We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal to me, and consitent with the comments here”
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Hill Hotel
Ranked #113 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Went out to Phuket for diving and have a few beers with the girls. As far as the latter is concerned the staff proved to be quite tolerant, but they frowned at the "butterfly"...I think...
Obviously there the farang doesn't understand all the ways to show respect.. or disrespect.
So..

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momofarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2008

Booked this hotel direct after searching on the web for affordable, clean, comfortable accomodation in Patong - and thats exactly what we got! Staff were very friendly and all spoke good English. Trips and activities were arranged for us without any problems and rooms were cleaned daily by very friendly staff - always a "hello" and a smile when we saw them. Mini bar in the room and room service was not overly expensive and the room had a nice view over the small, but adequate pool.

The hotel was a 10 minute walk to Patong beach, which did involve a walk along a hill road which had no path, but this was not an issue for us. Patong beach is very busy, so we preferred to take Taxis to other local beaches such as Karon, Kamala, Surin etc and these journeys were no more than £8 round trip from the hotel.

Very much enjoyed the holiday and would definately recommend to others - thank you Roman and the girls!

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Diddytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

FANTASTIC HOTEL. The Sun Hill was my first stop in Thailand and was the best beginning. The women at the front desk are so sweet, smiling, cordial, helpful and speak excellent English. They anticipated my requests and helped in arranging transportation, calling to confirm my day trips, anything I needed. The owner is readily on site & available.

The hotel is neat, clean, rooms are as spacious and appointed as rooms costing 4-5 times more. It is a 150 Baht taxi ride ($5.-USD) to Patong town & beach, takes 5-10 minutes.

The breakfast orange juice is fresh sqeezed and the sweetest juice I have every tasted, The restaurant is delicious, cheap, and they will personalize anything you want.

The downsides? The pool is small. It's a little "out of town" so you really can't walk to the beach or town. But considering the cost savings,it's well worth it!

As I traveled on thru Thailand, the other hotels were big, impersonal, functional. The Sun Hill made you feel at home. Can't say enough nice things, and at about $55 USD a night, in a resort town, cannot be beat!!!

KUDOS to the Sun Hill.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

Normally when i stay in Phuket my budget is $200 a night . After deciding to join a friend who was spending 3 months in Thailand and therefore had a more economic budget I picked Sunhill in Patong as a base.
I was not expecting particlary high quality , how wrong could I be!!!
What a find , The service here surpassed anything I have experienced in Phuket before.
The rooms are modern , very well presented and spotlessly clean.
The reception staff couldn't be more helpful.
The hotel seem to pass most of there commision for trips back on to you , making them the cheapest available (they will only recommend companies that they have received glowing feedback from!) They will arrange anything from Taxi's , Dentists , Massage or even send out for shopping.
The jewel of Sunhill is their restaurant and bar. This is run by Pat & Ann (both Thai) The food is spectacular and SO reasonable , they will help you experiment with levels of spicyness , recommend other recipes to try and even make a special trip to the super market if there is something you want that does not appear on the menu.
If you need to hire a motorbike or car , book it through the Sunhill , they have their own fleet of (brand new ) bikes , they will not ask for your passport as a deposit so they can hold you to ransom if you damage it (common practice on the island)
This is the only Hotel I will ever stay in on Phuket , I certainly wont be paying $200 again (Sunhill equated to less than $50 high season)
The only thing that is missing is the beach (1km away) but anyone who has stayed in Phuket before will vouch that you tend to travel out to the more secluded beaches away from your hotel any way.
TRY SUNHILL , Roman and his staff are the BEST!!!!!!!

Mark Finn.....

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MarkFinnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My husband and I just returned from our second trip to Phuket. On our first visit we stayed in a lovely resort in Karon Beach but the lack of english speaking staff and price prompted us to research accommodation options for our recent trip.

I have to say we hit the jackpot this time. We were a little concerned at what a bargain price we were offered wondering what the catch may be?

To our absolute delight, there was no catch, just a spotlessly clean hotel in Patong with everything we could have wanted. The photos on their website do not do this establishment justice. The restuarant and mini bar prices were incredibly cheap and staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

We stayed in one the cheapest rooms which was 3 paces from our porch to the pool. Because this is not a large resort and we stayed in the off peak period we rarely had to share the pool with anyone.

The room was beautiful and the king size bed was just so comfortable. Our bathroom sink became blocked one morning and was fixed immediately with the owner himself overseeing the job.

Although you can walk to the beach there is a taxi rank outside the hotel and the cost for an air conditioned taxi to the beach was 150 baht each way ( we wanted to preserve our energy for the bargain shopping at Patong Beach we enjoyed almost daily!).

There is a massage shop next to the hotel and the foot massages for 250 baht after a days trekking were a blessing.

There was construction taking place next door to our hotel but we really only heard it when we left our room and it obviously won't continue forever. We had friends staying in a 5 star luxury beach front resort paying big money with even louder construction noise at the same time. There appears to be a lot of construction taking place all around the island however we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on future visits.

This has got to be the best value hotel we have ever come accross.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank chalmej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xx_Mary_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
The Album Loft at Nanai Road
0.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#116 of 331 in Patong
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Harbor Hotel & Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#58 of 331 in Patong
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kelly's Residency
Kelly's Residency
#106 of 331 in Patong
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#62 of 331 in Patong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £25 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing