, which did not bother us because we did not spend much time in the hotel room during the day. however if you planned on being in the room more often a poolview room would be a good investment.

the main pool was big and beautiful, with a great poolbar and snack menu. the pool was quite cold because the design of the hotel means the pool is only in the sun for a limited time, though it was definitely still swimmable and refreshing. it was nice having the pool in the shade as well because it meant that you were not in the hot sun all the time. for those who want to sunbake there is a small pool on the roof of the hotel which is good for this. the view of the sunset from the roof was also spectacular, and conveniently coincided with happy hour at the rooftop bar.

happy hour at the bars was great, 2-for-1 drinks from 4.30-5.30 at the bar by the main pool, 6-7 at the rooftop bar and 7-8 at the bar in the lobby.

we did not have breakfast included in our booking, so although the buffet had a broad spread we decided to avoid the 400 baht per person cost and went to shakers just a few shops down for breakfast, where you could get a huge breakfast for only 180 baht. each night the hotel also runs a different dinner meal, we found these nice but also quite expensive. snacks by the pool and room service were cheaper, and just as delicious.

the hotel was in a great location, in the quieter end of patong meaning that it was a lot less noisy here than other places! the walk to the beach was only about 3 mins walking through the patong merlin, and bangla road was within walking distance as well. there were lots of shops around, with the shops further back from the beach generally offering the best prices. it was also quite a central place to be picked up for tours. those coming from kata or karon would generally have a much longer bus trip for tours than we did!

overall, we found that this hotel was well suited to what we wanted. it was a nice hotel for a much more reasonable price than many others, centrally located for sightseeing but still nice enough to stay around the hotel for a day and relax!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bec88australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed in Mercure Patong over the Chinese New Year weekend and we had mixed feelings about the quality of the hotel. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to a supermarket and many restaurants. Although the rooms are well furnished and decorated, the cleanliness of our rooms were far from desirable. There were food stains on our floor area and many strains of body hair were visibly scattered in the toilet. There were also trails of ants at various corners of the room. The service attitude and integrity of the service staff in the hotel were also questionable. Instead of linking us up with a reputable local tour agency for our trip to James Bond Island, the staff at the tour desk hooked us up with his "private" contact and got us a so called "driver [-] tour guide" who came with a shabby mini-bus and spoke no english. On another occasion, one of the restaurant staff refused to return my change for my meal there. I've stayed at numerous Accor group hotels all over the world and most have well trained staff who observed good service standards. Hence I was very disappointed by the low quality of service rendered by Mercure Patong. I made an official complaint to the hotel manager on the last day of my stay and I hoped that they would get their act together for the benefit of future customers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chong_Red_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Mercure Patong Phuket for two weeks at the end of November 2008.

We originally booked our hotel through the Accor website, but due to the Aussie Dollar dropping the price we had booked for was a bit extreme. I then searched around to see if there were any last minute prices and found one for 29,000 baht for a pool view for 13 nights including drink vouchers, free airport transfers and dinner vouchers, so I booked this deal direct with the hotel.

ARRIVAL:
No problems with transfer pick up or checking in, we were greeted straight away at the airport, once at the hotel we were checked in within 5 minutes.

ROOM:
The room we were in was fantastic. It was a little stuffy when we first walked in, as if you do not have your card in the electricity port at the door the AC wouldn't work, so it always took a while to cool the room down, however, we asked for another card from reception and left it in all day. The room and bed were of decent size and always very clean. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower and never seemed to be too small for us. The only thing which was strange was the shower, it opened up from the corner and not one side so was always awkward getting in and out of the shower. Corners of the shower were a little dirty as others have discussed in previous reviews, but nothing worth worrying about.

HOTEL GROUNDS:
The pool was fantastic, it was big enough for everybody and we never had trouble getting a chair. The pool and bar on the 6th floor was a fantastic idea and there is nothing better than watching the sun go down from the rooftop. Because the downstairs pool is surrounded by six levels of building on all sides, by late afternoon when the sun starts to go down you lose the sunshine at the main pool, but that is easily fixed by moving to the rooftop!
Cocktail hour was fantastic and great value for money. From 4:30 until 5:30pm it is two for one cocktails in the main pool. The next hour is two for one drinks on the Rooftop and the third hour is two for one drinks in the foyer.

LOCATION:
I have read some reviews were people think the hotel is too far away from everything, and for us, a mid 20s couple who enjoyed partying on Bangla road some nights, but also enjoyed having a quiet relaxing dinner, found the location to be perfect. It is far enough away from Bangla road to not get all of the noise and pedestrian traffic, but close enough that it took us less than 10 minutes to walk there and we never had to catch a tuk tuk.
Getting to the beach took 3 minutes if you cross the road and walk through the Patong Merlin.
There is a 7 Eleven next door and a Family Mart a few doors down which sell alcohol at such cheap prices, we bought from here and stocked up our mini bar.
There are tour sellers and people who do laundry all around the hotel.
The Otop Markets are about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and we found them to be a fair bit cheaper than the market stands on the beach road and at Jungceylon.
Junceylon was about a 7 minute walk away, which was pleasant if you hold your nose every time you walk past a drain - but hey, that's Thailand.

FOOD:
We had the buffet breakfast every morning and found it to be fine, it had a massive selection of all types of food. The only thing I would suggest is to go earlier rather than later, as we always strolled in at around 10am, and even though there was still 30 minutes to go, a lot of the finished food was not being replaced.
We ate at the restaurant on our last night while we were waiting for our transfer to the airport, that night had a Pasta Parade buffet on and it was actually quite nice. You choose what type of pasta you want, then what type of base pasta sauce and what meat / veggies you want in it and they cook in fresh on the spot for you, there is also a good selection of salads, some Thai dishes, fruit and sweets. Was quite filling, especially as we were about to endure a 11 hour plane trip!

DEPARTURE:
Always ask for a late check out if the hotel doesn't seem busy, we were given a late check out at 16:00 hours for free without any hassle when we asked and as our flight was leaving at 10:00pm that night it was so handy to have our own room to have our last shower before we left. Check out was easy and we had no problems with our bill even though we never realised how many cocktails we had actually charged to our room during our stay!

Overall, we had such a pleasant experience at the Mercure Patong. We did complain about the noise of the housekeepers early in the morning, as their storage room on the 5th floor was only a few doors away from us, and at 6am you always heard the doors slamming and trolleys moving, but that was the only problem we experienced for the whole two weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AnneAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have booked the hotel through Expedia.com, and payed 23,205 BAHT for 5 midweek nights in a Superior Pool View Room (which is a must) over Christmas week, which was quite a good deal.
On arrival we got welcomed with a very friendly SAWADIKAAAAA and fruit juice, while check-in was quite quick. The reception area is very modern and beautifully designed, with a large bar area, internet seating, restaurant and a walk through straight into a magnificent pool area.
We stayed on the 4th floor, with a beautiful view of the pool from the balcony. The room was very specious and modern, with a very comfortable King size bed, nice little coffee table and chairs, decent size LCD TV (with lots of nice channels), minibar, safe, lots of closet space and complimentary bath rouges and slippers. The bathroom is also very modern and clean, with a bath and a separate shower.
The hotel location is good, with various shopping markets around the hotel, and only 10 min walk to the beachfront.
Overall, my girlfriend and I have really enjoyed staying at Mercure Patong, the service is great, the room was perfect, and my favorite... the pool area is AMAZING!

N.B - DO NOT BOOK WITH EXPEDIA!!! they are crooks, If you have inquiries why, just mail me and I will be more than happy to let you know.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 328 in Patong
1,620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#15 of 328 in Patong
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 328 in Patong
1,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 328 in Patong
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Address: 239/14 Raj U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £47 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location in central Patong City and only steps away from world-famous Patong beach, shopping center, night market, and Phuket 's bustling nightlife. Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong brings its distinctive style and contemporary lightness to the otherwise down-to-earth in Patong. With 249 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, Orientala Wellness Spa treatments, offbeat dining experience of an original Thai & International Cuisine at the Phuket Cafe in Patong area, astronomical-themed leisure activities and hi-tech meeting & seminar facilities, the Hotel is a highlight in itself - and a must-stay for individuals, couples, families and business travelers on vacation in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Patong Phuket Hotel Patong
Accor Patong Phuket
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing